We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Joe's Bungalow

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Joe\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Joe's Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
INDIA
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The property is almost on the beach. Clean rooms and a special thanks to the very obliging and hospitable staff. The food too was very good. I will most definitely like to come back and spend a few extra nights soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FORTUNEIndia
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014 and the management was beyond pathetic. It seems this hotel/bungalow is facing a severe identity crisis as they are not sure if they are operating as a hotel or a bungalow. We arrived earlier than the check-in time and we were asked to wait until the rooms were made ready (which was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JJayaweera
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed in this awesome property for 2 nights. Awesome because the view and the location is fabulous. We were there on 28th & 29th Dec'2013. My only suggestion to all Indians will be never visit this property. The manager is pathetic. I feel bad to see such a lovely property is being handled by such an unfriendly, rude manager....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 513traveller
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Myself and my wife have stayed at Joe's Bungalow on three occasions in the last two years and I thought it only right that I pass on my thanks and gratitude. The bungalow is basically directly on the beach and is perfect for morning and evening walks along the beach front. The staff are very attentive and cannot do enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary C
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places I have been in my extensive travels, having worked for Emirates for some time I thought I had seen it all. To my surprise once the main gate to Joe's bungalow was opened and I saw the sunrise over the property I was truly speechless. The staff are so accommodating and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keggysue
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to hear that you had a great holiday and Joe's Bungalow is one of your favourites! I am glad that our staff were able to meet your expectations and we do hope to see you again should you return to Sri Lanka! Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Joes Bungalow and what a beautiful, tranquil and stunning get away. Its set right on the beach but has very easy access to local bars and food places, such an ideal setting. We stayed in the smaller guest quarters rather than the main bungalow itself and its was absolutely perfect, the 2 guys onsite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amyh4124
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you and your husband had a great holiday and that you were happy with our sevice. Should you return to Sri Lanka again we look forward to seeing you! Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow

colombo
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Have stayed here many times. Always had a great time with friends and family. Fabulous view of the ocean, probably the best beach in Sri Lanka. No pool but has a hot tub. You actually do not need a pool as the sea is pretty calm. Staff does a super BBQ on the beach. Travel Tip - Close to historic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spadmaperuma
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have visited Joe's Bunaglow many many times with family and friends. We have always had the best of times at that place! The staff are friendly and efficient.. and the location is simply awesome.. the hot tub in the garden and the proximity to the beach is really cool... we go there at least once a year.. one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Feroze K
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Joe's Bungalow soon!! Many Thanks Joe's Bungalow

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at Joe's Bungalow in August 2013 and it was amazing! The Bungalow itself is a fabulous place to stay; superb location, extremely comfortable with views of the beach and ocean to die for. The staff were brilliant, they looked after us all so well during our stay, nothing was too much trouble, the food was lovely and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had a great holiday and I am pleased that our staff looked after you well. We look forward to seeing you again at Joe's Bungalow! Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Went here after a friends wedding in the capital..Just UNBELIEVABLE, such an amazing location over looking the ocean. The staff could not do enough to help, anything we wanted they sorted. I needed a new lens filter for my camara (I produce films) my colleaugue Helga from Sweden had lost it on a shoot) one of the staff drove all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duncan F
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful review. We are really happy to hear you had a good stay with us and that our staff attended to your needs promptly and efficiently. Should you return to Sri Lanka we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 km away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.6 km away
The Villa
The Villa
#48 of 131 in Unawatuna
66 reviews
0.7 km away
Kingfisher Hotel
Kingfisher Hotel
#7 of 131 in Unawatuna
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
SurfCity Guesthouse
SurfCity Guesthouse
#40 of 131 in Unawatuna
142 reviews
0.3 km away
La Veranda di Serena
La Veranda di Serena
#19 of 131 in Unawatuna
88 reviews
0.5 km away
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Joe's Bungalow is a privately owned beach bungalow with 4 double rooms in the main house and 2 seperate villas. The whole property can accomodate 12 people. Situated on Unawatuna the beach, the property has a large garden and jacuzzi for guests. No food is included in the room rate but we provide a cook who can prepare meals. Rates are $200 for the bungalow (4 double rooms) per night and $50 per villa per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Joe's Bungalow

Address: Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: $125 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Joe's Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joe`s Bungalow Hotel Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Joe's Bungalow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are sea-facing, but ask for an upstairs room in the main building if you want a nice little balcony with a lovely view!”
  • View from our balcony
  • View from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles PickyNomad, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are sea facing so guaranteed a view :)”
  • What a view
  • Relaxing Day
  • Beautiful Surprise
  • Wow!
 of 5 bubbles LauraC993, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ocean rooms have a great view!”
 of 5 bubbles 226louisea, 20 Nov 2013 | Read review
“All rooms good but the side facing the ocean probably best.”
 of 5 bubbles 433paulineh, 18 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Try the ground floor villa, or if in the main bungalow ask for one of the rooms on the beach side to avoid the worst of the road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles ettibob, 6 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay