We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tongariro Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tongariro Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tongariro Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic experience here in Tongariro Lodge! The house is exceptionally appointed and the staff at super friendly and accommodating. Food is typically NZ standard which we are finding is raising the bar! Love this magical place. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, its great that you enjoyed your time at The Lodge, and we appreciate your feedback. I think it was Villa 10 that you stayed in, and yes that is our Executive Villa, and very well appointed. I am pleased that you appreciated it. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge when you are next in...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Tongariro lodge went out of their way t make our conference an easy and enjoyable experience away from the office. Nothing was a problem and the staff and food were exceptional. Great facilities and cost effective.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjt89
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, so pleased that your stay and conference at The Lodge was a success and enjoyable. I believe we are an ideal spot for those conference & meetings that are wanting to do something alittle different. Hopefully we will see you here again soon. Thanks & best regards.

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Thank you all so much We had a great day yesterday and your venue, lunch and treatment of us was fantastic. An interesting thing to note is that my wifes Aunty is a Culinary Course teacher and was really impressed with everything. Gordon had a great 80th birthday which is the most important . I would be more than happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaynemnz
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

HI, thanks for your feedback, we loved having "Gordon's 80th celebrations here at The Lodge, and very pleased that it was such a success. We look forward to helping you out with any other celebrations you have coming up. Thanks, and hopefully we will see you soon. Best regards

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

It's great place to stay in Turangi it's our fourth stay! Which explains a lot. The only thing we didn't like is the availability for dinner! Tried few times no luck. Apart from that it's ok. Cooking facility was good you get pretty much everything you need. Far from Taupo make sure you get good supplies with you. Turangi got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sham N
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Great to see that you have enjoyed the Lodge and what we offer on a number of occasions. I am sorry to hear that you have had a problem with booking dinner at the restaurant, we do advise guests book at the time of reservation if possible, as we...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

As a treat for Father's Day, and a break before our son has open heart surgery we headed down to the lodge for a few days with some friends. Unfortunately they had to pull out so we were left enjoying a 3 bedroom lodge with just the four of us (2 adults and two children under 2). The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your feedback on your recent stay with us at The Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here. We trust that your baby boy's open heart surgery was a success, and that he is recovering well. We look forward to seeing you all back here again soon. Thanks & regards

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at the lodge and didn't leave disappointed! The chalets are extremely comfortable and surprisingly really warm! The view outside on our deck was beautiful! I loved waking up to the sound of soft chirping birds and fresh country air! The staff were super friendly, we loved meeting beau the dog too! The lodge restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happyash A
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable time at The Lodge and you took the time to enjoy the birds, the view, and the country air,as well as Beau. It is a beautiful spot, and its great that you could enjoy it. I am sorry about the spoons and bowls, we would have leant them to you had...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of hubby's 40th birthday celebration. The lodge had organised all the activities for me and the staff (Talia) went above and beyond making contact with the tour companies etc. The room was comfortable and clean. Wifi included. The food is also worth a mention. The cooked breakfasts were just delicious and the dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
tongorirolodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Pleased that your celebrations went well and that you enjoyed your time with us, and of course the food. We look forward to welcoming you back, when you are next in the area. Thanks & Happy travels.

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

This is a Perfect place to stumble across, mountain closed due to high winds and torrential rain so no snowboarding, so we sat by the fire with a nice bottle of red, great atmosphere would be a great setting for a Stephen King movie. Staff were friendly and accomodating

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Changi11
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, I couldn't agree with you more, we are the perfect spot to come in from the cold and enjoy the fire, a glass of red, and warm ambience. Thanks for your feedback. Pleased you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. Summertime, its great on the deck with a...

Wellington
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our night away at Tongariro Lodge. Lovely surroundings for a crisp walk, a five minute jaunt to some old school hot pools and back at the Lodge for wines and an absolutely wonderful dinner at the restaurant ☺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julieabby
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, we appreciate your feedback, and are pleased that you enjoyed the Lodge and what it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks

Iloilo City, Philippines
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed overnight at Tongariro lodge. 2 bedroom villa it cost $399, 5 adults and one 3 year old child. They have tennis court and spa pool. The reception is so nice as well as the dining area. Nice and quiet place. Near the town, they got NEW WORLD Supermarket there. Everything was good except for the internet was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrla090984
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Its great that you enjoyed your time with us, and I am sorry about the internet issue. We have been upgrading the internet recently, and we did have a short time where there was no internet access to the Villa's, however we always have free Wifi...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
34.5 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,420 reviews
8.4 km away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#4 of 9 in Turangi
113 reviews
1.0 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
2.4 km away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 8 in Turangi
126 reviews
1.7 km away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: $172 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tongariro Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Villa 5 was great!! Private deck and surroundings, great furnishings, steps from the river.”
 of 5 bubbles grassykey, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Chalets all seem great”
 of 5 bubbles sarahmair, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wide range of accommodation options from 5bdrm house to cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles NigelSWatts2013, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for the package deal.”
 of 5 bubbles brieberryw, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The friendly staff will put you in the best accommodation for your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles rjt89, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5