We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue Sky Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue Sky Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 38: English reviews
Start your review of Blue Sky Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is not a resort, its a big house right by the beach. The location is superb. The rooms are big. The staff is decent and helpful. The food options are limited. The feel of the place is more like a homestay. Overall we had a comfortable stay although we were somehat misled by the name.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivekananda N
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Positives: The view is great! Staff are amazing and very friendly Negatives: Weird smell in the rooms The view is only seen on the porch. Room had a dirty mosquito net No natural light in the room, you open your windows into a wall Hardly had hot water Shower pressure was a trickle Breakfast was 2 eggs and 2 small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
SusilBlusky, Manager at Blue Sky Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Neil Thanks for the review.thanks for the positives. I write the response to clear our potential guest misunderstanding. first of all the first thing is you booked the lowest price room and you complaining about you didn't have highest room facilities.if you want all this facilities you have to book a high price room.the rooms have natural lights because...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

First off, this is a nice hotel and the staff are really friendly and incredibly helpful. Whether this is telling off tuk-tuk drivers who try to overcharge you or helping to plot the best way to get to your next destination. Any problems you observe are dealt with quickly. At times though, the staff can be hard to find. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmarts993
SusilBlusky, Manager at Blue Sky Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thanks for the review. We welcome you any time in the resort.We appreciate very much your applause and sentiments given based on the stay. We warmly invite you all to visit us again for superior services and facilities Many Thanks

Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We're staying for longer than intended. There's two beach side seating areas perfect for writing in peace with a pot of tea and just the sounds of the ocean. Around the point is a perfect swimming lagoon, with shallows safe for children, often with several turtles to keep you company.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
SusilBlusky, Manager at Blue Sky Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks For the Comment. See you again !

uk
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Please find somewhere else much nicer places around for same or less money. Bit disappointed when I arrived room big enough. Nowhere to hang my clothes booked for 11 nights so needed some hanging space. Towels old and thin bed sheet had hole in it. 6 bed 12 person property only 4 sunbeds with paper thin cushions. No beach outside...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sarahbwhiting
Kalkan, Turkey
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We had an 8 day stay in Blue Sky in late February, early March 2016. The hotel is right on the beach, and I mean right on the coconut palm fringed beach. At high water the tide comes right up to the hotel steps. We stayed in one of the upgraded rooms and could not have wished for a better...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew F
Reviewed 6 October 2015

This place is in a great location. Delicious Food and Excellent Service. Rooms was Very Clean, Beautiful and Staff were Great and Very helpful. Amazing Sunset View,and such a Lovely place ! This is Quite Relaxing hotel. A place to really chill out. Highly Recommended !!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dinushi S
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
Reviewed 2 April 2015

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in October 2013. High season hasn't started yet so for a couple of days we were alone in the whole hotel, but then some British people came to stay there as well. Loved our stay. The room was clean and we stayed in the best room on the top floor with a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank E_lina132013
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Great little guesthouse in a fantastic location. It is not fancy, but the rooms are clean, staff is pleasant and helpful, and it sits right on the ocean with crashing waves off the patio and 2 minutes down the beach from a great swimming spot. The food is local but very tasty. The back rooms are on the road, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zamy12
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 25 November 2014

our weekend was awesome and fantastic because there was a delicious food package and excellent service. rooms was clean and large.balcony gives marvelous ocean view and friendly staff.location was on beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ishan k

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
0.4 km away
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Unawatuna
418 reviews
2.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
777 reviews
0.4 km away
Mihiripenna Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
EKA Beach
EKA Beach
#1 of 10 in Talpe
81 reviews
0.4 km away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#12 of 139 in Unawatuna
75 reviews
0.8 km away
Dalawella Beach Resort
Dalawella Beach Resort
#74 of 139 in Unawatuna
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue Sky Resort is a newly built resort located on the long stretched elegant and gorgeous beach of UNAWATUNA Mihiripenna, Sri Lanka. Hotel Blue Sky is located just 6 Km south of the historical ancient city of Galle, the beach at Unawatuna - Mihiripenna is secluded and offers its visitors a calmful relaxing swimming and sunbathing atmosphere at the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. You can get there by a TUKTUK (three wheeler), it is about a 5 minute drive and cost around 1 Euro for 2-3 people, ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Sky Beach Resort

Address: Matara Road | Mihiripenna, Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: $76 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sky Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Sky Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Sky Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Blue Sky Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one of the Superior rooms. It is well worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewF413, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“choose a room on the side of the ocean as the other side is near the road”
 of 5 bubbles E_lina132013, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Get a room upstairs, closest to the sea as possible as the Galle road is very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles annabel_1956, 23 Apr 2014 | Read review
“The train line is close to the front of the hotel so you do get train horns blowing from time to time but the sound from the surf drowns out the majority of road and train noises. B3 and C3 are the rooms with windows facing out to sea.”
 of 5 bubbles Llewellyn53, 19 Mar 2014 | Read review
“be carefull with the bath room dangerous”
 of 5 bubbles stelior2014, 6 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5