We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

570 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2014

I love this hotel. It is beautiful, in a great location and the 4 person suites are magnificent. It's only a pity that there are a few things that avoid me giving it top rating. The showers will make a pool of water on the floor however you position the shower curtain. Worse, the hotel looks very understaffed. At breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriaan R
DaveStorm, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this review

Dear Adriaan, Thank you for taking the time to point out your experiences of our hotel at Tripadvisor. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the family suites meet your expectations. In your review you mentioned understaffing, which is something we will evaluate with the team members to see were we can make...

Cairo
Reviewed 9 September 2014

Our stay was too short so my review (for this time) is going to be short also. We enjoying every minute of our stay, lucky with the weather and only one night I should maybe not even write a review. We were 2 adults, 2 kids and 1 baby and had the family suite. That was a lot of fun....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
DaveStorm, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Thank you for sharing your constructive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will focus on your feedback to develop the hotel even further. Concernig the Parking facilities, we indeed do not offer a private parking facility. Due to the natual environment we have no option to offer this. The...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It has been the second time that we have been to this hotel as a family, and we took again the family suite with a large living room overlooking the beach & the island. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable - having this separate living room really makes a difference when spending the whole time with our three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milanmcm
DaveStorm, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this review

Dear Milan, Thank your for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future for a relaxing stay with herbal tea in the morning! With best regards, Dave Storm General Manager

amsterdam
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel is beautifully located near the sea in no where. You can listen and hear the silence, the wind, the birds and sometime the sea in the background. It's a great place to relax, but not ideal if you want to get to the villages and you don't have a car. If you rent a bike you can get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miechiel
DaveStorm, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. From your review we read that you enjoyed our wellness facilities and location, but we also have read you tips and suggestions, which we will discuss internally to see if where we can develop our operations more to your requested standards...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel is located on top of a sand dune near "Paal 8"", 100 m from the beautifull beach. We had room 9 on the ground floor. Nice, with a view on the sand dunes. The room contains a mini bar, Flat TV, room safe. Free WiFi. Coffee (Sanseo)/Thea is available. The bathroom has a seperate bath and shower. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans750
DaveStorm, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this review
Google Translation

Beste Hans, Hartelijk dank voor uw bezoek aan Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee. Fijn om te lezen dat wij...

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here during the Orerol festival and as a result the prices were greatly inflated. We paid approximately $280 per night for a ground floor standard room. Unfortunately the couple we were traveling with made the arrangements without telling us about the exorbitant prices and so we were shocked with the price especially since what we got was equivalent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank donna b
NielsSmit, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this review

Dear Madam, thank you for your review regading your stay at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee during Oerol. It is always good to hear how guest experience our hotel, even if it is not at their satisfaction. We can learn from guests' reviews and see if there are possibilities we, as a hotel, can adjust our service.

amsterdam
Reviewed 25 June 2013

the location is great, typical Dutch sea and dunes scenery,an endless beach, excellent rental bikes and a nice beach cafe down on the beach. The hotel is big for Dutch standards, it has a somewhat Cape Cod feeling. Rooms are spacious, beds are typically Dutch, no king size, no queens, but small and narrow beds. However sleeping is a joy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank orangeAmsterdam
NielsSmit, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you for your review. During the last week we have had many complaints about the internet we normally have not received. We have asked the provider of the WiFi at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee to investigate what is the problem and to find a solution for the problem. It appaers to be the problem during...

haarlem
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed in a family apartment for 4 with sea view for a long weekend. The hotel is undoubtedly situated in a unique position.The apartment is large,2 bedrooms on the 2nd floor, a large living room on the 3rd floor with 2 small balconies each with 3 chairs(?). You have to hold the door open with a chair. The living room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank haro
NielsSmit, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this review

Dear Mr Haro, Thank you for your review and we apologize for the inconvienences during your stay at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee. With your responds, we can update our hotelservices and prove to you that we are a hotel for all guests; from the families to singles and couples.

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A wonderful place to visit at the Wadden Island Terschelling in The Netherlands, A four star hotel which deserve every star. For people who aren't looking for the busy and classical tourist industry. The hotel and the restaurant have both high standards. If you love the sea and the dunes it's an ideal place to stay. Surrounded by mainly nature....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fredkok
NielsSmit, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this review

Dear Mr Kok, Thank you for your wonderfull review regarding your stay at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee last weekend. We hope to welcome you back in the near future at our hotel on Terschelling. Best regards, Niels Smit

berlaar
Reviewed 26 March 2013

we stayed 2 nights in the hotel paal 8 and we were very content. It's only a short walk to the beach. The staff is very friendly and breakfast is in buffet and the choise is great! There is also welness in the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and the beds comfortables. We would recommand this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ria h
NielsSmit, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this review

Dear Ria, thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee. It is always nice to read the experiences of guests. We hope to welcome you soon back at our hotel. Best regards, on behalf of all staffmembers, Niels Smit

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West-Terschelling
4.2 km away
WestCord Hotel Schylge
WestCord Hotel Schylge
#1 of 6 in West-Terschelling
367 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Bornholm
Hotel Bornholm
#3 of 6 in West-Terschelling
45 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
#4 of 10 in Terschelling
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
#3 of 10 in Terschelling
153 reviews
7.4 km away
Appartementenhotel Tjermelan
17.2 km away
Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sandton Hotel Paal 8 Hotel Aan Zee is a comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant, and various facilities to help you relax. Set atop the dunes of Terschelling's North Sea beach, it's a place to recharge, enjoy the fresh air, and escape your everyday life, every season. Made for a holiday to remember, or as inspirational location for your business event. Recently, all (but a few) were refurbished with brand new Kingsize beds! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee

Address: Badweg 4, 8881 HG West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands (Formerly Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee)
Region: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Terschelling > West-Terschelling
Price Range: $152 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“beach view”
 of 5 bubbles WorldTravelOne, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms can be warm in summer. there is no airco”
 of 5 bubbles RP-Netherlands, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is ocean view from the first floor on”
 of 5 bubbles dver, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ask in advance for a quiet room, end of the corridor is OK. The higher the floor, the better the sea view. Unless that you prefer more a south room for taking the sun on the balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles KrisN712, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the seaside have beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles Terpstra, 15 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5