We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Save
Share
Traveller (377)
Room & Suite (205)
Pool & Beach (10)
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good38%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the penthouse”(23 reviews)
“upstairs studio”(19 reviews)
“family unit”(23 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Accessible rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
Private Balcony
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
346
250
57
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
346
250
57
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthouseupstairs studiofamily unitspa bathfirst floorthe ground floorsofa bedgreat viewrestaurants and shopswalking distanceuninterrupted viewssouth islandsmall townfree wifinew zealandcooking facilitiesdefinitely stay here again
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I appreciate some guests may be disappointed as not all rooms will have good lake views. The upper front level certainly does although compromised by construction taking place in front.Very clean and tidy studio room. Not a normal NZ motel as no cooking facilities apart...More

Thank malcolm i
Response from JulieHodsonltvm, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village MotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very disappointed overall. From the rude and unwelcoming start to the dirty and outdated room we were put in. No lake view as advertised, completely blocked out. No sorry or refund as what we got was not what we got. Lying advertising.More

1  Thank willcam2017
Response from JulieHodsonltvm, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village MotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, I am very sorry you felt our staff was rude and unwelcoming. We strive to provide our guests with top quality service and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Would be very helpful to us if you could private message...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a Lakeview studio. The room was warm, good facilities, there was only a sink in the bathroom not in the kitchenette area. There wasn’t an actual Lakeview due to construction which we weren’t made aware of, that was very...More

Thank Cosmopolitan574575
Response from JulieHodsonltvm, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village MotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your review. New construction has limited our lakeviews somewhat and we have made amendments to our website. Top floor units still have lakeviews and bottom floors have limited lakeviews. We are still in a great central location. Minutes walk from the...More

Reviewed 24 July 2018

Family of 5 stayed in the Penthouse Apartment for 2 nights in mid-July. Apartment is located above the Greedy Cow restaurant (closed from mid afternoon / does good take away coffee) so there is no noise to bother you during your stay (even from the...More

Thank Chchfamily2014
Response from JulieHodsonltvm, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village MotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us.

Reviewed 2 July 2018

We flew into Christchurch and immediately drove the distance to Tekapo. We checked into this hotel and were immediately impressed. The front desk attendant could not have been friendlier, and the process was quick. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and we had views...More

Thank Mfallik
Response from JulieHodsonltvm, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village MotelResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your review. Our guest feedback is very important to us. It was lovely to have you as our guest and we hope to see you back again one day!

View more reviews
About
Description
Our quality accommodation in Lake Tekapo is situated in a central position in the village, close to local shops and restaurants. Rooms are modern, clean and most have excellent views over Lake Tekapo and the ...More surrounding mountains. Located just 3 hours from Christchurch and 3 and a half hours from Queenstown, it’s a fantastic accessible stop on your journey, or the perfect getaway for a worry-free weekend. For the more adventurous, activities include boating, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and horse trekking. If you’re looking for a more relaxed pace, the views of the lake offer a constant vista to enjoy the world-class cafes and restaurants, as well as the local hot springs. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
19
Price range
USD 111 - USD 232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Also Known As
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
,
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
19
Price range
USD 111 - USD 232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Also Known As
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
,
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Photos
Traveller (377)
Room & Suite (205)
Pool & Beach (10)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
The Godley Hotel
559 reviews
.20 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
3,741 reviews
.31 km away
The Chalet Boutique Motel
352 reviews
.60 km away
Mt Dobson Motel
43 reviews
22.89 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Kohan Restaurant
1,099 reviews
.13 km away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
1,168 reviews
.10 km away
Reflections Restaurant
703 reviews
.03 km away
Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar
353 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 27 attractions in Lake Tekapo
Lake Tekapo
2,202 reviews
.07 km away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,690 reviews
.58 km away
Mackenzie Sheep Dog Statue
365 reviews
.58 km away
Mount John Summit Circuit Track
39 reviews
1.55 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JuneM1275
30 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JulieHodsonltvm | Property representative |
Hi, The studios ground level have queen and single Studios upstairs have queen and queen sofabed Family units have queen in master bedroom and single and sofabed in second bedroom. Deluxe Family unit has queen in master and... More
0
Votes
Joyce Ann C
17 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from JulieHodsonltvm | Property representative |
Check out time is 10:00 am. You are welcome to store your luggage with us.
0
Votes
Rachelpsl
8 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Peter M | Reviewed this property |
yes!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Bring your own pillow"
Read review
"Try and get a room with a view. Tekapo is spectacular!"
Read review
"There is no lift, choose a room on the ground floor if you have bulky cases to carry"
Read review
"I would think upstairs would have the best view but you need to carry your cases up the stairs."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing