We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel good modern facilities great helpful staff. Good for ferry terminal. Good value for money great for families we had 2 adjoining rooms. Nice restaurant on site too. Bar and lounge area really nice. Would definetly recommend and would return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizloo
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our adjoining rooms. We hope that your children did too ! We only have 3 family rooms so if you want to come back and visit our lovely town, do not hesitate to book it in advance. Best Regards La...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Straight forward booking of a triple and double room. Charming and helpful reception. A cot was produced in an instant and when a bottle of wine to take to our room was ordered at the bar, wine cooler and bowl of nibbles appeard with equal speed and charm. Delightful place to stay less than 5 mins from Ferry terminal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. We are happy that you enjoyed our triple room. We are doing our best to satisfy every requests of our guests day and night. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best Regards La Mare ô Poissons

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times - using the hotel as a base to explore the region and also as a stopover venue before travelling onwards. It is virtually a stone's throw away from the Brittany Ferries port. The rooms are comfortable and with all of the facilities you would expect. The breakfast gives you plenty of good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trumpeterscott
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Like you said, we have a free and close parking very handy for our guest going or coming from the ferry. The restaurant is not owned by the hotel so if you have any comment, do not hesitate...

Northamptonshire
Reviewed 6 July 2016

As you disembark from the Brittany Ferry in the very late evening and have struggled through French customs, the last thing you want to do is try to locate some out-of-the-way hotel, so that you can rest your weary head. The Hotel La Mare Ô Poissons is conveniently located no further than a few hundred metres from the port on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Medvedjornak
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. We are happy that you and your son enjoyed the room. Since the begining of June 2016, we propose a snacking service (croque-monsieur, quiche lorraine and pasta) for our guests who cannot eat at the restaurant or on the ferry. We hope you will come back and see...

Surrey
Reviewed 22 June 2016

A modern hotel with character on the outskirts of the town off the main road to Caen. Ideal for those wishing to catch an early morning ferry or exploring the Normandy beaches. Our room was comfortable with the usual tea tray and wifi. The bathroom was spotless with a good shower. There is air con, but it was switched off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizanneSurrey
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Unfortunatly, we cannot switch on the air conditionning for one room only. So when the temperature during the night goes below 15°C, we do not turn it on for the confort of...

Cardiff
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Handy for the ferry terminal and the ferry road is off the roundabout next to the hotel. Staff were a bit offish throughout our stay but they helped when asked for information. Rooms are small but modern and have all you need for a one night stay. The dinner menu is a complete rip-off, the portions are so small you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CardiffSteveH
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Concerning...

Pulborough
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

I booked a two night stay through Brittany Ferries. My first choice hotel, in the centre of Ouistreham, was fully booked which slightly surprised me, but this hotel just out of town had space. On the second night I found out why as it was the start of a five day holiday and the quiet town of Wednesday was absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reg H
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. Most of the time, during check-in, the receptionnist explains to the guest how the key pad works but maybe this time she forgot. We hope that you did not spent too much time trying to open the door... We hope you will come back and see us again...

Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We regularly stay here, as it is so convenient for the ferry and the rooms are clean. The staff are very helpful and speak good English. We dined in for the first time on the most recent visit, and were underwhelmed. We both had a turbot dish, which was ruined by a grossly over-salted bed of spinach. The head waitress...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team and the restaurant, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in...

Didmarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We've stayed here many times after crossing the channel and have always given 4 stars on previous reviews but not this time. Unless you are disabled and need adapted facilities, avoid room 12. It may be larger than the standard rooms but it's not as nice and the shower room is inconvenient. The room is at the end of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19lenny
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Room 12 is harder to heat because it is a larger one. Since you comment, we have put the heater settings higher so this problem should not happen again. The mattress has...

Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, both receptionists were friendly and helpful. We had dinner the first night which was lovely however although they state they speak English, the girls in the restaurant dont, so bit of a language barrier there. Room was big and comfortable, no English channels on the tv. The hotel isnt near any shops or loc restaraunts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viki W
lamareopoissons, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property. Unfortunately we only have Euronews as an English channel in our hotel. But next time, if you ask the receptionnist, she can change the settings of you TV and put every English/american movies and series in English (thanks to our new TVs). We hope you will come back...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouistreham
1.5 km away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
659 reviews
2.1 km away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ouistreham
408 reviews
2.0 km away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
3.0 km away
Hotel Restaurant La Glycine
1.9 km away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#5 of 8 in Ouistreham
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Address: 68 rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Price Range: $106 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons Ouistreham, Basse-Normandie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
2 months ago
Colorado Springs, Colorado
8 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 12 unless you require disability adaptions”
 of 5 bubbles 19lenny, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Very clean, tidy and well laid out.”
 of 5 bubbles madmaison2014, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the end of a corridor seem to be quieter with pleasant views of a little field and stream”
 of 5 bubbles doubledeeLondonNW6, 22 Oct 2015 | Read review
“They are all good, but there is no lift. So, ask for ground floor if necessary.”
 of 5 bubbles Terry_Marsh, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Top floor to not have to be level with car park spaces.”
 of 5 bubbles nomadbackwards, 19 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay