We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pentillie Castle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pentillie Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 287: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We had never heard of Pentillie castle and estate until we got a wedding invite to attend a wedding there. We booked in for two nights. Beautiful quite house set in stunning grounds. The rooms where lovely with amazing views. The staff were extremely friendly. One member of staff "Jack" was fantastic he was so helpful and couldn't have done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Sarah B, Thank you very much indeed for your lovely review. We're delighted to hear that the big day went so well and the castle was such a good backdrop for it. Very glad that you enjoyed the shortbread too! Roger started at the castle in 1972 and his beautiful shortbread remains to this day! Thanks again. We look...

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Attended a dinner to celebrate the Sky programme Delicious provided by the food technologist who worked on the series as it was filmed at Pentillie .....and it was! Super evening of food and wine in a fantastic setting

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Martin W, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I'm very pleased to hear that we are living up to the show's name! We're also delighted to confirm that a second season of Delicious has been comissioned, so watch this space for more Delicious evenings to come! Kind regards, The Pentillie Team

upminster
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We hired the castle for 5 days over Christmas for our family. From even before we arrived, the help and assistance given by the staff to those organising aspects of our stay right up until the day we left Pentillie we could not have asked for more. The rooms were delightful and what a surprise to find St Kitts toiletries...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliejZ2076NP
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review

Dear JulieJ, Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely and comprehensive review. I hope Father Christmas realised where you all were for the big day?! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Kind regards, The Pentillie Team

Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

There were 19 of us in the party and the whole celebrations from start to finish were amazing. The house and grounds are exquisite , the food amazing and the manager Jack and his staff are unbelievable, so helpful and utterly charming , nothing too much trouble. Regan who was our first point of contact when booking is simply lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank angelabaker100
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you so very much for your lovely feedback. It was a great pleasure to be involved in your celebration, and we're delighted to hear that we're managed to help you create some lasting memories. Other than thank you, all we wanted to say was don't be a stranger! Hope to see you again soon, Warm regards, The...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We hired the castle for 5 days over Christmas for a party of 20. The service and support prior to our arrival was really excellent [thanks a million Regan and Team], the location and surroundings were superb - with views across the Tamar Valley and extensive walks along river and through the amazing gardens of the Castle. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank paulchurchxxx
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Mr Church, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your lovely review. Your description of our gardens makes me want to stay! Keep an eye out for special offers and exciting events in our newsletter, we'd be delighted to welcome you back soon. Mant thanks once again, The Pentillie Team

Reviewed 16 December 2016

Four of us (two couples) stayed at Pentillie for our friend's 60th birthday and as it was a special event I booked the Dewhurst Suite for the birthday girl (the most expensive) This had a four poster bed and a seperate sitting room with a bathroom leading off up some steps. Our room was Tillie, one of the luxury rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Joan B, Many many thanks for your lovely and comprehensive review. We're delighted to hear that you had such an excellent stay and that you'll be coming back to see us again! We appreciate your feedback about evening meals, we are offering more dinners where possible. Please do keep an eye out for our newsletter which will have all...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We stayed here for my Cousin's wedding weekend. The Castle is absolutely beautiful and the rooms all have that touch of luxury. The staff were extremely accommodating and lovely. The only downside was that the weekend passed far too quickly and we didn't have the time to explore the beautiful grounds. I would return in a heartbeat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JEAN T
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Jean T, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We're delighted to hear that you had such a fabulous time. Unfortunately a lot of guests report that the time here passes too quickly - I can only suggest that you come back and see us again! Kind regards, The Pentillie Team

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

A beautifully restored folly of a castle in a spectacular location overlooking the upper reaches of the Tamar. We were warmly welcomed by our hostess, who served us tea, scones and clotted cream, while giving us a potted history of the estate and family, which was at times eccentric to say the least. The interior is sumptuously furnished, with many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review

Dear John F, Thank you for taking the time to share your comprehensive review. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to 'mum' about the interiors - a lot of time was invested in getting it right so your feedback is very much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, The Pentillie Team

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We had a one night stay in Pentillie for my wife to celebrate her 70th birthday 'somewhere special' and special it certainly was. Arriving about 3 o'clock one mid November weekday we were given a short tour of the castle and facilities before settling down to a Cornish cream tea (see photo). The sun was setting but there was time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterwarland
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your kind and comprehensive review. We're delighted to hear that your stay proved to be such a special one and an appropriate setting to celebrate 70 years! Please rest assured that the deer will be here to welcome you back on your return! Kind regards, The Pentillie...

Reviewed 23 November 2016

We joined friends, along with their family and friends for a wedding party over the weekend. The staff were all very accommodating and the castle felt like it was our own home for the the duration of our stay. Grounds were lovely and varied for country walks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare A
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Clare A, Thnak you very much for taking the time to share your lovely review. We're always delighted to hear 'Perfect' in any review title! If there's anything that you think of that we could improve on, we'd be pleased to try so don't hesitate to let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Kind regards,...

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mellion
2.9 km away
St Mellion International Resort
4.7 km away
China Fleet Country Club
4.6 km away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#4 of 4 in Saltash
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,441 reviews
31.6 km away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
597 reviews
14.6 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in the 17th century, Pentillie Castle is situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the Cornish banks of the River Tamar. Set on an estate that spans almost 2000 acres, the Castle offers luxurious B&B accommodation as well as exclusive hire for groups. All 9 bedrooms are en-suite (some with Victorian style roll-top baths!) offering views over the River Tamar and surrounding woodland. Relax in the Drawing Room where you can help yourself to a drink (or two!) from the honesty bar, sit out on the terrace or enjoy yourself in the Games Room. There is also a solar-heated outdoor swimming pool (open Apr-Sept). There are plenty of activities to enjoy in the local area, from fishing, cycling, hiking and golf to zip lining through the trees. Plymouth is only a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pentillie Castle

Address: Saint Mellion, Saltash PL12 6QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash > Saint Mellion
Price Range: $186 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentillie Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Pentillie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentillie Castle Hotel Saltash
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pentillie Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dewhurst is best room although all rooms good.”
 of 5 bubbles juliejZ2076NP, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All of the rooms are delightful so choose what best suits your budget”
 of 5 bubbles joanbR2004CG, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with views of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnF788, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We only saw one room 'The Tillie Room' - excellent. Check the web site for photos.”
 of 5 bubbles peterwarland, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room 'Victor' was lovely, but one could request a river view which was beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles 301clarea, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5