We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2016

This was a little cheaper than the others but it was about 10 min. Walk to town. It was motel style with parking, no food facilities on the road into town. It did the job. Clean and tidy.the bed was comfortable.

Thank Violet C
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Lovely motel chain. Clean and fully equipped. This one is at the edge of town but has great views. We stayed with our 2 young children (2 and 4) and the second bedroom was perfect for them. The spa bath was an unexpected bonus as was the satellite Tv.

Thank Belinda294
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

thanks for you great comments Look forward to seeing you next time

Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2016

A friendly welcome and a lovely clean room greeted us after a long and tiring journey. Bed was comfortable and at last we find a motel with a toaster in the room. Unfortunately due to a large fire and power outage it was quite late in the morning before we had our toast and coffee. As it was late afternoon...

Thank Narnee
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

thanks and yes the fire was a bit of a hassle but we managed to get through the day

Reviewed 11 March 2016

Good location, Clean and comfortable room , great for a short stay. Steve is a great host and couldn't be more helpful , he sorted out our booking for us gave lots of information on things to do locally, recommended restaurants etc made our onward bookings for the rest of our holiday and even put my washing in the dryer...

Thank HappyTraveller2008
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Cheers thanks for you great review and all part of the service we provide

Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Comfortable room with all the basic requirements. Ok, no facilities to create a three course meal, but breakfast and snacks could be prepared easily. Good location for the village and springs, about 1K stroll. Mine hosts were very friendly and helpful. ( thanks for bringing in my washing when it rained! ) They also provide free use of towels to...

Thank mikeymush
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

thanks for your great review

Reviewed 26 January 2016

Very basic room but was clean and bathroom was clean with fresh linen. Hotel situated just as you come into main town area, walking distance of about 20 mins maybe. Helpful man at front desk. Not much room to move around in.

Thank chivo37
Canowindra, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We were so disappointed with our stay. When paying $144 a night, you expect a certain level of accommodation. We had two single beds, and the room was very small. On booking the room through booking.com, I thought we had booked a Queen Studio however when we got to the motel they told us it was two single beds so...

Thank Dannielle J
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your your stay but please do not blame us for your mistake, you did book a twin studio and as we had no rooms available to shift you to as we had no vacancies, Also you never mentioned anything to us re your room being the wrong type. This is the notification we...

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Nice motel located about 1km to town and a short walk to bar/restaurant. Motelier was friendly & hospitable. Room was comfortable, nice and spacious. They also provide towels for the hot pools which is great. Strange thing was the fridge had been turned right down (must have been by the people before us) and it wasn't till a few hours...

Thank Nat A
Castle Hill, null, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 January 2016

This is our 4th or 5th stay in this motel. This motel is less than a minute from the bustling main centre of Hanmer Springs. It is on the main road in, but due to the slower traffic speed past the entrance - there is no noticeable traffic noise. We always choose this place because it is quiet away from...

Thank 88snowdragon
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Thanks again, great to see you again and we look forward to your next visit

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

And that's really important as our dogs go everywhere with us. Good standard all around and this one even has a tennis court and grassed area. Very comfortable and hosts very obliging. Towels to take to the hot pools are available from reception. Nothing to fault :)

Thank missliz2015
242StephenW, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback look forward to you coming to stay with us again

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (5)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.3 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
634 reviews
0.3 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
279 reviews
0.9 km away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#20 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Larchwood Motel
Larchwood Motel
#21 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
47 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
1.8 km away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#13 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs NZ has 16 studio units and 2 x 1 bedroom family units along with an onsite tennis court . We have great views of the local mountains and free onsite parking. We cater for wheel chair bound and mobility restricted guests with 2 Access Studios with parking outside the door. Easy 8-10 minute walk to the Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools and Spa and the Local Cafes and Bars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs

Address: Cnr of Main Road & Tarndale Place, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $114 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Hanmer Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no suggestions”
 of 5 bubbles Narnee, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Just be mindful of when you book to be sure you have booked the correct room. It's not that clear on booking.com”
 of 5 bubbles danniellej2014, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We always choose an upper story room if one is available.”
 of 5 bubbles 88snowdragon, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“if you want space go for a studio”
 of 5 bubbles Wayneaxe852, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Just ask the friendly staff”
 of 5 bubbles clairelskegg, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5