We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

637 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Calamander Unawatuna Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 465: English reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff, perfect rooms, good food, great breakfast and dinerbuffet, Good services. A save place. Very close to the beautiful beach of Unawatuna with many sunbeds. Swimming pool is ok, they are building a new one. Poolbar is nice. 👍👍🏽

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ErnavdBosch
Paloma scott S, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resort (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive and motivational review of our hotel. We do hope you will be able to visit us again and you will see the new, extraordinary, swimming pool, we are in the process of creating. We are a little disappointed that our glass pool did not inspire you. We do hope that our new pool...

Karachi, Pakistan
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

It was a good experience to stay in UBR. Room service was good. Staff was well trained and very humble. Beach was well maintained with a large swimming pool as well. Buffet was good. But there were very few varities to choose from. Italian buffet was tasteless. Another major issue was that they mixed pork with chicken while claiming that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abdul samad V
Paloma scott S, Director, Unawatuna Beqch Resort (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for reviewing the experience you had at Calamander Unawatuna Beach. It is satisfying for Management to know that you enjoyed your stay and that service, attitude and competence of our staff were of high standard. It is also very pleasing to know that you enjoyed our glass pool and we hope you will return in the...

London
Reviewed 15 August 2015

This hotel is really a basic holiday style hotel with average facilities. My room was by the swimming pool and the facilities were ok if a bit dated. The door to the room did not lock properly and the TV reception was very poor. I reported both matters to the staff and was promised they would be repaired but nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMLLondon
Paloma scott S, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you taking the time to review Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We are very sorry that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the room. We are very particular regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and we will look into the situation surrounding the problem. However, we can see that this did not spoil the quality of your stay....

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 August 2015

we stayed 1 full board basis at Calamander Hotel. Foods are delicious. & staff also very friendly. It was my wife's birthday, as i requested they arranged me cake & other stuffs. Location is amazing...green color beach...awesome weekend ever. recommending to book the see side rooms in 2nd or 3rd floor

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izutkon
Paloma scott S, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your delightful review of our hotel. It is to the credit of all our staff, in all departments, that your stay has been so enjoyable. We very much hope that you will be visiting us again soon. Kind regards, Miss Paloma Scott

Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Calamander the second night of our holiday in Sri Lanka. After a very warm welcome we enjoyed fantastic food, swimming in the pool and in the ocean, refreshing drinks at the bar and a beautiful sunset. Thanks for a great start to our time in Sri Lanka!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
Paloma scott S, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We are delighted that every aspect of the hotel was pleasing to you and staying at Calamander Unawatuna Beach was a great start to you visiting Sri Lanka. We do hope,that you will visit us again. Kind regards, Miss Paloma Scott

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

The normal rooms are quite small and the view from the rooms are not the best. The buffet/food was very good but the spread could have been a little better. The staff was well trained and catered to our needs politely. The outstanding part of the hotel was the Glass Pool, in which everyone took delight in and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelGypsy2000
Paloma scott S, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and the experience of your stay with us. If we had built the hotel from scratch we would have made bigger rooms, all with great views of the beach. Sadly we cannot change the aspect of the hotel but we refurbished and furnished the smaller rooms...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 1 August 2015

This was the best place we stayed in our 3½ weeks vacation in Sri Lanka. From planning 2 - 3 days, we ended up staying 6 nights. They have a combination of the tranquility of a Thailand beach guesthouse, the relaxed atmosphere of a Ibiza beach bar and fun for children like an amusement park. We went with 2 adults...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlexJacobsen
Paloma scott S, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts(pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that your children had a great time and we appreciate your comments regarding all facilities, refurbishment and elements of renewal. Your observations that we have combined so many aspects of Mediterranean and tropical beach resorts from around the world, is praise indeed. We...

Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Really nice hotel, amazing location. Thus part of the beach is quiet and clean but the sand gets eroded so that makes the sea a bit far away. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Must stay here if going to Unawatuna

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabeel S
Paloma scott S, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel with such a positive adjective! Management are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and all aspects of the hotel came up to a high standard. Your comments regarding the beach: you may not know the recent history of our shore line but it is explained in our face...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Rooms are clean, but the main dissatisfaction is that there is not enough parking for the guest. If you come early good for you, but if you would want to go out to the city n you find no parking you have to park your car on the streets ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asanga v
Paloma scott S, Director Unawatuna Beach Resort (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our hotel. It is a great shame that you have judged us only on the aspect of inadequate parking. However we are aware of the shortcomings and we always try to manage difficult, crowded times, as efficiently as we can. I am sure you can appreciate that...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Great beach location. Rooms were clean but had a funny sea smell in them. Great food and well trained restaurant staff. The highlight was the transparent pool. My kids had a great time in it. Beach was nice with a lot of seashells and plenty of area. Nice little bar and the buffet had plenty of choices. Special commendation to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Q A
Paloma scott S, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel so comprehensively. We are thrilled that your kids enjoyed the glass pool, the amenities and the beach. And it is especially pleasing to know that one of our staff has been able to impart his knowledge and skill to you. We are a bit mystified by your comment about the...

907 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (485)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (65)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (232)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (390)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (51)
Viewed
Glass Pool (29)
Viewed
Luxury Room (72)
Viewed
Dining (83)
Viewed
Super Deluxe Room (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
2.1 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
660 reviews
0.4 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
861 reviews
0.4 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
383 reviews
5.3 km away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
230 reviews
0.1 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Calamander Unawatuna Beach is one of Sri Lanka's most popular beach resorts, located directly on Unawatuna Bay. The most renowned holiday destination on the South coast, Unawatuna Beach is famous for its natural beauty, laid back ambience, proximity to Galle Fort, a Unesco World Heritage site, and is the best beach in the country. UBR, established over 30 years ago, has been transformed, since November 2011, as Calamander Unawatuna Beach. The resort retains the relaxed character of the former UBR, the excellent service from long standing staff, good food and al fresco dining. The only hotel on Unawatuna Beach with swimming pools, Calamander Unawatuna Beach has built the first glass fronted lap pool in Sri Lanka and the longest, at 25 metres, in the Asia Pacific region. In addition a stunning Italian mosaic, 25 metres in length, outdoor pool, with adjoining jacuzzi and a separate children's paddling pool. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a 4 star class hotel with five star facilities. It is the first beach hotel in Sri Lanka with accredited carbon neutral status and future projects aim to develop sustainable eco-technology in the hotel's power generation and transport services. Guests are encouraged to engage in utilising the resort's facilities in the most eco-friendly way, without compromising on comfort and are invited to offset their individual carbon foot print with a small, voluntary, financial contribution, to the hotel's carbon neutral status. Calamander Unawatuna Beach is a trail blazer in Sri Lanka, for the 'affordable luxury' concept. Its design ethos of modernity, complimenting the beauty of its geography, has proven to be popular with our guests from all over the world. This together with high standards of service, Calamander Unawatuna Beach is now renowned for being a family friendly resort welcoming Sri Lankans as well as foreign guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Address: Parangiyawatta, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: $106 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calamander Unawatuna Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Calamander Unawatuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel Unawatuna
Unawatuna Beach Resort
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Calamander Unawatuna Beach staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Calamander Unawatuna Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There appears to be a new and an old wing. Choose the new wing.”
peachesBallarat, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Inquire from the hotel which rooms have sea view, garden view or pool view before you book.”
jtill123, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with access to the pool”
365ingridh, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a ground floor room - the beaches will be more accessible - one does not really need a room with a view on the upper floors.”
SumanB_13, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best location..”
938virajs, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5