We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Island Rendezvous

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Island Rendezvous
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Start your review of White Island Rendezvous
 Click to rate
Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value, nice room for a one night stay. Was in town for the White Island excursion, which did not come off due to weather. But the staff did everything they could to make our stay pleasant, including hauling our luggage up to our room (and back down the next day). The location was great, everything we needed within easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ira M
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi Ira M, Whilst we're sorry to hear that you weren't able to make it out to White Island during your visit to Whakatane, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your time staying at White Island Rendezvous, and we thank you for your review! All the best with the rest of your travels!

Camberley
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

White Island Rendezvous have built a "cabin village" of perhaps 10 or so cabins which are very well designed to make use of space. All have a deck area with table and chairs. There is excellent Wi-Fi. Staff are very helpful and if you don't want to cook there is a restaurant on site but it is an easy walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethVCamberley
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi BethVCamberley, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our micro-village cabins and the amenities on offer at White Island Rendezvous. Cheers!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice , modern , clean , roomy motel convenient to the boat dock ,restaurants, stores & I site coach stop. The internet was unlimited but I did have to sign back in a lot. But there was one problem ants . Every day I would notice 1-2 tiny ants in bed. One afternoon I came back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jronkowski
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in one of their micro-cabins for four nights. It was good value, clean and in a very central location. We booked on their White Island volcano tour and you get a very small reduction if you do an accommodation and tour package. The day we booked on was cancelled due to the weather and we were gutted as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottishPrincess
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi ScottishPrincess, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at White Island Rendezvous and took full advantage of its location, amenities and the 'mates rates' tour discount! Lisa, Emma, Hayden and Mark will be happy to note that they had such a positive impact on your stay, and...

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a delicious lunch here last week. Extensive breakfast/brunch menu and cabinet foods available. Outdoor seating provides great views of Whakatane Heads. This is the place to book your White Island Tour, an experience not to be missed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthzmail
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi Ruthzmail, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed visiting our in-house cafe, PeeJays during your stay, whilst the kind recommendation for our White Island tour is most appreciated also! Cheers!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose this hotel as we had hoped the weather would have allowed us to do the White Island trip, but alas a little rough so we spent the time around the area - and we were able to do this quite adequately - we were in berry season and up the road was the lovely berry picking farm The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place with clean and tidy rooms. Friendly no nonsense service. The location is perfect to go for a stroll around town or better follow the path along the whakatane river. The rooms we had were appointed with everything one needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadnowYES
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi ontheroadnowYES (great name btw), Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at White Island Rendezvous and found that the rooms had everything you needed.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great reception staff gave very friendly reminders about our booking and accommodated us when we arrived late. Room was very adequate and the bed very comfortable. Unfortunately the house next door started playing loud music as we were going to sleep. Then departing guests woke us at 5.45 am! So not much sleep. But a good place to stay if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Canberra
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a downstairs (standard) unit. The room facilities are fine - comfy bed, kitchenette, and plenty of space. However the soundproofing between the upstairs and downstairs units is terrible. We heard every footstep, sneeze and sigh from upstairs. When they walked around (no fault of their own!) the ornaments on the wall rattled. Timber floors will do that....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canberra_pair
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Spent three nights here. The micro-village cabins are spacious, clean, and well equipped. The hotel is conveniently located near the wharf and the boats that take you to the off shore attractions. A cafe is located within the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greekmermaid13
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

Hi greekmermaid13, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We were pleased to hear that you had such a nice stay at White Island Rendezvous and that you enjoyed the many amenities on offer. Cheers!

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
2.4 km away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 13 in Whakatane
145 reviews
1.5 km away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 13 in Whakatane
91 reviews
0.2 km away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 13 in Whakatane
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 13 in Whakatane
178 reviews
2.3 km away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 13 in Whakatane
127 reviews
2.4 km away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Whakatane
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At White Island Rendezvous we offer a range of quality accommodation choices to suit every traveller. Located opposite the picturesque Whakatane wharf, we are just a short walk from the town centre and many great restaurants. Join a tour to visit the active volcano, White Island, take a stroll along the river or enjoy one of the local bushwalks to view the spectacular scenery across the bay. Our quiet location means not only a great night's sleep but you may even be lucky enough to hear the distinctive call of the kiwi which live in the nearby bush. We are the only accommodation provider in Whakatane to offer an onsite cafe (famous amongst locals for fantastic breakfasts and delicious espresso!) All units have free wireless broadband access and Sky TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Island Rendezvous

Address: 15 The Strand, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Price Range: $108 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Island Rendezvous 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Island Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Island Rendezvous Whakatane
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whakatane
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whakatane
#4 Business Hotel in Whakatane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Island Rendezvous staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose a cabin”
BethVCamberley, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Micro- cabins give a degree of complete privacy”
ScottishPrincess, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a micro-village cabin rather than a standard hotel room.”
greekmermaid13, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book a micro cabin towards the rear of the property.”
JLB81, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Two storey building, quiet location”
51SandraS51, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5