We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Battlefields Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Battlefields Country Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Battlefields Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour and could so easily have been a 4 or 5 star but for the management. Rooms were good, fridge microwave TV etc, clean and tidy with daily room service. The grounds were great with a zebra, impala, ostrich etc kept in the field adjacent to the hotel. The huge let down... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Our room was basic but that should be expected in a location like this. The food is buffet style and is set out at 5pm, however they do not serve it until 7pm so it is sitting around for 2 hours before you can eat it. We dined for two nights and both nights the food was luke warm/cold. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi We thanks you for your comments. Our Dinner time are from 18h00, this will be looked into. As for the WIFI we do rely on various electronic equipment, which at times goes faulty. Apologies Dave O'Halloran More 

Travellers are raving about these Dundee hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2016

My Family enjoyed our stay at Battlefields Country Lodge in Dundee however our first night was extremely unpleasant.The lodge placed us in room 25 , a Silo , this room is close to a room for weddings and general venues for parties that the lodge holds.The noice carried on and on and my family could not sleep at all.I complained... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 621dwaynes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Our family of 5 truly received top class service with staff and managers ensuring we had a most memorable stay and Battlefields Country Lodge. Stunning facilities, Great food. Wonderful people. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank LeeSmiRSA
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind comments. We strive to make all our guest as comfortable as possible. Regards Dave O'Halloran More 

Sandton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

There was no water for most of the day. The room we were staying in had an insect problem so we had to be moved. There was a wedding party being held there and the music was blaring until 230am which kept the entire lodge up. The breakfast was lacking in variety and the rooms need a revamp. If you're... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShohanMoodley
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. As you know that the Dundee area has a huge water crises, one of our pump had gone down and had to be replace. There is always bottle water available. Unfortunately, we do have wedding and we do request the guest to keep the music down to after 11h00. Again... More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Only stayed at this hotel for one night while on an Exodus trip to South Africa. Stayed in room 27 which was on the ground level of an old grain silo. Nice comfortable bed and en suite wet room with shower. Had buffet for evening meal when we arrived but not overly impressed by selection on offer. Breakfast was also... More 

Helpful?
Thank cannytraveller2008
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your Kind Comments, yes the Lab. is a bit of a scrounger, but guest enjoy him Regards Dave O'Halloran More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We attended a family wedding in Dundee. The room was clean and comfortable. The service we received from Buyi and the gentleman on duty sat afternoon 13 August was fantastic. He was extremely pleasant and helpful and an asset to the Lodge. Loved you Labrador.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gailf572
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Your complements have been passed on to the staff concerned. Dave More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Visited this hotel in their winter season, and it was quiet. Only some of the facilities were open. My room was on the first floor and a good size. It can be used self-catering and had a fridge and microwave. The bed was very comfortable. The one negative was that the bathroom door was a concertina folding door - very... More 

Helpful?
Thank missdixon
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments. We are currently looking into replacing the Folding doors. Dave More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2016

This venue is amazing. The hospitality, the people and the food was top notch. This venue is certainly a child friendly place and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a relaxing family get away. Parents can relax and not worry about the kids who are happily running around chasing guinea fowl!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kerran Lee B
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind comments. Dave More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The lodge is an ideal location for a visit to the battlefields. However, the rooms are tired & ineed of some TLC to bring them up to standard. I.e. Bathroom door did not close, shower leaked into bathroom, lighting very poor. Those where the downside, food was good

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 338ricd
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments. This matter will be attended to immediately. Dave More 

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
4:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
0.0 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.0 km away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
80 reviews
0.0 km away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
478 reviews
0.0 km away
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
0.0 km away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
South Africa's Premier Battlefields, Conferencing,Wedding,Rugby Resort & Events Destination Battlefields Country Lodge is half way between Durban & Johannesburg and situated in the heartbeat of the well known historic Battlefields in KwaZulu Natal. Accommodation comprising of 70 air-conditioned, en-suite rooms surrounded by immaculate lawns, gardens & game. We are in close proximity to the famous battle sites Isandlwana, Rorke's Drift, Blood River monument and Talana Museum, rated as one of the best in South Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Battlefields Country Lodge

Address: Route 33 - Dundee to | Springfield Farm, Dundee 3000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Dundee
Price Range: $59 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefields Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Battlefields Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Battlefields Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Swansea, United Kingdom
Chester
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Battlefields Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get as close to reception as you can, if you want wi-fi in your room”
 of 5 bubbles dentiStockton, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As close to the restaurant as possible”
 of 5 bubbles Abrumar, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check fo Pte functions, if they cannot guarantee none during your stay do not go.”
 of 5 bubbles mikebY9228WP, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appear to be the same although some are on the first floor and only accessible by a steep staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles richarda17, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the silo rooms with their gorgeous views and got to enjoy their superior room(most comfortable and quiet)”
  • Silo Rooms
 of 5 bubbles LeeSmiRSA, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay