We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Balavil Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 201: English reviews
Start your review of Balavil Hotel
 Click to rate
Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stay here every year to go snowboarding. nice clean rooms with access to the pool. the food really improved this year, breakfast was great and so was our set dinner, huge portions! great free wifi to. hotel bar always has the sport on and will stay open late, go in to the shinty bar if you fancy a change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at Balavil with my young children as a stopover on way home from Western Ross. The rooms are very comfortable, modern and cosy. The kids and I loved the pool; it is small but very clean with great showers. The food was lovely and so staff friendly. Excellent value for money as you don't often get access to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fearsome41
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely time we had in Newtonmore. The Balavil was perfect for our needs, a clean, comfortable and welcoming family run hotel with helpful staff. The food was good, the whisky even better and our daughter loved the swimming pool. Special thanks go to Fraser, Eddy and Bryony, they made our stay special by going the extra mile without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My family and I would come here at least once a year throughout my teens and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was lovely, the staff friendly and willing to help anyway they can, whilst the whole place just had a great atmosphere. P.S. I loved the tartan carpet!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RBell92
Tayside
Reviewed 11 February 2017

When we visited the hotel was very quiet. Good friendly service and value for money. Cody bar with WiFi that works, Nice relaxing stay and would recommend to others. Bedroom was warm, clean and looked after and even had a swim in their small pool which was nice and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ferryman1960
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed there from the 27th until the 2nd of January with Dodds of groom with number 1 driver and with his wife Louise a d the rest of the passengers from the bus and the food is very good there at the banavil hotel in Newton more in bonnie Scotland. From tom and Scott from prestwick

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
Karen C, Owner at Balavil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for asking the time to review the hotel. We loved having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Karen and Fraser

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here over the New Year. This is the fifth year that I have done this. The hotel is lovely. Clean, spacious rooms with everything you could need. The food is really delicious, a really good choice and all served promptly even though there were around 200 guests on Hogmanay. I think what sets this hotel apart though...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise H
Karen C, Owner at Balavil Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Louise, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We're so happy you joined us for new year and that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time. All the best for 2017 Karen and Fraser

Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

booked for 2 nights, hogmanay and new years day. the stay was enjoyable the room was a double which was a good size and ensuite with tv and tea/coffee making in it the food is excellent with the service likewise from nice friendly staff the lounge bar has a very good selection of whiskies only complaint is that there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grant m
Karen C, Owner at Balavil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We did put on food late afternoon for all the guests as part of the Hogmanay package, apologies you did not realise this was included. We don't do lunches in the hotel but there is a wide choice of places on...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner came to Scotland for a few days to relax and enjoy the snow , I found Balavil hotel at a good price and we went there. It's been such a good few days there , nice ,quiet , the staff it's so friendly and helpful, the food is good home cooked . We've used to pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andreeani2016
Karen C, Owner at Balavil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best for 2017. Fraser and Karen

Perth Scotland
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Didn't stay here Visited for drinks and meal, tried their home made pizza great My wife had the steak pie and it was lovely too Drinks reasonable for a hotel Nice lounge to sit in and 2 very attentive young men working behind the bar

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanaholic_9
Karen C, Owner at Balavil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Balavil Hotel. Delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 km away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
273 reviews
0.4 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
628 reviews
22.2 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
311 reviews
3.9 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
440 reviews
3.9 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Balavil Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Price Range: $106 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balavil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Balavil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balavil Sport Inverness
Balavil Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balavil Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bangor
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Balavil Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you want a good nights sleep don't get a room above the bar”
 of 5 bubbles gemmaw699, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My room was very comfortable,with a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles lindaeckman49, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel have road noise”
 of 5 bubbles westie93, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room 26 just by lift no stairs to climb overlooks front”
 of 5 bubbles mazer, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“best view front room”
 of 5 bubbles I6206IUjohnm, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5