We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Westleton Crown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Westleton Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

709 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Westleton Crown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 707: English reviews
Oxford
Reviewed 27 June 2015

We stayed for 1 night whilst visiting nearby Southwold. Staff were friendly & helpful. Food in the restaurant was very good. Not sure about the shabby chic furniture in the restaurant though. Our room was one of the basic ones & was quite small. I would imagine in warm weather would be very hot in there. But on the plus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baileyscheesecake
North London
Reviewed 19 June 2015

My boyfriend and I were staying nearby and were recommended here for dinner. We sat in the restaurant by the window (the restaurant is really bright, airy and spacious). The menu is full of many good choices and it was hard to choose what to have - everything we had was faultless and delishious with large servings. The waiters who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KateNorthLondon
london
Reviewed 18 June 2015

A big thank you to Rob, Olly and all the staff who made our stay here welcoming and homely. Yes they are understaffed but dealt with it brilliantly, working very hard. The hotel itself was lovely, in a beautiful location and the food was gorgeous to which our four legged friend Monty agreed especially his sausages in the morning :)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jodie1London
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Having stayed at the Crown's sister pub, The Ship Inn in Dunwich the night before (and having had an excellent stay) we decided we'd visit The Crown for Sunday lunch. The website looked lovely, and we were certainly impressed with the style and decor when we arrived. Sadly the service was incredibly poor. Having been given a menu while having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeSmith2
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review

It is very disappointing to read about your experience during a visit for Sunday lunch. It seems we were way below our usual levels of service when you visited us. We can usually pride ourselves on our levels of service but it seems that we got many parts of the service wrong with a less than perfected team. I am...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Stayed here for three nights. Stayed in a Better room . Cost £465 for the three nights, room was clean but small and basic. We had to ask for loo roll on 2nd night. Was looking forward to having their 2 rosette AA food , but was very disappointed with the meals . Tried them for the first two nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn V
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts regarding your meals while staying with us. We did have some challenges with the team in the kitchen and I am very sorry this had such an impact on your stay. I am delighted with the new team we have led by James Finch our new head chef and therefore...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

My wife & I just spent a weekend here, The staff were friendly & attentive.The food was just amazing. The room was superb. We filled the place with our wedding party & it went beautifully. 10 out of 10

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NFHcars
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

Fish and chips? Batter burnt on outside. Raw inside. Came with French fries (menu said chips). My wife sent it back for a new Serving. Second time round it came with cold mushy peas and no tartare sauce. Didn't have choice of sorbet. So alternative sorbet came as liquid on the outside and as hard as an ice cube inside....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Froggs2
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review

It is such a shame that you had such a disappointing meal with us. We did have some challenges with the team in the kitchen and I am very sorry this had such an impact on your experience. I am delighted with the new team we have led by James Finch, our new head chef, and therefore I am able...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Stayed here for work for a couple of nights, was difficult to find as it was called about three different things on the booking sites..... not sure if that would effect non business travellers or not. Receptionist was really friendly and took me to my room, I was pleasantly surprised with the room, it was really clean, seemed really new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Furrytruffles
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

Called in for lunch and offered a seat in the lounge as restaurant area was busy (about 20 people)! Taken through with wine and menu and left alone for 40 mins despite 2 staff who found the time for a 30 minute gossip! In disgust I went through and paid for my drink ( not finished as no food with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Susan W
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review

It is very difficult for me to defend ourselves. Your review reads of terrible service, for which I am very sorry. It seems to me the challenges were with our kitchen team, and therefore that is why there was a delay on food for the customers already at the dining tables. The service team I’m sure did not want to...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

The mix of good and bad reviews actually sum this place up. Have waited over a week to post this review, because I couldn't quite make up my mind about it! Took my wife and our dog for a celebratory weekend here, and booked a `best' room. This was probably the most disappointing part, paying £175 a night plus £7.50...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts on your weekend away at The Westleton Crown. All our rooms are unique and have features that some guests will prefer over others. I would always advise guests to call us directly to ensure we can allocate you a room that suits all your requirements. We hope to be able to welcome you again in...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westleton
4.1 km away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
631 reviews
4.2 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
657 reviews
12.4 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
941 reviews
12.3 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
616 reviews
10.2 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant at The Westleton Crown
Restaurant at The Westleton Crown
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Price Range: $144 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westleton Crown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Westleton Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd go for a Best room, the Good rooms are a bit small.”
 of 5 bubbles BrizyPedant, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are dotted around the property in various buildings - if you have accessibility issues be sure to mention it when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 2adults2kids1dog, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for better or best if you want a king size bed”
 of 5 bubbles ColchesterSleeper, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All different,new rooms around car park are away from the road and bar so much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Snooks5, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Grebe room at the back of the carpark has a little balcony and is away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles Jelly4fish, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5