We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Larchwood Motel

TripAdvisorUSD 74*
View Deal
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 74*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Larchwood Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Start your review of Larchwood Motel
 Click to rate
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not the Hilton, if you are expecting top end accommodation, look elsewhere. That aside we were more than happy with it for the price. Decor was a bit dated, but our room was clean, tidy, warm and perfectly okay. Would happily come back and can't say I agree with the bad reviews.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FatBastardNZ
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewed 19 April 2017

I went through the reviews of tripadvisor after booking this place and I saw mixed reviews for this hotel, few reviews I read were bad. Since we didn't have much options left we kept our expectations low. When we took a turn for this motel, there was a small hoarding saying " Larchwood motel under new management", this relieved me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank varagunan
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Room cold and damp and small. No place in bathroom to put anything. Shower itself was good even if your feet were covered in water that didn't drain away. No wi fi worked. Overall disappointed, however was a cheaper place to stay and would be suitable for one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulandJudithBuck
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. The blockage of the shower drain has been cleared now. We provide free WIFI. If you have any problem in connecting to WIFI, please contact the office and we will certainly be happy to help you. All the problems with the WIFI we had up to now are that the customer did not read and...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The motel is at a very quiet location, plenty parking space, fully equipped kitchen facilities (hotplate, toaster, microwave …). Full standard SKY TV channels, everything appeared clean and well serviced. It is an easy walk to main facilities like restaurants and thermal pools. The room has its own independent and very adequate hot water service, the heater and electric blankets....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank limitedcom
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Expensive, poorly maintained, dirty. Bathroom was filthy, furniture was broken. I don't recommend it. Person in charge is full of excuses so no surprises that maintenance is not done. Shame really Hamner Springs is a nice place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hutton O
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

Previous customer broke the arm of a couch. We are in the process of selecting and purchasing a new set of couch. If this is an excuse, then, it is an excuse. I checked the cleanness of the bath-room, I could not find anything wrong apart from a few small marks on the wall the cleaner overlooked. I have asked...

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Don't recommend this one at all. We were charged before we saw the room and where shocked with its condition. Do not pay up front make sure you inspect the room first. When we asked for a refund we were refused and police were called.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jah o
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

You booked the room on March 15th and checked in at 3:50 pm March 16th, I showed you to your room and you are expressly happy with it. After over an hour, you came to the office and told us that you have changed your travel plan and need to leave earlier and want to have a refund. Although this...

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night 4 adults and 3 children. It was nice enough for our family and spacious. The kids shared the large queen bed and the elders the 2 single beds and my husband and I the queen bed upstairs. Everyone said they had a comfortable sleep apart from my husband and I. Our bed was really uncomfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pork C
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

I was traveling with my son and granddaughters. It's hard to find a property with units suitable for non-cohabiting adults plus children, this was what was available in Hanmer Springs. Good location, comfy beds, and has been quite a flash unit in its day. However, maintenance has not been carried out and it's getting a bit tatty. Broken arm on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BronwynCarlisle
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Off the main road and close to the entrance of Brooke Dawson park and Hanmer Heritage Forest with beautiful tracks for walking and biking, I like the quiet location of this motel. I stayed at a studio unit. The room was cosy and the price was good. I could see a lot of improvements were made of the place compared...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred X
New Zealand
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Stayed several times in self-contained studio units, everything about Larchwood is deteriorating, without airconditioning, uncared overgrown weedy garden and grounds(only attended to when asian friends from ChCh come for free accommo?), only lawns regularly by local Hanmer Springs person, (should employ local gardener, maintenance and tradespersons), very hard mattresses therefore uncomfy holiday sleep, good hot water supply with short plastic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shirleynz1

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 km away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
0.4 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
284 reviews
1.1 km away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
93 reviews
0.2 km away
Alpine Garden Motel
Alpine Garden Motel
#14 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
81 reviews
1.3 km away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#13 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Larchwood Motel

Address: 18 Bath Street | Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $93 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Larchwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Larchwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Larchwood Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A family room has a good budget.”
Teeeea, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The One Bedroom Units are OK, Studio Units are far too small and poorly maintained.”
MikeM241, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Quiet & comfortable”
Canadian_Traveler60, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Several choices of sizes of motel rooms plus economical self-contained studio units.”
Shirleynz1, 11 May 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here shop around”
easyastravller11, 4 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 74* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Agoda.com
Hotels.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates