We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anchor Lodge Coromandel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 286: English reviews
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed one night here thinking it looked really great. Maybe If you stay in the expensive cabins it's great but we stayed in a basic private double room. If you love paper thin walls then you'll be right at home! The bathrooms are terrible, both men's and women's. Three showers in a line with a pull across curtain that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyDA
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review

Anchor Lodge is mainly a motel but we do also have a hostel here. Our website has clearly marked photos of the hostel rooms and motel rooms so that people don't get them mixed up. As our rates are seasonal, you have been charged the correct rate for this time of the year. The disapointing thing is instead of letting...

Tauranga
Reviewed 9 February 2014

One of the best places I have stayed at in a long time. Its good value, the room was great, the people were friendly. Its close to everything you need while on holiday in the sunny coromandel. The location was perfect!!! I would recommend this beautiful lodge to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livvyb84
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 February 2014

One of the cleanest room I have stayed in. The staff put me on to great activities in the area and sorted me out a bike to ride there and around town. great experience will go back and stay when I am in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugenelusty
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very nice place to stay. Great location. Good Price. Good choice of rooms and appartments! Pool and whirl-pool available. Also nice back-packer accommodation available as well as really nice appartments.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this lodge was a great experience, the room was clean and tidy. lots of advantages very friendly and helpful staff. It has a good view. good parking space bbq and spa pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayy J
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We arrived quite early at around 10am but Linda was kind enough to tell us to have a wonder around and come back in half an hour. Our studio room was perfect just what we needed, lovely spa bath open till late, and very handy location. I surely would recommend anyone who wants a good stay to come here. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malita c
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. Check in at the office was easy and the person was very friendly. Unfortunately forgot to ask for the Wifi password. Facilities were good - there were plenty of bowls/plates/cups and cutlery. Would stay again :)

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dzsem
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed one night in a motel room and a further three nights in one of the spa apartments. We found the service excellent and staff very friendly and courteous. Being so close to town yet tucked away in tranquil surroundings was a big bonus at the end of a busy year. The information brochure was excellent though may have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Theresa M
Cairns Australia
Reviewed 10 December 2013

When I initially queried availability the last room had just been let. I was offered an apartment for a few dollars more and took it. Glad I did as it was in town, above the bakery and fish and chip shop and right next door to the pub and a restaurant. The fittings and interior were superb and the view...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisinCairns
Discovery Bay, CA
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Small lovely motel across from the water. Rooms were clean and very nice and modern with high ceilings. Small kitchen in the room, very comfortable beds, and deck looking toward the water. Staff was very helpful. Entire property was clean and neat, very well maintained with lots of plantings.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rick N

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.0 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
20.5 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
464 reviews
0.9 km away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
70 reviews
19.4 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
302 reviews
22.9 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Price Range: $53 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchor Lodge Coromandel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Anchor Lodge Coromandel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the second floor heading towards the harbour. That gives you the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles tourah, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a view make sure you ask.”
 of 5 bubbles JudiRainbow, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the harbourview suite, certainly wirth the extra money for the balcony and view”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are a variety of options”
 of 5 bubbles BobFk, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“little traffic, so little noise”
 of 5 bubbles briank253, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5