We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

808 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 805: English reviews
Start your review of Barnsdale Hall Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and upgraded to a room with a view. It was a lovely setting and plenty of space to walk in the very well maintained gardens down to Rutland Water. The only draw back was the breakfast which was a buffet kept under heated lights which made everything dried up. The spa treatments...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne D
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeanne D, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I am pleased to learn that you have generally enjoyed your stay with us. It is lovely to know that you were happy with your room and that your experience at our Spa & Beauty was so pleasant....

Harlow
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff in the restaurant made this break for us and should be commended- both at dinner and breakfast. The location is lovely and we enjoyed a great walk by the water despite the cold wind and grey skies. The room and bathroom were clean although I agree with other reviewers that the bed was only standard size and too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janie024
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janie024, Thank you for posting your review in respect to your recent stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I'm pleased to learn that you have generally enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to learn that the mattress in your room wasn't to your preference. Guest comments vary on this matter- whilst many guests prefer a firm matrtress,...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a 2 night break, with breakfast. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room (432) was very clean and had a balcony overlooking Rutland Water. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, breakfast was fine, plenty of choice. We also had dinner both nights, with one night in the main restaurant, the other in the bar area. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gloria1948
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gloria1948, Thank you for posting such a wonderful review in respect to your stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I'm exceptionally pleased to learn that you had such a fantastic experience- starting from your check in experience up to departure. We look forward to welcoming you back here at Barnsdale Hall Hotel in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a woucher in January and can't fault my day, enjoyed it so much I asked my husband for a spa day for my birthday! He paid full amount, top to toe plus extra treatments added! And what a disappointed!! Everything fine to start with, morning jacuzzi and sauna, but.. at lunch time it all went wrong! My name wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrival was a bit confusing, we weren't really sure where to 'check in' and the two guys on the leisure desk looked a bit like they couldn't be bothered. We were given some thin towels and one of the guys did show us to the changing area with a token system (this system should be scrapped). We weren't told we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camilla K
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Camilla K, Thank you for posting your review in respect to your experience at Barnsdale Hall Hotel whilst on your Spa and Leisure Day. Looking through your comments, I'm pleased to learn that you have generally enjoyed your day, and I'm sorry to see that your experience at the Leisure Centre was not as pleasant. First of all, I...

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a Wowcher deal for £55 Bed & Breakfast and what a bargain Somehow we got located in probably one of the best rooms view wise think it was 448. The room had its own balcony and faced Rutland water absolutely stunning. The bathroom was really nice with power shower. The only two slight negatives were the bed wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsjanemcguire
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mrsjanemcguire, Thank you for posting your review in respect to your recent stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I'm pleased to see that you had such a lovely experience. It's lovely to know that you enjoy the views of Rutland Water from your room; however I'm sorry that the bed wasn't to your presence and I...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There were a number of things which spoiled our enjoyment:- 1. We checked in and were just told to go downstairs, and being unfamiliar with the spa we wandered around to find the entrance. 2. Part of the deal included the flotation therapy. My sister and niece were the first of our party to use the facility. They were not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andreajsmith2016
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andreajsmith2016, Thank you for posting a review in respect to your recent stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, and also thank you for sharing your feedback with us directly. I hope that our Spa Manager has addressed all your concerns in her response. I am sorry about your disappointment on this occasion, but I am pleased to learn that you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely room, very clean and with fabulous view over Rutland. Food was excellent in restaurant and bar meals too, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely stay there again. 👍👍😃

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nettsays
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nettsays, Thank you for posting such a wonderful review in respect to your stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I'm exceptionally delighted to learn that you had such a fantastic experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here at Barnsdale Hall Hotel in the near future.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The complex is a bit strange and it can be a bit difficult to work you way around. The rooms are set in 'blocks' so unless you are in a room in the main part of the hotel, you will have to go outside to find your room. The room we had had a lovely view over Rutland Water. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike N, Thank you for posting your review in respect to your recent stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I'm pleased to learn that you have generally enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your comment about the layout of the resort which has several accommodation blocks and a further building with restaurant and leisure facilities,...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First weekend away for husband and I in 8 years, since having our daughter. Got a wowcher deal for 2 nights with breakfast. Room lovely & warm, clean, bed awful! Lumpy and springy! Breakfast area nice enough. First morning I watched a few guests ordering smoked haddock for breakfast, but when I tried the following day was told they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillH725
barnsdalehallhotel, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GillH725, Thank you for posting your review in respect to your recent stay at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. Looking through your comments, I'm pleased to learn that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry you were unable to have a smoked haddock for your breakfast. We'll endeavour to keep stock of additional chargeable breakfast items in future....

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.8 km away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 km away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
4.0 km away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
9.8 km away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
289 reviews
6.4 km away
Greetham Valley Hotel
Greetham Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greetham
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Brasserie Restaurant
Brasserie Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With this unique setting, personal charm, character, and friendly but attentive personnel, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is the perfect venue whatever your occasion may be. Extensive spa and leisure facilities makes it a haven in which to retreat, relax and unwind. With its breathtaking views of the natural splendours of Rutland Water where better to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or a romantic getaway for two?Set in conservation parkland on the slopes overlooking Rutland Water, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is one of the most unusual and comprehensive hotel complexes in the United Kingdom. This makes it an ideal location for corporate business, conference and leisure pastimes. With a rich and varied range of things to do on and off site there is, we believe, no better position in which to be located in this country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Address: Stamford Road | Nr Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Price Range: $118 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Barnsdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hall Oakham
Hotel Barnsdale Hall
Barnsdale Hall Hotel Oakham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barnsdale Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
derby
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Barnsdale Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles 944jeanned, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room With a view”
 of 5 bubbles nettsays, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose one with a balcony overlooking Rutalnd Water.”
 of 5 bubbles J7649VYmiken, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Location seemed all good standard and lifts if you need them”
 of 5 bubbles kevandsue618, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in Uppingham Hotel area seem to have been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles Stokieann, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5