We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Oysterfleet Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Oysterfleet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Oysterfleet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a night, staff were lovely and very welcoming. Room was spacious and clean, stayed in room 41, was a little noisy but that's to be expected and didn't bother us. Only quibble was the lighting, made it really hard to put make-up on for the evening and it didn't matter which mirror we used, the lighting was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rie2511
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, we pride our self on being friendly and helpful so I'm glad this was the case in all our departments. With regards to the lighting I will look into this for you and pass on your feedback to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We have had a fabulous weekend at the Oysterfleet Hotel enjoying the music of Canvey's famous R & B band, Dr Feelgood. The service and rooms were fine, food was excellent (salmon and mackerel mousse was absolutely delicious). The organisation of the whole weekend could not be faulted but I am only giving four stars because the experience could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you've enjoyed your weekend with us at the Dr Feelgood Weekend. We aim for high standards throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant and I am pleased you had a brilliant weekend. I have passed on your comments to our bar manager with regards to the...

England
Reviewed 12 November 2016

I have used the hotel and found it perfect, have had a lake view and carpark view. Very good housekeeping standards. I have used both the lighthouse restaurant and the pub restaurant, enjoyed both. I regularly go here for drinks when visiting Canvey to see my parents. We enjoy a nice bottle of wine and chat in very nice atmosphere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizabellett
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you've enjoyed all your visits with us. We aim for high standards throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant and I am pleased this was justified. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

northampton
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Have stayed at The Oysterfleet several times & let us start by saying this is a really nice place. It's big & does well at what it does being a hotel, but also operates as a local pub & has a large function room Friendly & efficient check-in & very helpful staff Rooms vary in type & size, but all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank northampton15
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. We are glad to hear you were happy with your room and the customer service you receieved. We are sorry to see your time away was disrupted by certain guests at the hotel. We do not accept behaviour like this and in the future please do not hestiate to complain...

Luton
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Loved this hotel, staff were welcoming and friendly. Room No 3 was clean with very comfortable beds and good quality pillow. Loved the food in the Restaurant, there were 9 of us dining, all found the food amazing, can thoroughly recommend eating here, good choice and attentive staff Breakfast was great and we really enjoyed our stay whilst visiting family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerryA A
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, we pride our self on being friendly and helpful so I'm glad this was the case. Thank you for your feedback of the Lighthouse restaurant as well as the hotel, I will pass your comments on to the...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were just looking for a venue near to where we were running a course, on Canvey Island. The Oyster Fleet sounded good , so we gave it a go. Our first impression on Friday night, was not so good, as the bar area was bursting at the seams, very noisy and with nowhere to sit to drink a pint!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olwyn H
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The hotel is especially busy at the weekend especially with the bar and functions we have but I'm glad to hear the staff were able to help you. Thank you for your comments on both the restaurant and...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Called in for lunch on way home from weekend away,can thoroughly recommend eating here,food was amazing and staff very friendly,plenty of seating,some with amazing views across the lake,plenty of parking,if your in the area give it a go.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnM503790
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. Both our bar and restaurant menus have lots of variety and we are glad you enjoyed it. I have passed on your comments to the restaurant and we hope to see you again in the future.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Very large room that was very clean. Although the bed was not a king-size it was very comfortable with good pillows. A bit of road noise but then we did have windows open, didn't keep us awake though. Cleaned to a high standard every day. There was a bit of damp in bathroom but still get clean. Breakfast was yummy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over 3 nights, we pride our self on being friendly and helpful so I'm glad this was the case. Thank you for your feedback of damp in the bathroom, we will make sure this is looked at immediately so...

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

I visited here as both a photographer and a guest! It was beautifully laid out, and was an ideal venue for a Wedding Reception. The ceiling had white drapes and twinkly lights, there was a good size dance floor and the big round tables for the guests. The bar was a good size and there were plenty of bar staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stmoritz1960
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel as a wedding venue. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed you enjoyed the wedding reception held here. I have passed on your comments to Jayne Cecil our function manager and her team. We hope to see you here in the future.

Cornwall
Reviewed 15 September 2016

booked though late rooms, didnt know what to expect, but room lovely, restaurant was a bit dated but didnt eat here. portions looked good though and didnt seem expensive. friendly reception staff and all as it should be! would use in preference to chain any day!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pastorsmokey
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the staff who were working and thank you for writing a review. The restaurant part you see would of been our pub area that offers a wide range of food off...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.7 km away
Endeavour Hotel
Endeavour Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canvey Island
50 reviews
7.5 km away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
516 reviews
7.6 km away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
9.6 km away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
621 reviews
8.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
The Oysterfleet Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Seafood, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oysterfleet hotel is a 40 bedroom hotel situated in the town centre of Canvey Island. All bedrooms are en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities. There is a choice of double, twin, family or interconnecting rooms and also a honeymoon suite. Complimentary parking is available on site. There is also a pub serving bar meals every day and a restaurant that is able to seat over 100 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oysterfleet Hotel

Address: 21 Knightswick Road, SS8 9PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Price Range: $81 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oysterfleet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Oysterfleet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid room 20 there is a fan noise all night.”
 of 5 bubbles Hippychris, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Enjoy your food we did.”
 of 5 bubbles benfleetjan, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel, plenty of choice off the island”
 of 5 bubbles 196pamelah, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try Premier Inn”
  • Old heater which didn't work
  • Peep show at the bathroom window
  • Bent wires at the back of the heater
  • Old dirty shower tray
  • One ply toilet tissue
  • Toilet stack
  • Squashed bed, no headboard, next to the wall and under draughty windiw
  • One of two broken lamps in the room
 of 5 bubbles Engineer9199, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A room which looks over the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles lizabellett, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5