We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pension Santa Elena

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Pension Santa Elena
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

672 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pension Santa Elena
See the most recent reviews
Showing 496: English reviews
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Pension Santa Elena was a great base from which to experience the many aspects of the Monteverde area. The location was convenient to restaurants and businesses. Taco-Taco next door to the hostel had great food at a reasonable prices. The hostel staff were extremely helpful in assisting us with reservations for the various venues around the area. Joe and Trisha

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sastrugiwarrior
Providence Bay, Canada
Reviewed 4 May 2015

The staff was very friendly. The kitchen was extremely clean. They had a house cat or two that were friendly. Our room was clean. It gets pretty cold at night and our window would not close completely, but I'm sure they have fixed that. They provided a sheet as well as wool blanket, so that helped. You get a free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 3 May 2015

The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful and with their laughter and smiles you relax immediately, even after a long journey. They give good, objective information about all the things you can do around Monteverde and about other cities, transport and hostels. The livingroom with the comfy couch makes you feel at home and that's the place where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrGoyens
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 May 2015

I would like to start out saying that Diego was very helpful and that was about as positive as this review will be. He was truly the only helpful person during our stay. Not only did he make a point to ensure everything was going well, he pointed us in the direction of the Hollow Tree, which we would suggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niki I
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Location can't be beat... not that there's much to do around Santa Elena. Attached to Taco Taco (that's where breakfast is served - amazing breakfast taco). Rooms were super clean, comfy beds, roomy and cool lay out. Really enjoyed the shared kitchen area... though I'd suggest re-washing something before using it, some people just aren't clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aublivious
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 18 April 2015

All the staff were great, always willing to help with information about the area, arranging for tours, etc, the assortment of rooms was very appealing. Breakfast was very good from Taco Taco which happened to be attached to the building. There was always coffee available and it was pretty good. Location was fantastic

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Metez
Londres
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

We went there after someone recommended it to us and we were really disappointed. Ok the price is very reasonable but the room was super dark, not even a window. The bathroom was clean but right next too an outdoor corridor very smelly. The place was noisy too. I would not go back there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bilie D
thepse, Owner at Pension Santa Elena, responded to this review

Dear Billie I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at the Pension Santa Elena. The hotel offers many, many choices for folks traveling on different budgets. The room you chose is a very basic room without bath located in the older part of the hotel, next door to the reception area and lounge. The cost is $14...

La Crosse, WI
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Hostel staff was very friendly, helpful, both while making reservations and during our stay. They had good recommendations for things to do and see, and were knowledge able about further transport. Common areas (including a well-stocked kitchen) were always bustling. Dorm was a bit dingy and damp, but served its purpose. I would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
Leelanau County, Michigan
Reviewed 10 April 2015

We stayed with our four kids in one room - a double, bunk beds and loft. Pros: It was clean, efficient, right in town and the staff was super helpful. Cons:pretty noisy, but my guess is everything in town will be. There are a bizillion dogs wandering around that bark all night and constant motorbikes (major mode of transportation on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJJ1962
Paris, France
Reviewed 4 April 2015

All you could ask for in an hostel. Jonathan and all the staff were very helpful, not pushing you to do any activities to get a commission. They were very honest. The room was clean, as was the hostel. The free coffee was excellent! Low prices for what we got. I'd recommend it in a heartbeat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will13_39

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.0 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
207 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
214 reviews
1.1 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.2 km away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
0.1 km away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: $34 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pension Santa Elena staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pension Santa Elena staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no complaints about any of the rooms available”
 of 5 bubbles CindyBrisVegas, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Different price points with different amenities. You make the choice. I had the advantage of looking because I just showed up one morning.”
  • Exterior garden with outdoor seating
  • View from the hammock near my room
  • Detail of bottle design
  • My room with bottle glass design
 of 5 bubbles Anya3113, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles Ba8ydriver, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would choose for the newer block with rooms, as those rooms are the most comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles ElsvdR, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“bring your own towel, bring ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles greenluck007, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5