We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Sunset Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Sunset Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Sunset Island Resort
 Click to rate
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

- facilities outdated, seems it is not taken care about the place well. It would be totally fine for half the price but for the price charged you’d expect something very better. - doors open/close very rough, lock hardly works at all, no hot water, toilet flush takes about 10 minutes to refill, window shade partly broken, mosquito net too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josete_2012
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We signed up for 4 people to scuba dive when booking and they only had equipment for 2. Service has been particularly poor. Internet not as advertised. Beautiful views. Secluded. Overpriced. Would not stay here again. Stay elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rybrown
58_traveller, Manager at Royal Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your Review. We take very seriously the comments (Good & Bad) from our Guests. We are absolutely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The situation with the Scuba Diving was out of our control as it was booked by external company, I believe all four of your party had the opportunity to do...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Woooww.. what a journey to this place. We were in Tonga, Feb-2017. and were keen to get to this island. We went to the wharf as per our previous booking, but we were disappointed when the boat person said that the sea is really rough that they wont be able to make a trip back to drop us. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hari4uever
58_traveller, Manager at Royal Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate and take seriously all guests comments. Yes it is the time when the sea can be rough. The security of our guests is very important and cannot take risks. Thank you for your understanding. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Royal Sunset Resort. I will pass on...

Reviewed 3 October 2016

We went for a day trip to Royal Sunset Island and it didn't disappoint. For the $70 top fee you get return boat transfer (approx. 30min each way) which takes in some nice views of the main land and takes you past some nice islands and through reefs. Once on the island you will only pay for drinks and additional...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chris M
58_traveller, Manager at Royal Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and thank you for your kind comments. We will pass it on to our Team. We are very proud of our Resort and want to share it with others. Malo

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 September 2016

This resort was exactly as I expected except for the very small numbers staying here. It is truly a hidden getaway from the hustle of modern living, where you can relax and unwind. Our fale was charming and exactly what I expected from the reviews on trip advisor and it was right on the beach. We had No 9, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise J
58_traveller, Manager at Royal Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the Time to review our Little Resort. We are listening to all constructive comments and will strive to improve. We will pass on the comments to our Team. We have received our New Generator and Few Other Equipment and Material. Thank you once again and Hope to see you once more to our Resort. Malo

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Idyllic looking place, nice fales by the beach. We were lucky enough to get a fale away from the noisy generator (it would have really sucked having accommodation close by I think) Rooms were clean enough and had a mosquito net over the bed.The service was friendly and the food although limited in choice was delicious. On weekends the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gembosch
58_traveller, Manager at Royal Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Very Much for taking your Time to review and comment on our Resort. We always appreciate all comments and we will pass on your comments to our Team. We will try to improve on some of our operational problems with some more training. Otherwise happy to report that we have a Brand New Generator and All in back...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I booked Royal Sunset having read the good and the bad reviews but wanted to stay somewhere in Tonga that was going to be quite and an authentic experience and this place is both. The whole eight nights we were there were an adventure from the first moment of our taxi ride with the doors masking taped up to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank owlesey
58_traveller, Manager at Royal Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your Constructive Comments and Review. Yes We try to improve our Service and Facilities. It is a constant maintenance and renovations. We are Happy to share the Authentic and Traditional Atmosphere of our Little Resort and Island way of Living. We will pass on your comments to all Concerned and will pass onto the Staff Team. It...

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

The resort is very rustic & could be so much better if owners spent a bit of cash in uo grading things. However overall it was totally awesome & the staff there are friendly & good value. Meals could have been better & rooms could have been cleaned better but hey it didn't phase me...when in Tonga go with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tess T
58_traveller, Manager at Royal Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very Much for your Constructive Comments. I can assure you that we spend quite a substansial amount of money for the Up-keeping and improvement of the resort. Unfortunately and Obviously it may be not noticeable enough to our guests. The resort is over 25 years old and shows it age. But we are trying to give our Guests...

Motueka, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My husband and I stayed ten days at this resort. The staff are wonderful and made us feel most welcome. Occupancy was low and one night we were the only guests, so the cook came to our fale and asked us what we would like for dinner. As a non swimmer I didn't snorkel but I did enjoy three trips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiZiggy
58_traveller, Manager at Royal Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Royal Sunset Island Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our Team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Malo

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This resort is by no means roughing it. All of your amenities are available including wifi at the pool and bar area. The staff are very friendly and as helpful as they can be. There are kayaks. Stand up paddle boards, snorkel equipment and even a wind surfer that you can take out from the activities shed. It looks as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Temikatae
58_traveller, Manager at Royal Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review and comment on our resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our Team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We...

391 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (205)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (137)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atata Island
9.3 km away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
231 reviews
23.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
163 reviews
11.9 km away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
165 reviews
10.7 km away
Fafa Island Resort
Fafa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fafa Island
402 reviews
0.0 km away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Sunset Island Resort is located on 'Atata Island. The resort features 18 beachfront fales, Polynesian Style Restaurant and Cocktail Bar with amazing views. It borders a fishing village where guests are welcome to experience the traditional culture. Scuba Diving, Game Fishing, Wind Surfing, Kayaks, Snorkeling boat trips are just some of what the activities the resort has to offer or do absolutely nothing. Come and enjoy the sun in this little bit of paradise. Resort has undergone Renovations with New Management and Service Upgrades. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Sunset Island Resort

Address: | Nuku'alofa, Atata Island, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Atata Island
Price Range: $109 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Sunset Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Royal Sunset Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sunset Island Hotel Tongatapu Island
Royal Sunset Island Tongatapu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Sunset Island Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Sunset Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Western side Fale 10, 11 12 looked good, less wind”
 of 5 bubbles 880LouiseJ, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Fale 12-14 right on the beach”
 of 5 bubbles 944fih, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with lots of sun and that could just be every one of them!”
 of 5 bubbles Spruytsrus, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the Western side are less windy, and a better beach. Rooms 9, 10, 11”
 of 5 bubbles Podloz, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms lookout to the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles 216lesleyl, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5