We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nethy Bridge
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Our visit to Scotland was to attend a wedding in the forest. The stay at the Lazy Duck complimented the wedding perfectly. Good location, Good accommodation. Good time was had by all. A warm welcome was shown and kind consideration to getting 8 adults and 2 children to the venue. Well worth a visit by anyone wanting something a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thanks folks. This year has seen a flowering of weddings in the forest and on the beach at nearby Loch Garten. Guests at several of these have been hosted either by Lazy Duck or the Dell of Abernethy in the village where Ross and Polly sometimes can be persuaded to host the whole event. This week, the week of the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Wonderful location for a camp site, shame about the owner's mentality. There are too many RULES on site, which spoiled our relaxation time here, it felt like we were walking on eggshells throughout our stay. We notice the owners wandering around the tents each morning as dawn breaks to see if we had left any mess the night before and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thetravaller2016
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You highlight your feelings of being under pressure to keep to our rules, we think of them as 'arrangements' for happy camping to be enjoyed by all. You are right; that is a shame and we are sorry this aspect spoiled your visit. We have just two acres of buildings and grounds, including the camping...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The Lazy Duck is a holiday destination with a distance. If no electricity, an earth toilet, and an outdoor shower is not your scene, don't read on. We stayed two nights in the Woodman's hut, which is situated at the edge of the site in the forest. The hut was cozy and well supplied. The highlight was waking to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roger b
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Many thanks for this review. Clearly you chose the hut where you saw more of the wild life than you did other human beings whose company you denied yourselves for two nights. So glad to read that the experience did not disappoint. David & Team Lazy Duck

devon, uk
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Before I booked this place it was my ideal of an ideal campsite. As somebody who camps a lot and was camping for 2 weeks throughout Scotland when I found it I could not wait to stay. I emailed the owner in advance of my stay to check if they would be able to accommodate us as we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalenikki
lazyduckhostel, Manager at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Our small team work very hard to look after both guests and grounds here, and try to meet and exceed expectations in all aspects. In this case we are sorry that that did not happen. It would have been so helpful to have been provided with the correct information regarding tent sizes prior to booking, rather...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

I've wanted to visit the Lazy Duck for a good few years now and when I finally did I wasn't disappointed. This was my first solo camping trip and as a single female I couldn't have chosen a safer place. The owners and staff were always around although not at all intrusive. The small camping ground provided the perfect spot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jocpheen
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

So glad Team Lazy Duck and the place itself have managed to tick this many of your really important boxes. The points you make are echoed by many camping guests and we are really grateful to you and them for making these so supportively and unambiguously. Hope we see you again. David & Team Lazy Duck

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the little Woodcutter Cabin in the Forest. Very clean and eco friendly. Stunning views and wildlife right outside the door. Fantastic price too. Our only complaint is that there was no two seater or sofa to sit on in an evening, just hard back chairs, so not very romantic or relaxing after a long day exploring. Eco...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissWonderSeeker
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

So sorry folks you didn't discover how to get the best out of the period chairs. The secret is in the use of the cushions provided. The tapestry upholstered, not hard back, American Rocking Chair, an everlasting and ever popular design for snoozing on porches, is best used with one of our substantial cushions at the base of the spine....

Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

A well hidden idyll in the forests near Nethy Bridge full of an assortment of bird life and little opportunity to make too much noise. A nice location with various cabin options quite close to each other which is fine unless you have precious and overly sensitive guests staying nearby. Staff were helpful and welcoming. The owners were absent and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank VonDoom2014
lazyduckhostel, Manager at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Well what happened here Von Doom? N.B. From our website “Considerate Guests Please be mindful of the expectations of guests in all accommodations to enjoy the peacefulness of The Lazy Duck... For everybody’s benefit we ask for a respectful quiet period in and around the hostel between 11pm and 8am. This allows for outdoor folk off early and young children...

Reviewed 20 June 2016

Once again this place never fails to amaze us!! David and the staff are just brilliant (not forgetting the awesome wee dog!). Our group just back from two nights in the hostel. A place which we continue to return to year in and year out. We are always sad to leave. If you want eco/rustic trip away from the hustle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

Thanks so much folks. You keep coming back, boisterous yet well within the bounds of consideration to other guests and always both entertaining and appreciative. Thanks too for leaving the hostel so very well for us to prepare for that evening's new arrivals. Can't wait for the 'movie'!

Insch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Just back from camping at the Lazy duck camping ground...We stayed one night and absolutely loved it. The site is beautiful, clean, tranquil and totally relaxing. The staff were all really helpful and friendly, and ensured that our every need was catered for. Loved watching the ducks and our outside shower was a great adventure! Thank you so much and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ainsley1971
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

That's really kind. Yes, Team Lazy Duck is usually a well oiled wee machine and it's good to know you were well looked after. Of course we include the ducks in that! Haste ye back. David & Team Lazy Duck

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from an amazing camping holiday staying at the Lazy Duck. It was our first holiday with our 1 year old daughter and it was quite an adventure to take her camping. The camping ground is beautiful and very peaceful and she had so much freedom to crawl around on the grass. She loved seeing the ducks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toatyadventures
lazyduckhostel, Owner at Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground, responded to this review

That's a lovely response; thank you. You would be surprised maybe at just how few camping grounds provide a shelter for bad weather or even just to cozy up in around a fire in the evening. Our thoughts about children camping is that unless they enjoy their first experience in a tent it may be a long time before they...

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (71)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nethy Bridge
15.3 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,207 reviews
14.8 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
503 reviews
10.3 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
23.7 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
11.7 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 6 acre oasis in the Cairngorms National Park where 8 bed hostel, 2 off grid 2 person eco cabins and a 4 pitch lightweight camping ground nestle by the waterfowl ponds and views straight to the mountains with nothing but moorland and forest in between. The Lazy Duck is close to mountain bike trails, skiing and snowboarding, climbing and plateau treks, rafting, kayaking, fishing, golfing and plenty of whisky distilleries. Landmark Forest Adventure Park, Highland Folk Museum, Highland Wildlife park and the leisure pool at the Aviemore Centre are all within easy reach and of top class quality for visitors Small is beautiful at The Lazy Duck. Been Active? Come home to slow living with our hot tub, sauna & Swedish massage service ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground

Address: 300 metres off the Nethy Bridge to Tomintoul Road | At the village boundary, Nethy Bridge PH25 3ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Nethy Bridge
Price Range: $11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground Nethy Bridge, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lazy Duck Hostel, Eco Cabins & Lightweight Camping Ground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a romantic couples getaway, that has the feel of off-grid, but with some modern touches, then the Duck's Nest is for you.”
 of 5 bubbles killiealan, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Duck's Nest all the way!”
 of 5 bubbles Mewilliams2, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ducks Nest lodge was very good.”
 of 5 bubbles GibbsintheirVW, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“you can't go wrong on this site”
  • The Lambing Bothy
 of 5 bubbles russellm978, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“everything is so quiet apart from the ducks!!”
 of 5 bubbles 393gemmam, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5