We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

632 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 583: English reviews
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Beautiful setting. Rooms are quiet & relaxing. However, we had a couple that we knew next door, which was good as the rooms have an adjoining wall....we stayed in the Treehut Chalets, which were grouped in two units. Cute balconies, clean & tidy rooms. My only complaint was that we had to haul our own suitcases up to the room.....very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N_Sammi
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear N_Sammi, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The staff are always happy to help guests with their luggage. We also have a golf buggy which can be used to take guests and luggage from the car park...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were happy with our stay at Puka Park Resort. The staff were helpful and welcoming. We had meals at the restaurant and, while the food wasn't of a high standard, the service was good. It was a bit expensive in relation to value, but would recommend it if you want a quiet time away.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mac1961_13
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mac1961_13, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with your stay, Your comments regarding the standard and cost of the food in Miha Restaurant have been escalated to our Senior Property Manager who will investigate further. Again, thank you...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My partner and I spent three nights in a "bush chalet", which was spacious, private and clean. The elevated setting was amazing - it felt like we were almost in the tree tops. The downside to this, is the steep walkways to the chalets, which would be difficult for mobility-impaired individuals - they do, however, have a golf-cart service. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mala1972
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear mala1972, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. A full refurbishment of this property will commence mid this year. The current internet provider is being reviewed as part of an overall project and will be considered at the...

Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the hotel and had a great stay. The staff were all very friendly and only too willing to help. Due to availability we spent the first 3 nights in a 'Bush Chalet' until we could move into a 1 bedroom apartment for our last 4 nights. The transition was seamless. The staff asked us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne L
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wayne L, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your week with us. All staff at Puka Park take a great pride in going the extra mile for all guests. They will be thrilled with your comments. Again we thank...

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Puka Park Resort can best be described as a quiet and peaceful bush retreat. The staff were both friendly and helpful. Dining choices in the resort are limited to about 10 options which are changed only with the seasons. Lunch and dinner are the same menu. Breakfast consist of the usual fare. Having said that all food and service we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bill b
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear bill b, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular your chalet and meals at Miha Restaurant. It is good to hear that the issues you encountered were addressed quickly by the staff. Again, we thank you...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I like the resort itself. The log cabins in the trees are a bit tired but remind me of some great vacations in Colorado and Virginia. The hills are a steep walk and the trees, now well established, block the view to the sea. Despite this, the resort offers something different to the usual concrete clone resort. That said, here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnotherEnglishman
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Puka Park lodge is priced at NZD $280 night for a double room. The setting was lovely nestled in amoungst the native bush in Paunui and was deserved of the price. The room itself was not fit for animals. On entry to the room there was an over powering smell of urine. When notifying the receptionist we were told that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Disappointed24237
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Puka Park Resort is tucked away in bush on a hillside that is pretty steep. The rooms and chalets are nice enough however it is a bit of a rabbits warren and finding your accommodation can be daunting. Having said that the friendly staff do have a golf cart to convey the weary. They have a very nice pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chris H, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. The staff are always happy to assist guests in finding their rooms and taking them up the hill in the golf buggy. Again, we thank you for your...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Nestled up amongst the trees a great location to enjoy what the Corromandel peninsula has to offer, beautiful weather, great beaches, fabulous walks, easy access to explore the logging and goldfield history and to witness the regeneration of the NZ bush. The staff were friendly attentive and informative. Free WiFi would be a big plus and an electric BBQ with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda662
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lynda662, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We agree - what a beautiful part of the world to spend some time in. Your suggestions have been escalated to our Senior Property Manager who is responsible for the upcoming...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The room was fairly standard what we would expect for the price, except for the miniscule skinny single beds. The sofa had more room on it. The staff at reception and lady that drove us to our room in the golfcart was super friendly and attentive. However, make your way up the stairs and it's another word completely. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bravia
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Barvia, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are sorry to read of the disappointment caused during dinner and breakfast at Miha Restaurant. Your comments have been escalated to the General Manager who will address them with the staff concerned. Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding...

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
26.6 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
441 reviews
18.8 km away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
168 reviews
3.0 km away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
292 reviews
22.0 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Hahei
352 reviews
26.7 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Price Range: $216 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“request a room closer to the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles Foreranger, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Kauri room with kitchen facilities”
 of 5 bubbles Chelep1508, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a bit of a climb to the room but the staff will drop you”
 of 5 bubbles 383vinodk, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Chose the lower regions closer to reception level if you don't like hills”
 of 5 bubbles 928annettef, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like walking ask to be closer to the reception as the hotel grounds are quite steep”
 of 5 bubbles jenuq1, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay