We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Beauty Guesthouse

Agoda.comUSD 18*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Black Beauty Guesthouse
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Black Beauty Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and would definitely give the staff 5 stars - they were polite, friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were OK, although the first room I was shown (on the first floor) was definitely not worth the 6,500 rupees a night cost. The furniture and fittings (including the bed linen) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smartej
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your review. I will let my staff know that you have been satisfied with their service. I am also glad that they showed you an alternative room and will inform the staff that they check the linen again. Our air condition units are serviced regularly to make sure that they work properly. They are...

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Black Beauty Guesthouse is great little place barely 100yds from the sea. The rooms are basic but comfortable with fans and aircon and the beds have mosquito nets. I have seen other reviews that say the rooms are a bit musty but in a country as humid as this that's pretty much inescapable. The staff are the most helpful accommodating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrgazpacho
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Black Beauty for one night on the back of the review in the Lonely Planet. There is a beautiful garden and the staff were very friendly. Our problem was the room. It was damp, musty with a rundown feel to it and could do with a refurbishment. We also felt it was very overpriced compared to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitcheloconnor
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for you review. We always try to provide our best service. All our rooms were renovated just a few weeks ago. In the folder in your room we always ask our guests to contact us directly if there is a problem at Black Beauty Guesthouse. Have you asked the staff for another room or did...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My stay was great, the guesthouse wasn't full so it was very quiet and chilled place to be. The garden has intersting wildlife including a baby monitor lizard. And in the evenings the purple faced leaf monkeys come downinto the trees surrounding Black Beauty

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yala E
Cape Town
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent our last night in Sri Lanka at the Black Beauty and it is certainly one of the nicest places we stayed. The owner is friendly and helpful and was very happy for us to wait at the guest house after checking out. The breakfast was great and the atmosphere very peaceful. It is situated just across the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudyvCapeTown
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hope you had a good journey home. Regards, Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Service was unorganized but friendly (they just gave us the room key and left without any information). Bathroom was not that great and was very damp. Nice pool to clean up after bath in nearby sea (2min walk). The dining area on top of the hotel prvided a great view and breakfast was okay. They let us stay at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank huebbi
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. In the meantime we solved the problem with the dampness in the bathroom by installing an exhaust fan. I also will talk with my staff about how to great new guests. Thank you. Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Port Douglas, Australia
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I chose Black Beauty for convenience and enjoyed my stay here, the place was not full so it was nice and quiet. The pool was a bonus when I wanted to be lazy. I only ate breakfast here and because I wasn't too well found the prospect of the climb up to the restaurant more than once a day a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobynS1962
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Nice Guesthouse, We stay on a 2nd floor room, great tree top views, lots of nature & life. Water was hot, rooms were cozy & clean. We ate breakfast & dinner here & the food was top notch, all freshly prepared, reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly & helpful, Brigit has them all well trained. We would consider a return...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan P
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will show it to the staff. We always try to improve and are always grateful for constructive comments. Have a good time. Britta and the Black Beauty Team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We came to Black Beauty off the back of some good TripAdvisor reviews - I'm not sure why it got such a good rap. We had an awful time. Don't be fooled by the Lonely Planet. Scores more hotels have opened in Unawatuna since it was last published, and you are likely to find a newer, cleaner, cheaper hotel if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank apatsyapatsy
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy staying with us and I am surprised that you did not come up with your issues to us when you were here, so we would have had a chance to make your stay a pleasant one. My staff would have been able to change your net and our housekeeper would have been...

durham
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed here 10 days early December 2012. Our first impression was that the place was well run, clean with pleasant gardens. The room was a decent size, nicely decorated, large bathroom with plenty hot water, the bed comfy & with a large balcony with lovely furniture where we could sit & watch the wildlife. The pool was well kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DurhamMary
brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will show it to the staff. They will enjoy that. Regards, Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.8 km away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 31 in Unawatuna
366 reviews
0.2 km away
Sam's Guest House
Sam's Guest House
#9 of 145 in Unawatuna
134 reviews
2.0 km away
Villa Gaetano
Villa Gaetano
#3 of 145 in Unawatuna
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#2 of 145 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
0.3 km away
Wimals Resort
Wimals Resort
#36 of 145 in Unawatuna
97 reviews
0.6 km away
Srimali's Residence
Srimali's Residence
#14 of 145 in Unawatuna
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Many of our guesrs ask us why we chose such an unusual name for a Guest House in Sri Lanka. I read and enjoyed the book as a child ans was struck by the genuine character of Black Beauty. Here was a role model to be followed through life. He was well behaved, honest and thoughtful, always doing the best he could in every situation, wonderful skills we try to instill in our staff. The management chooses new team members with careful consideration and train them to reflect these characteristics. Our aim, over the last 20 years has been to provide the best service for our guests and through gentle and caring ways follow the example of Black Beauty. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Beauty Guesthouse

Address: Ganahena, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Price Range: $21 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Black Beauty Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Beauty Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Beauty Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Black Beauty Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay a bit more and stay somewhere else.”
cps66, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Grab a room on the ground floor below the terrace restaurant”
W2942CWemilyp, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I recommend the second floor, very calm”
Sandruzska, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Third floor on the corner with ocean view”
409olegm, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Pay extra for the air con and enjoy chatting to the family and playing with the dogs.”
763stevenp, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 18* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 19
TripAdvisorUSD 18
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates