We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amar Hostel & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Amar Hostel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Cascina, Italy
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I have been to different surf hostel/houses around the world. Amar is by far my favourite for few reasons: 1. The staff: as soon as you get there you feel part of the family, the staff is fresh, happy and ready to help (and party) 2. Place: makes you feel at home, it is peaceful and designed to let you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Massimo B
bandradeEriceira, Manager at Amar Hostel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Massimo. Hope to see you bac soon!

The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 September 2016

The hostel is clean, good facilities and I loved the different (chill)areas in and around the hostel (the garden, the roofterrace, the restaurant). The atmosphere is good, people who stay in the hostel enjoy their time together and make it a good time. I liked that atmosphere. The price for a bed in a dorm is also really good! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennelie M
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

This place was totally fantastic. Great location. The town is amazing- especially the food (seriously- the food!) The hostel is amazing for solo travellers. I met incredible people travelling along and it made my trip wonderful. If you aren't a beginning surfer I would recommend renting a board if you feel comfortable with waves. Bbq is great. Beds great. Super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
Maassluis, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

While looking for our own guesthouse in Portugal we are critical. We are jealous at this place! Good location, lovely vibe and lots of places to relax, cook, enjoy and sun. For a trip to ericiera this is one of the best places to stay..just don't try the balance cable after a few beers from the bar!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wouterkostense
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Stayed here at the end of the season. Great location, just a 2min walk to restaurants and shops in Ericeira. Clean, spacious rooms, great social areas and a nice terass for a sunset session. You can walk to some of the nearby surfspots takes about 10 min, but when it comes to surfing in Portugal a car is necessary so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiastias
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 9 November 2015

This is a great hostel, I've stayed in quite a few different hostels in Ericeira and Amar was my favorite. It has a great location, awesome terrace to relax on and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin P
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Really nice place, friendly staff and very chilled out. Great location with Ericeira's bars and restaurants just a few minutes walk toward the harbour. Only point is to avoid the surf school linked to the hostel, we took the easy option of booking lessons through them on arrival, but in hindsight the quality of tuition is much better elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick H
bandradeEriceira, Manager at Amar Hostel & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Nick, Thanks for your comments. We finished the partnership we had in 2015 with the surf school you had lessons with. Since 2016 we started operating our own surf school to have full control on the lesson's quality. The experience couldn't be better. Our 2016 customer's satisfaction surveys say that 96% of our clients are Satisfied or Very Satisfied....

Brescia, Italy
Reviewed 26 August 2015

This is definitely the place to stay in Ericeira. The hostel is very well decorated and furnished with wooden floors and nice common rooms. We were 4 friends in a private room: both the room and the bath were spacious and clean. The plus is the garden and the terrace but also the bar with its breakfast. The hostel organizes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilalilai
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 19 June 2015

This place is beautiful and clean! The rooms and beds are clean, my dorm had a view on the ocean! And the common areas: living room, kitchen, terrace are very inviting, so they are a good place to hang out and meet other people from the hostel. The staff is helpful and friendly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mireille T
Valby, Denmark
Reviewed 3 June 2015

I spent a week at Amar in the end of May, and I had a holiday that I will never forget. Eventhough the place is a hostel, it's not the type of hostel you see many other places in the world. It's clean, tidy, has clean beds and sheets and the entire place emminates with calmness and a welcoming atmosphere!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ericeira hotels
0.5 km away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 6 in Ericeira
581 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
126 reviews
0.9 km away
Sea U Soon Hostel
Sea U Soon Hostel
#6 of 51 in Ericeira
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
SoftWater Hostel
SoftWater Hostel
#10 of 51 in Ericeira
25 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa das Aguarelas
Casa das Aguarelas
#7 of 22 in Ericeira
76 reviews
0.4 km away
Fisherman's House
Fisherman's House
#4 of 22 in Ericeira
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
AMAR is a charming hostel set in a 1933 house located right in the centre of Ericeira. Officially recognised as Europe's first World Surfing Reserve in 2011, this uniquely beautiful and traditional fisherman's village is situated just a 40 minute drive from the Portuguese Capital, Lisbon. The hostel is perfectly situated at the heart of the best surf in Portugal, and just a couple of steps away from the main beaches and village centre, where you will find some top Portuguese restaurants, cheery bars and exclusive shops. The hostel has a relaxing mediterranean garden, rooms with sea views, an exclusive lounge bar, weekly activities such as surf lessons, yoga, BBQs, trips to Sintra, garden massages and the kind of atmosphere that will make you love it as much as you will love our ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amar Hostel & Suites

Address: Rua Prudencio Franco da Trindade Nr 1, Ericeira, Portugal (Formerly Casa do Sol)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Price Range: $61 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amar Hostel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Amar Hostel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amar Hostel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are very nice!”
  • sunset
 of 5 bubbles Z1194IRalina, 15 Sep 2014 | Read review
“A couple of the rooms have got a really nice ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeSharp, 1 Apr 2014 | Read review
“There are double/twin and triple rooms if you're going with friends. Light sleepers should always bring earplugs to a dorm, even if it is a quiet place like Amar.”
 of 5 bubbles YogiKarinella, 13 Jul 2013 | Read review
“There are beautiful sweets for individuals. The shared rooms have up to six or seven people so it can be a bit noisy if that is an issue for you.”
 of 5 bubbles 5DrewR, 17 Jun 2013 | Read review
“front of the building, looking at the ocean. make sure bathroom inside the room.”
 of 5 bubbles brotherjacklondon, 28 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay