We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,839 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,802: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

Spent a night here recently on a bed and breakfast rate. We have never been to this area before and enjoyed the drive up. The first impression was good, the hotel looks quite grand and the scenery is breathtaking. Check in was ok. We were advised that the earliest booking for dinner in the Garden Restaurant was 8.45pm so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EC5122
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear EC5112, Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am sorry that you left our resort feeling disappointed. This was certainly not our intentions. I have discussed your comments with our Rafters team and I would like to echo their apologies. I am delighted to read that you experienced...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Spa lovely, pool a good size, well decorated. Food disappointing. Menu limited. Breakfast arrived cold. Service slow, not enough staff. Staff polite and friendly. Surrounding countryside beautiful. Beware flooding on roads though!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison O
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Alison O, Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am sorry that you found our food disappointing. These are never our intentions and I would like to echo my food and beverages apologies. I am delighted that this did not distract from you having a wonderful time and...

London
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We brought our three year old granddaughter up so we could 'go swimming'. We had visions of putting on dressing gowns and going straight from our room to the pool. What a faff, getting undressed, dressed again, out into the cold. We could have done the same at the local baths. A great disappointment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larrysD6005MG
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear larrysD6005MG, Thank you for the time you have taken in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our swimming pool being in another building. If I am honest I am uncertain with how to justify this fact. I can only assume that you enjoyed all of the other...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

I booked an overnight spa break as a birthday present for my sister. I have to say the location and scenery was the best part about the break. I do not think this is a 4 star hotel as the twin room we had was old and tired with dirty windows and torn curtains. The bistro food was OK but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clairebear980
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear clairebear980 , Thank you taking the time to write a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am really sorry to read your feedback. We genuinely are better that what you are describing and we really try hard to achieve this. I have sent you a private message using the messaging tool so that I can get...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We enjoyed a 2 night break staying in lodge Oak 10, which was spacious, well equipped and had a premium feel about it. We would return. We had a nice meal in Rafters, however found the prices for breakfast or evening meal in the hotel, as a family of 4, prohibitively expensive. We were also charged for electricity on top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grahamnm
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Grahamnm, Thank you for the time you have taken in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am sorry to read that you were not aware of the electricity charges in your lodge. I can confirm that I have checked in all of the marketing material and I can confirm that this information is definitely...

Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Great view. The room was value for money. Great view of the Loch. The management and staff were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was fantastic. My son loved making a snowman ⛄. Will be returning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traceyzim
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Traceyzim, Thank you for your wonderful five star review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. My team and I really enjoyed the excitement on your sons face whilst he was building his snowman. We feel a deep privilege to be part of his memories. We hope you return in the summer and hopefully enjoy some trout fishing on...

Dalkeith
Reviewed 31 January 2016

This was a Christmas gift had a lovely time hotel is very nice clean and staff are very welcoming. Leisure facilities are lovely. Food in the restaurant was lovey. Breakfast was great piping hot. Will definitely be going back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonsZ6817FA
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear sharonsZ6817FA, Thank you for your wonderful five star review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am delighted to read that you were given the treat of stay at Forest Hills for Christmas this year. Our vouchers have been very popular and a very popular Christmas present. It is very reassuring to read that you enjoyed all of...

Glasgow
Reviewed 30 January 2016

We stayed for 1 night in the MacDonald Forest Hills Hotel in January. It was bought via 5pm and the deal included B&B with a bottle of wine in the room on arrival. We upgraded the room to an executive double as there were only standard twin rooms left. However, the executive double was worth the extra pennies as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Senn24
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Senn24, Thank you for the time you have taken in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am sorry for your experiences. I have discussed these with my Food and Beverage Manager and he would like to echo my apologies. It is a relief for me to read that you “did enjoy your stay”. I...

Johnstone
Reviewed 28 January 2016

The hotel and staff were faultless and very friendly, the only one complaint I had was the extortionate prices, but the staff made us feel very welcome during our stay, the road is partial to flooding but the reception staff always kept us informed of the situation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alun2016
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Alun2016, Thank you for your wonderful five star review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am delighted to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you kind words about our staff that I will echo at our next head of department meeting – Thank you. We all hope that you return soon...

Johnstone
Reviewed 27 January 2016

On arrival and prior to arrival i asked if ALL spa facilities were working ans were advised YES!. Low and behold git to thd spa and no jacuzzi. After check in when we got up to our room we found a drawer full of dirty mens underwear. The manager did put things right upon check out but was thoroughly disappointed!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X5537DKjuliem
Jody M, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear X5537DKjuliem, Thank you for the time you have taken in writing a review about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel and Resort. I am speechless to read your review, especially having spent some time with you, apologising to you on your departure and helping you leave the Resort during the floods. You are correct in stating that the Jacuzzi broke from...

544 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (518)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (167)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (204)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
21.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
13.6 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
30.8 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
349 reviews
12.1 km away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
599 reviews
39.3 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Price Range: $131 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to a room with a balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles robertochinaski, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“lovely lodges (self catered but with hotel facilities on site - best of both), choose recently refurbished accommodation in Oak”
 of 5 bubbles SallyTravelling00, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“103 is the best”
 of 5 bubbles Abirag, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ben Lomond Lodge 11 is a comfortable 1 bedroom with stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles ScotlandChez, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room looking over the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles johncameron, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay