We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mantra Lake Tekapo

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (235)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 7 apartments in Lake Tekapo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in the rugged alpine heart of the South Island's Mackenzie Country, just a stone's throw from the shores of a shimmering turquoise lake, nestled amid snow capped mountains, Mantra Lake Tekapo offers 28 spacious apartments each featuring three large bedrooms, two luxury bathrooms with heated floors, a spacious open plan living and dining area with a gas fireplace and French doors opening to a private courtyard. Cook up a meal in the fully appointed kitchen featuring granite bench tops and quality appliances. At Mantra Lake Tekapo you can choose to relax by the pool, spa and a paved BBQ relaxation area with an outdoor fireplace or enjoy a bottle of one of New Zealand's award-winning local wines on your apartment's private terrace. With world-class trout fishing, horse riding, scenic flights and two local ski fields all within easy reach there is plenty to see and do. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Mantra Lake Tekapo.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Skiing
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Parking
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Fireplace
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English
665Reviews2Q+A40Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 339
  • 204
  • 71
  • 21
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
George M wrote a review Mar 2024
Windsor, United Kingdom272 contributions104 helpful votes
+1
When we arrived we were concerned that the complex is adjacent to the main highway . Check in is in a small room with the most disinterested check in ever . We were allocated number 1 that is the unit closest to the highway and almost impossible to get your car into the parking space due to entrance gates . On entering the unit looks tired and in need of some TLC upstairs you have again a tired looking room but bathroom and our bedroom was clean . You have a balcony front and rear . Rear looks out over a neighbor’s yard with old coach and scrap metal front overlooks the complex bin store - so we had the pleasure of early morning bin collection We were told there was a BBQ - even though it’s now chilly we have used at previous stops so thought good idea . Wrong it was filthy and gas disconnected . The complex has garden edges and it tells me they are not really interested in you as a guest as some of the wood chipping has found it’s way into the gutters and it’s not regularly swept up Back inside the unit it has a big preset gas fire press button to fire up the book said - didn’t work Dishwasher - appeared stuck on rinse mode no instruction book Washing machine - filthy on top and no instruction book TV - not that we watch much but again no instructions on how to use We decided a walk to the lake was needed so just dumped bags and went out - horrified to find when we closed curtains that patio doors had been left unlocked I’m sure that they get plenty of clients for skiing but this place could be so much better with some care and attention - curtain photos
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book a unit away from the road
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mantra Lake Tekapo, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear GeorgeM926 Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mantra Lake Tekapo. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mantra, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Manager Mantra Lake Tekapo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenni W wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Booked a one-bedroom apartment for 2 people on an overnight stopover, got an enormous 2-storey 2-br family townhouse (with one bedroom and one bathroom locked). Large kitchen & living areas, well-equipped (if you were staying for a week), but did not even supply long-life milk in the fridge. Bedrooms upstairs, steep staircase, difficult to take luggage up, so it stayed downstairs on the lounge room floor. Garage door did not open, so unable to lock car away. Enormous TV set ... but not able to get it working. Said no digital channels available (no instructions how to access digital or streaming access). Tiny reception office, appeared to be set up in the garage of one of the apartments - but CLOSED from 5.00pm-8.30am! No-one onsite after hours, Peppers staff only offer late check-in service, so nothing could be rectified for us! No restaurant, cafe or other facilities on site. Very hot upstairs in bedroom (mid-Feb) - no aircon or fan! Had to open door to balcony to let some fresh air in. Nice balcony off master with view over the pool ... but no views to the gorgeous Lake Tekapo. Steep staircase upstairs, large bedroom with lots of storage, but very small ensuite. No other mirror to do makeup etc when partner was in shower. Toilet downstairs was very pokey, with only a small mirror there too. Lots of waste space. Location was a bit too far out of the township to be able to walk to dinner (15-20 min walk) ... but set right on the main road through town, so still got the traffic noise. Not the usual Mantra standard, very expensive accommodation (more expensive than our apartment in Queenstown, with views!). Not recommended. We won't be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mantra Lake Tekapo, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 365jenniw, Thank you very much for choosing Mantra Lake Tekapo for your recent stay and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. All our units at Mantra are quite generous in size, normally enjoyed and appreciated by most of our guests. The living, kitchen and the dining areas are downstairs however all the bedrooms are upstairs accessible through a staircase ( 1 Meter-1.2 Meter wide) however we completely understand that sometimes lifting heavy luggage or given the size of the luggage can be challenging for even the fittest person. We are disappointed that we were not there to assist you as our reception hours are from 08:30-17:30 and our friendly team from Peppers Bluewater Resort assists with any late arrivals as well as any after hours guest requests. None of our units comes with Lake View and we do not advertise them offering lake view. However we do provide "Meadow Fresh" long life milk in each unit which has 4 star Health rating. Also, the units are equipped with good size Tv's with digital channels available in each unit and the compendium in the room has the instructions to operate it. We apologize if this was missing in your room. Unfortunately Mantra does not have any Food & Beverage facilities on site however our sister property "Peppers Bluewater Resort" which is situated around 1Km away from Mantra has a Bar & Restaurant. It is regretful that your experience with us was not so pleasant and we apologize for that. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Manager Mantra Lake Tekapo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Suzanne H wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
6th March 2024 After a long day on the Hooker Valley Track, I was looking forward to booking into my hotel and a hot cup of tea. What I found was dirty washing from the previous guests that room service hadn't moved, and a cup from the cupboard that still had a dirty tea bag in it. I was horrified and shocked and alarmed to find a rodent running around the toilet. I spoke to management the next day as reception wasn't open until the next morning. The manager tried to get the mouse out of the unit. He sent staff to kill it while we were still in there. Apparently, I am not entitled to a "full refund" as I still need to pay a booking fee. Upper management believe I should only receive a 30% refund as I stayed the night. Given a choice, I would definitely not have stayed. I have asked the manager for details so as to communicate with upper management. I am still waiting for an email from him. I have videos that I can't upload yet.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mantra Lake Tekapo, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear MsHolidays-alot, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mantra, Lake Tekapo. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We apologize for the delay from our end, we appreciate your patience on this matter and I am pleased that we were able to come with a positive outcome for you. At Mantra, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Manager Mantra Lake Tekapo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fred A wrote a review Mar 2024
St George3 contributions1 helpful vote
We really liked the spacious, clean, and comfortable townhouse. It was well appointed and had everything we needed. The only drawback was a strong, lingering odor of fried fish from a previous occupant. It made the indoor air quality a bit unpleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mantra Lake Tekapo, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo
Responded 10 Mar 2024
Dear FredA661, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mantra Lake Tekapo. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are sorry to hear about the fish odour in you room and appreciate your constructive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely Hotel Manager Mantra Lake Tekapo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Happiness742041 wrote a review Mar 2024
South Milford, United Kingdom15 contributions1 helpful vote
A large semi detached house with integral garage fitted out to a high standard was what welcomed us as we parked in the drive. Unfortunately, there was no one in the office to greet us and we had to contact someone by phone. It worked ok though, but was apparently due to a recent change in the management. Otherwise perfect
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mantra Lake Tekapo, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo
Responded 10 Mar 2024
Dear Happiness742041, Thank you very much for choosing Mantra Lake Tekapo for your recent stay and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. Our reception hours are from 08:30-17:00 however our sister property "Peppers Bluewater Resort" assist with after hours arrivals and guest queries. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in future. Sincerely Hotel Manager Mantra Lake Tekapo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
prash p wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Great appartement, good service, great location, the hotel sphere was nice. Lake Takepo is a must visit NZ Destination. It's a lake with great view. Nice to have sunset and sunrise there. The restaurants arround the lake also great. Specially the old Church that was an icon of Tekapo
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mantra Lake Tekapo, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo
Responded 18 Feb 2024
Dear 940prashp, Thank you very much for choosing Mantra Lake Tekapo for your recent stay and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback and looking forward to welcome you again. Hotel Manager Mantra Lake Tekapo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tour437310 wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
No screens on windows, no air conditioning & no available fans to help circulate air. Apartment was located right next to the highway so was very loud. The decor & bed was comfortable whe. It wasn’t being rattled by large trucks passing in nearby highway…
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mantra Lake Tekapo, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo
Responded 11 Mar 2024
Dear Tour437310, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mantra Lake Tekapo. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mantra, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Manager Mantra Lake Tekapo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katherine H wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions
Very comfortable, lovely and helpful staff. Two bedroom unit was spacious for our family of four, very nice and clean bathroom, comfortable beds and linens. A bit expensive but we were there at Christmas and appreciated the ability to book for a single night. Overall, we recommend to families visiting Lake Tekapo.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brigette wrote a review Dec 2023
225 contributions101 helpful votes
Most places were all booked out three months before Xmas and so we booked this rather expensive place ($1050 for two nights, two bedrooms and 2 bathrooms). We were pleased with the nice decor and cleanliness. The beds and beddings were very clean and comfortable. It has laundry and full kitchen. The bathrooms are nice. The only comment is that the weather was quite warm (22c) at daytime and so the bedrooms were a little stuffy. There is an aircon in the living room, but fans only in the bedroom upstairs. It is within 15-20min walk to the shops and 10min to the little church.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There are two stories so may need to drag suitcases upstairs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
pixiebuzz wrote a review Nov 2023
sydney2 contributions
Spacious and clean and well fitted apartments. friendly staff. Everything needed for a comfy syay was supplied. Apartments wete private amd very modern.Would return in a heartbeat. Close to the centre of town and a scenic walk around the lake to the restaurants and centre.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lake Tekapo area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$263 - AU$433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictLake Tekapo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MANTRA LAKE TEKAPO (AU$263): 2024 Prices & Reviews (New Zealand) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mantra Lake Tekapo
Which popular attractions are close to Mantra Lake Tekapo?
Nearby attractions include Lake Tekapo (0.8 km), The Church of the Good Shepherd (0.3 km), and Mackenzie Sheep Dog Statue (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mantra Lake Tekapo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Mantra Lake Tekapo?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mantra Lake Tekapo?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mantra Lake Tekapo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mantra Lake Tekapo?
Conveniently located restaurants include TLV Restaurant & Bar, The Greedy Cow Ltd, and Blue Lake Eatery & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mantra Lake Tekapo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Mantra Lake Tekapo located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Lake Tekapo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mantra Lake Tekapo?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Is Mantra Lake Tekapo accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.