We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Start your review of Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast
 Click to rate
Jeddah
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You should cater more for golf players especially their breakfast. Paid for breakfast but couldn't have the breakfast due to early tee off. Host not prepared to assist with early breakfast. Tried calling but no answer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrmohammedmubarakb
Nelspruit
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A fantastic, homely destination owned and run by a fantastic hostess supported by extremely competent staff. A very knowledgeable and experienced hostess in respect of guided tours of the battlefields as well - an incredible experience not to be missed. This is the perfect base to explore and experience the well maintained and cared for battlefields and museums. Many thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

This is an excellent B&B with a gregarious owner and charming staff. I was made to feel very welcome, enjoyed divine home cooking and went on a wonderful tour of the battlefields. Elisabeth is very knowledgeable and friendly - her tour is a must do. You should stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic K
CHEZNOUSDUNDEE, Manager at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Good day Dominic, We are so please you enjoyed your stay with us and the Battlefields Tour Enjoy the rest of your journey through our beautiful country. Kind regards, Veronica

United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Booked here. Checked in to be greeted by rooms smelling of damp/smoking and/or animals. Checked out and lost our deposit- small price to pay. This is the first openly critical review of this type I have ever written so for the sake of clarity I am not a competitor or a serial complainer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamsonbill
CHEZNOUSDUNDEE, Owner at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are very sorry about your bad review. This is the first complaint of this nature in 17 years. We certainly have taken note and have sorted this out.. However, our pets are not allowed in the rooms. It seems that your wife and yourself were put off our establishment by our 2 lovely pets after saying that "no guest...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Our two night stay at Chez Nous B & B was a most memorable and pleasant experience. We were accommodated in the Madagascar Room, which was clean, comfortable and spacious. Our breakfasts and dinners were well prepared and delicious. The well manicured garden setting added to the peaceful and tranquil ambience of the location, with the WiFi accessibility being an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathyleong
CHEZNOUSDUNDEE, Guest Relations Manager at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Good day We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Chez Nous and we look forward to seeing you again. Please do keep in touch, Elisabeth loves people and would love to have you over again. Thank you for your excellent review, it is highly appreciated. Regards Chez Nous team

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Our stay at Chez Nous was very comfortable and the breakfast and dinner was excellent. Our host Eilzabeth Durham was also our guide for the tour. Her knowledge is immense and she has the ability to bring history alive with her words and descriptions. She made us very welcome and after only 2 days stay we felt like friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stelladyer477
CHEZNOUSDUNDEE, Owner at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I love to be an ambassador for South Africa through its amazing history. Yes my guests become friends. Merci beaucoup Elisabeth Durham

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in the B&B part, great rooms. On the first day, since we were a pretty late booking unfortunately the chef was off, so Elizabeth got us in a ready cooked meal and threw in some wine. The second night fillet steak as part of a three course meal. On the middle day we went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Amman, Jordan
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Loved this place. Elizabeth was a helpful and knowledgeable hostess, who gave no end of excellent advice. She's a qualified guide herself and thus really knows her stuff. Very close to Talana museum and the battlefields in the area, it was also very comfortable and reasonably priced too. Heartily recommended if you're thinking of staying in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chezcosy
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the self catering unit, Earl Grey and had a fantastic time. The accommodation is spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. Car parking is on-site despite the description on booking.com.......the whole site is very safe and secure. WiFi coverage was very good. Earl Grey has a lovely patio area and we BBQ'd each evening. Elisabeth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppyslane
CHEZNOUSDUNDEE, Owner at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

thank you so much for your great and detailed review. Our Chez Nous team from the cleaner to the cook work on a bonus system which changes the whole attitude and improve our service as a whole. It is my aim to make history come alive. thank you so much

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

If you want to visit the battle fields in SA take a break from the guide book and stay in Dundee. Fabtastic place to stay, beautiful rooms & lovely staff. Elizabeth the host is very knowledgeable about all the battle fields and it's location makes them all easy to reach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrislkeen

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (109)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.8 km away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
90 reviews
0.0 km away
Battlefields Country Lodge
0.1 km away
The Lapha B&B
The Lapha B&B
#2 of 13 in Dundee
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Tranquil Guest House
Tranquil Guest House
#5 of 13 in Dundee
46 reviews
4.3 km away
Sneezewood Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.8 km away
No photo provided
khaya4u
#7 of 13 in Dundee
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast is centrally situated in Dundee and easy to find. We offer self-catering facilities . Experience exceptional South African hospitality with French flair in Dundee. We provide B&B and Dinner on request, served with home baked bread and home grown organic vegetables.Our South African breakfast, with its FAMOUS FRENCH OMELETT, FRESH CROISSANTS AND CAPUCCINO COFFEE) will give you a great start to your day. With us, you will be treated like royalty. We have 11 well- appointed rooms with DSTV, coffee and tea facilities, iron and hair dryer are part of our 3 star graded services. Our comfortable self-catering facilities are fully equipped. BATTLEFIELD TOURS FROM IN HOUSE GUIDE. CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast

Address: 39 Tatham Street | Corner of Ryley and Tatham Street, Dundee 3000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Dundee
Price Range: $66 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family? Ask for the family unit- separate bedrooms and well appointed kitchen. Shower was very slippery, pop a towel on the floor!.”
roadcaptain-ulysses, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Certainly put thgis accommodation on your list”
patto46, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Please book larger rooms as the rooms we chose were minute.”
SunitaBoodram, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All of the rooms are well appointed and have different decors.”
Mimi48NewJersey, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the best room available and they will give it to you if available”
loopyflyer, 3 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5