We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ty Morgan\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been here several times and haven't had a bad visit. The staff are friendly and the food is really nice. Business, family or friends I can't fault it. The chef accommodated gluten free foods and cooked for us off the menu!

Helpful?
Thank Andy H
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on 18th of November, booked thinking we was getting a king size leather bed got showed to a metal frame double bed which had duck tape holding it together, went to see what was going on all staff we're very nice seemed abit embarrassed as to us complaining because the website has wrong description and the bed was... More 

Helpful?
Thank sallyjones56
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Very disappointed to have had this review left on here as you were explained the situation when you had mentioned it to a staff member and being given an evening meal. We are waiting for a new bed to be delivered as it was damaged the night before from previous guests and living in rural wales it's not just a... More 

Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was pleasant, not huge but large enough to be comfortable, wifi was good both in the bar/restaurant and the room. Parking was on street but not a problem at this time of year, could be difficult in summer months? Evening meal and breakfast were both very good.

Helpful?
Thank SteveW101Cornwall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and 8 friends stayed here during a cycling trip and we were really impressed with the hotel. We bad a locked shed for the bikes, a hose to clean up after the first day, use of the laundrette down the road to clean muddy clothes. We had a very welcoming bar lady and very nice rooms with en suite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grant A
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Popped in here mid week around 5 ish a group of eight and had high expectations of great coffee and cakes. The lady seemed put out and told us we had to sit in the tiny bar area as she was closing the cafe area. Coffee was dreadful and I wandered through to choose cakes but again was told that... More 

Helpful?
Thank richard g
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

If you could please contact us at tymorgans1@gmail.com and please tell us the date you visited as we would like to get to the bottom of this. More 

Llandrindod Wells
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We hadn't eaten here for nearly 6 years. I don't know why! Food was superb, atmosphere nice and cosy for a Saturday night. Plenty of choice and vegetarians well catered for too. I had the Lamb rump which was sumptuous. And the value is very reasonable as well. My only minor criticism was that there were only 2 waitresses working... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed with nine friends for a weekend mountain biking... Really nice atmosphere. Everyone I spoke to was friendly, helpful and confident... food was good... accommodation was well designed and comfortable. Really good place to stay! I'm planning to go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Doug F
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We used Ty Morgan's as a base for walking (there are many circular walks starting and finishing at Rhayader). The double room was clean, comfortable and well maintained as was the entire establishment. We ate at the bistro for 2 of our 3 nights in town (the one evening we didn't the food was awful and we regretted not eating... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
Cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We arrived here after a very hot day on the Wye Valley walk and were greeted with the news that we had to pay £90 for our room. This took us by surprise as all our walking holidays are booked through Celtic Trails who organise, and pay for, all our accommodation. We have walked well over 1,000 miles with this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rands9
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Hello, Apologises about the confusion when you checked in with us, as the payment hadn't been taken our policy is normally for payment on arrival as there were no card details so this is why you were asked to pay on arrival. Ty Morgans is located on a crossroads which unfortunately traffic is out of our control but we do... More 

Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Unfortunately I booked a superior double room for myself the morning of my arrival through booking.com. Upon arrival there was some concernes about my booking but it was found on their system. Was taken outside and around the corner as it was easier to access the room through a separate door to be shown a twin room which was cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gwyndaf P
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

I am disappointed to have had this review left as when you were shown to your room it was explained to you that the room had been left as a twin due to having more than 3 double rooms available after housekeeping had left it was ok to be left as a twin but we did fill all of these... More 

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.1 km away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
79 reviews
20.5 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
825 reviews
0.1 km away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rhayader
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
213 reviews
0.2 km away
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
#4 of 13 in Rhayader
80 reviews
0.3 km away
Bryncoed Guest House
Bryncoed Guest House
#13 of 13 in Rhayader
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ty Morgans is situated in the centre of the Beautiful market town of Rhayader. This brand new development has all its rooms individually designed by an interior designer and has recently been awarded its 4 star status. We have our own Strand Bistro, Morgans Evening Restaurant and Coffee/Sandwich Shop. Rhayader makes a location for touring mid wales with the stunning Elan Valley Dams and the beautiful Wye Valley ideal for walking, cycling, birdwatching and fishing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms

Address: East Street, Rhayader LD6 5BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Price Range: $104 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Morgan`s Bar-Bistro-Rooms Hotel Rhayader
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms Rhayader, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 was lovely but was on the front so could be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles SteveW101Cornwall, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid anything overlooking South Street.”
 of 5 bubbles Rands9, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 9”
 of 5 bubbles 550gwyndafp, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You couldn't park outside across road was parking for an hour handy for unpacking and packing car”
 of 5 bubbles M7808YEkarenb, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The four bedded room is more like a little suite, in the loft (not suitable for people who can't do stairs).”
 of 5 bubbles Suzi-q777, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay