We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Lake Tekapo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Lake Tekapo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Lake Tekapo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The view from the living room is just spectacular...location is perfect short walk to village and shops or hot pools and start of walking track to mount John. Clean and comfortable. Helpful staff. Good wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Hannah, Thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed the hostel and you are right the location and view is spectacular. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

A really good quality hostel. Perfectly clean with an excellently equipped kitchen. The garden and view of the lake at the back is amazing! The staff were really nice and helpful. A five minute walk to the shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther O
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Esther, Thanks for taking your time to review us and we are delighted to hear that everything was great for you. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Singapore
Reviewed 26 August 2016

The view was spectacular but there was a general odd scent around the kitchen and dining area which was where our room was unfortunately situated. This also meant we had very little privacy every time we opened our door. Toilets were clean, there are 2 toilet and 2 shower cubicles. Hair dryers are provided. Beds were clean and surprisingly comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LORDZORPHIAAA
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Lordzorphiaaa, Thanks for taking the time to review and I am glad to hear we were clean and comfortable for you. Just like to address a couple of the points you have made. Lay out of rooms around kitchen can obviously bring a few issues, we constantly are working to manage any of these that arise and make as...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Amazing in every way , the view , the other guests , Richard on reception and Billy the manager , the cleanliness the kitchen set up the great showers the comfortable bed. Beware the not so good choice of cafes in the evening though , cook your own food is a great option . Next time I come here I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roversnz
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Great friendly staff. Was nice enough to even teach my friend how to ride a bike! YHA has an amazing view through the common area. The quality of the bikes are very good. Would recommend hiring for 2 hours at least. Definitely recommend a casual ride.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whitecomet07
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi, That's awesome to hear, all of our staff love to help our guests. Hope your friend enjoyed the bike ride! It is a great way to see Tekapo. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

So this is a review specifically of room 4, a double, that I was given during winter in New Zealand. This room is probably pretty good in summer with a great view of the lake. Unfortunately this room leaves a lot to be desired in winter: 1. It's outside. You have to walk out on the deck to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mybincs
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Dear Mybincs I'm sorry to hear of your unpleasant stay with us in room four and we do appreciate your feedback. I would like to address a couple of points. We'll take a look at the heater as it is one that should be able to reach up to 50 degrees (celsius) and has been used during several winters and...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Three of us on the way to the Brass Monkey Motorycle rally stayed in a 6 bed dorm room and had a great stay. Everything we wanted, great helpful staff and warm comfortable room. Across the way from the village ment the location is great. Will happily stay again and recommend to others, Thanks for a brilliant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig N
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Craig, Delighted to hear your comments and thank you for trying out YHA. hope you get to use more YHAs around New Zealand and we welcome you back to Tekapo next time. Hope the motorcycle rally was a great weekend for you. Best wishes, Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager

Tianjin
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a 4 bed shared room, the room is nice and convenient, each bed got their own reading light. And everyone can control the main light in the room. Plenty of power plugs on the wall! Clean bedsheets and warm room! The lounge is nice and comfortable. Sight is perfect just at the lake side. In a shared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bing D
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Bing D, Thank you for your great review of the hostel. Great to hear that the experience that you had in the hostel was of a great standard and that we had everything you needed and expected to make your stay even more enjoyable. Best wishes, Billy Kerr Hostel Manager

Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

+ central location, near to earth and sky office + friendly, helpful staff + good communal lounge with fireplace + free wifi - not enough showers - little character - no coffee or tea - 7 bed dorm is a little crowded- 7th bed is squeezed right by the door so lots of disturbance when people come in and out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becki S
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi Becki S, Thanks for the feedback, we love to hear what our guests think about our hostel. Glad that you enjoyed the common areas especially the fireplace keeping a warm and cozy lounge for everybody. We are a very small hostel and we encourage guests to be respectful when moving around the hostel. Guests love our "home away from...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a female dorm for 5 people and the room was so small that we barely have space for our luggage. Not sure about other rooms but the dorm with 7 or 8 beds are much bigger from what I saw. Great view of the lake from the lounge. Also can see the milky way from outside the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joytlq
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay. Sorry you did not feel like you had enough space in the dorm. We do also provide extra luggage storage around the hostel if needed. Glad you enjoyed the beautiful night sky that Tekapo has to offer and even more happy that you could see all...

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,352 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
639 reviews
0.8 km away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
1.5 km away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
169 reviews
1.1 km away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right on the lakefront with unobstructed views to the mountains beyond, the million-dollar view from the YHA Lake Tekapo backpacker hostel is of the incredible shades of blue of this glacier fed lake in the centre of the South Island of New Zealand. The hostels large lounge area directly overlooks the lake and is a comfortable and cosy retreat. Relax in front of the roaring log fire with the friendly hostel cat on your lap. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Lake Tekapo

Address: 3 Simpson Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YHA Lake Tekapo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Tekapo Hotel Lake Tekapo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Lake Tekapo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Lake Tekapo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room away from common room and kitchen is better, though the hotel is quiet in the evening”
 of 5 bubbles hellogc, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the right side of the hostel for a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles LORDZORPHIAAA, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms inside the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Amazinria, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Splendid views and great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles V2C, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Need to book ahead as was full every night I was there.”
 of 5 bubbles Mechanogirl, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5