We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Cliffs Hotel

TripAdvisorUSD 156*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 156*
USD 156*
USD 156*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The White Cliffs Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White Cliffs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 275: English reviews
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Stayed one evening/night over Valentines weekend. Room and bed were very clean and comfortable. Valentines dinner was excellent with some unexpected flavour combinations, appetiser and well timed courses. Ambience is a pleasure, with a log fire, a cosy bar and a quiet location. Staff are friendly. Check in and out was painless. Room was cold on arrival with no visible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic F
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Happy days! We love feedback like this. It's positive and helpful, it shows that all the effort we make pays off, but it also shows that despite one or two foibles you still love us. We'll get to work on the issues you pointed out. We've just added extra sound insulation in the floor between the bar and the room...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Booked a night here recently and unfortunately will not be returning. The welcome we received was almost non existent but hoped that wasn't a bad sign, not informed about anything about the hotel or anything else. Shown to our room which was very nice, spacious and comfortable, if a little chilly - like the welcome! We didn't eat in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 87fraz
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for your helpful review, we'll take all the points highlighted and get to work to make things better. We're always quick to put our hands up when we make mistakes and in this case we have contacted the guest in order to make amends. We will be taking a look at our welcome routine and giving the team...

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here before and had a great stay the facilities were good. Came back recently bedroom was comfy but seemed to lack coffee/ tea making facilities. Dinner time used to have a olive and breads but didn't have that was really looking forward to it. Overall the breakfast was really good as usual!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Purdey333
Walletts, Owner at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it really is most helpful. On the back of your feedback, we've just ordered 18 lovely Nespresso coffee machines for all the bedrooms to go alongside our lovely new teas from Teapigs, so all bedrooms will have free tea and coffee of the highest quality in just a couple of days time. We still do...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

The food is fantastic,and all the staff are very friendly. Would definitely go back next year . We had a small problem,but it was sorted straight away .we have told friends about are wonderful stay . We stayed in the light house room .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here late October . Always a lovely place to stay . Great food service and the staff are always friendly and very helpful . Nice place to chill and just slow the pace down . Sunday lunch is always a must and a visit to the beach is also a must do .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thePTGuru
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Historic hotel in picturesque village, especially by St Margaret's Bay, very convenient for Dover-Deal. Good buffet breakfast with lovely fresh fruit salad, several Dorset mueslis and selection of cheeses and cold meats: hot dishes available at extra cost but we didn't need them. Nice menu for evening meals. Friendly, helpful staff. Unfortunately the wi fi was erratic, especially in restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miranda F
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely review, thanks ever so much. Glad you enjoyed your White Cliffs Holiday, it really is a great area to explore and we're so lucky to be an area of outstanding natural beauty too. We've just had a brilliant WIFI upgrade to Superfast Fibreoptic Broadband here. We did have a couple of days that went a bit wobbly, but now...

Best
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Old buildings old furniture, bathroom could use an update! Evrything was clean though. Friendly people very good dinner and a nice breakfast. I read somewhere that this hotel was a quiet one.....must be the village that is quiet because I thought the (Hungarian?) music was quite loud. Never the less we had a good night stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SwinSwin
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. The music was a bit loud on Saturday... Chris was in charge of 'the decks' on that evening & got a little carried away. After his recent visit to the nearby Smuggler's Festival the playlist included the Friday night headliners 'The John Langan Band'. The music has an Eastern European vibe with high energy,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Stayed here with colleagues the night before a work event. A lovely quaint hotel in the middle of nowhere which was great. Fantastic beautiful old building. We all had dinner which was bang on pub grub. The staff were great, very helpful and accommodated our needs. The rooms were lovely, comfy bed, TV, good shower. All in all great hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

I stayed with my husband and small dog for one night as we were travelling to France the next morning on an early ferry. The location is absolutely gorgeous. It is a lovely picture perfect village. The hotel itself was really surprising in a good way! We got a big room on the beer garden area so we literally opened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsg3107
Bedford
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Stayed for 3 nights, got upgraded room a good size bathroom a little small though I'm 6ft 3 so could not get head under shower without ducking. But otherwise had a lovely stay staff were brill very helpful and polite nothing to much trouble. The hotel generally was great the bar area the dining room were lovely the outside space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BruceBedford

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
5.4 km away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
4.8 km away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
6.1 km away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
120 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
9.2 km away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Cliffe Kitchen at The White Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffe Kitchen at The White Cliffs Hotel
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range: $156 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Cliffs Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Santa Clarita, California

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The White Cliffs Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Loft apartment, comprising 3 double bedrooms, is ideal for a small family group.”
TrishaHaley, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I prefer the rooms in the main building, but the other rooms are ok, maybe prone to hearing noise from other rooms.”
Mac_MoeSzyslak, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book early”
geraldlee2016, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The newer annexe rooms are quieter”
Cornwallgurl, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms are nicer, but outdoors (v short walk) so maybe not in winter!”
, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 156* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 156
LateRooms.comUSD 156
Agoda.comUSD 156
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates