We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Wellington
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

My husband and i stayed in a standard room on a package deal which included breakfast at 174.00 per night. At this price bracket i wasnt expecting too much as i have stayed over a decade ago and i knew the buffet breakfast was rather nice. Unfortunately the complex hasn't changed much and is really very dated,tired and a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janine45
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed here twice this year.. it is great for families with many activities for kids to enjoy. Breakfast has a wide variety.. Rooms are little run down.. havent changed much in years.. beds are not the best.. quite springy and bouncy. free wifi works well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Racheenz
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed the many facilities at the hotel, free wi-fi and the Buffet Breakfast. We have a refurbishment strategy in place for 2016 and hopefully you will see some changes upon your next visit. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope you will come and stay again.

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 December 2015

Room was dirty, hand-prints on most glass surfaces. No bulbs in reading lamps and the worst part about it is the BEDS. They are not king sizes as advertised rather two single zipped together forming an spine the length of the bed. We removed the matrass cover to reveal a thirty year base and matrass that had the supportive qualities...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Timothy945
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Timothy Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay and my apologies that you did not experience a relaxing time. The housekeeping staff did try to rectify the issue with a change of mattress however I understand you did not enjoy a quality nights sleep. Please be assured that your feedback has been...

Hanover, New Hampshire
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We stayed at the Copthorne for two nights on our way down south to Wellington and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The food at the restaurant is delicious and the hotel is located in easy distance to wineries, hiking the putangirau pinnacles, and visiting Cape Palliser. The main complaint I have is the asinine process to sign-up for wi-fi. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fan Z
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal in The Grill and found the hotel location convenient. Thank you for your feedback regarding the timing out and sign-in procedure for our Wi-Fi we will be talking to our provider on how we can improve this for our guests. We hope you...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

My partner and I enjoyed the hotel and felt it was worth the money we paid. The restaurant and cafe were great and we enjoyed the spa and indoor/outdoor pool facilities. I do feel however that the hotel is more family oriented. A family had a private bbq and smoked out our room which was a little frustrating but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gcsman
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities at the hotel including the Café and The Grill at Solway Park. Our apologies for the BBQ smoke and thank you for your understanding. We hope you will return and stay again in the future.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Friendly staff, clean rooms and facilities, lots of space in the lobby area to hang out/work, good-sized pool, fun driving range, good location, no complaints! Had a BBQ and hung out in the "back yard" (grassy area behind the hotel), which was perfect for our group and a fun time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittany_11_10
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. We are pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed the many facilities at the hotel including the golf driving range. We hope you will come and stay again in the future.

Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

It was a great place. The room is big, it has two King beds. Nice place! Car parking is in front of room. The shower room is big enough too. It has nice bathtub. Good for family hotel, you should not be unhappy with their services. Only negative was, the roof top had some dirty spots. But it was ok....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3DRainbow
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and hopefully enjoyed some of the facilities on-site. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

This place has so many great facilities and so let down by poorly trained staff who are abrupt. So many occasions different staff just seemed to not want to be bothered. Something is wrong here with the training and enthusiasm of staff. They won't do more than the minimum and poor communication skills. We chatted to many guests and they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alongcommute
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the many facilities at the hotel and your feedback regarding the staff training has been taken on-board. We have regular staff meetings to address any issues. You will be pleased to know we are increasing our customer service training and have a staff recognition programme in place to reward excellent...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Had a night here with the boys, heaps to do, swimming, squash, trampoline, golf...clean rooms very reasonable rates. A great bolthole from Wellington. Close to Greytown etc...spent the day at Mount Bruce which is only 20 minutes from Masterton. All in all a great break!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2007noodle
MichelleKirkpatrick, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi 2007noodle, Thank you for the review for the hotel following your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities and you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With Regards, Michelle Kirkpatrick Hotel Manager

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Room was nice, if a little tired. The conference facilities suited our needs perfectly. Excellent food options for breakfast and lunch. The staff were all really friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandarinnz
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. We are pleased you had a wonderful Conference and the staff and food was great. We hope you will come and stay again and thank you for the recommendation.

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
19.0 km away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
155 reviews
1.8 km away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
110 reviews
0.4 km away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#5 of 11 in Masterton
62 reviews
0.1 km away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Masterton
68 reviews
1.8 km away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park now holds a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating and EnviroGold. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Price Range: $133 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early online”
 of 5 bubbles bakoRotorua, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want value for money don't chose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jenrusty2016, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Back of resort ask for updated room”
 of 5 bubbles 63RobertM63, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend the Junior Suite (only $150 if you join the loyalty programme).”
 of 5 bubbles G1606YBtinas, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the car psrk”
 of 5 bubbles Ronz142, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5