We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rippinvale Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rippinvale Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 198: English reviews
Start your review of Rippinvale Retreat
 Click to rate
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent accomodation to get pampered! We had a very nice welcome, glass of wine with something to eat when we arrived. In the morning the breakfast was exceptional! Room was very clean en complete. Hosts were very nice. I even got a chance to ride one of the (free to use) mountainbikes on the local tracks. We would definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J S
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to review us. It is such a lovely time of year in Hanmer Springs and we are so pleased you took the bikes out and enjoyed the forest tracks on them. Breakfasts are our speciality, I think it's the best meal of the day ! We really enjoy bringing you something delicious fresh and often...

Kaiapoi
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights and were welcomed back like old friends. Very attentive to detail, absolutely beautiful breakfasts both days, a special place for rest and relaxation - this time even made use of the bikes provided. Thanks for spoiling us yet again !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZTravellerKaiapoi
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

It is always lovely to welcome returning guests and you are quite right it is like welcoming old friends back ! I hope you enjoyed making something yummy with the quinces, I am working my way through kilos picked the other day and giving away heaps as well ! Thanks for reviewing us Chris, Warm regards Helen

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rippinvale Retreat is a home away from home, and then some. We felt totally spoilt and were able to fully relax in a gorgeous location, and treated to warm, generous hospitality, one of the best breakfasts we've ever had, and to top it all a lap cat! (Lily clearly knows the suckers as soon as she sees them - it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C0ldWaterMusic
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

When our guests choose to stay at Rippinvale for a very special occasion we get a real buzz from making it as lovely as possible and especially memorable. Thankyou for giving us the opportunity to look after you both on your honeymoon and much love and best wishes for your future. Helen and John

Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were made thoroughly welcome by Helen and John; the pre dinner drinks, after dinner port and gourmet breakfasts were a real treat. Plus the gardens are wonderful. A truly perfect accommodation, which we would gladly recommend others to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Theresa for taking the time to review us. We really enjoyed meeting you both and sharing our special corner of NZ with you !

Reviewed 14 March 2017

Exceptionally friendly and helpful hosts. Provided a wonderful breakfast at the crack of dawn so that we could get to Picton on time for our Ferry booking. Very comfortable but some why out of the main town. Need to upgrade their TV system and provide a greater range of channels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Des M
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Des for your review. Just to clarify Rippinvale is a short 10/15 minute flat walk to the centre of the village which is 1.5 km or a 2 minute drive from Rippinvale. We are situated on the western boundary of the golf course and village. Our charm and appeal is that Rippinvale is away from the hustle,bustle and...

Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stayed four nights and Helen prepared four different breakfasts which were unique and delicious. The suites are spacious and the bed very comfortable. Our hosts were friendly, helpful and informative. I did feel that it was a little overpriced. We were also charged $30 for a bag of laundry. All in all it is a lovely retreat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Linda for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed the high standard of service you received and our delicious food, all prepared to meet your special dietary requirements and of course our lovely facilities, but we only wish you had raised the issue of your tariff while you were with us. Rippinvale belongs to a style of...

Reviewed 1 February 2017

Loved loved this place! We stayed here on the first two nights of our honeymoon which was nearly a year ago last Waitangi weekend. So warm and welcoming and the food was amazing. We would recommened this place as a oasis away from the hustle of the world where you can relax and enjoy each others company while being well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertEricaKT
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Robert and Erica Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We love hosting our guests on special occasions and wish you a very happy first anniversary ! Warm regards Helen

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017

I had prepaid at Rippinvale Retreat for 2 nights during a holiday in November 2016. Unfortunately my wife and I were in Kaikoura during the major earthquake and required evacuation via helicopter. We were not due to go to Rippinvale for a further 3 days and I called them immediately we were able to get communication. Despite being 3 days...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bgcourt
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

We were very sorry that you have had a disappointing time due to the earthquake. One we shared to a frightening degree. As I explained when you phoned, you had made your booking and pre paid via an online travel site. To that date we had not received any payment from them so we were unable to refund you immediately...

Malta
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

This place has the feel and individual attention of a cosy B&B, but the owners make you feel luxurious thanks to the wonderful styling of the place and the amazing food they prepare for you. It's a truly gorgeous corner of the world and I loved my brief stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Have just stayed two nights and Feel unable to say enough wonderful things about Rippenvale Retreat. Helen and John were the most gracious hosts and made us feel incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived. Our suite was impeccable. The breakfasts brought to our room were homemade and simply delicious as were the canapés and wine we had in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Balchanica

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.2 km away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
446 reviews
1.3 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
647 reviews
1.3 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Marchmont Gardens
Marchmont Gardens
#2 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
182 reviews
5.5 km away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
286 reviews
1.3 km away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very special New Zealand experience, offering fine boutique accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere. Our suites are private and semi contained set in a private courtyard. Tariff includes pre dinner wine and canapes,fabulous gourmet breakfast of the finest locally grown ans seasonal produce and full evening turn down with Port and chocolates.Use of all facillities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rippinvale Retreat

Address: 68 Rippingale Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $262 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rippinvale Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Rippinvale Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rippinvale Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are only two suites and both are private.”
LindaL831, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any! They are both great”
SamanthaM719, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ribbon wood Suite”
Hostee99, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There are only two rooms which are identical and each with a private outside eating area , and access to a hot tub”
Rtvet, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Both rooms are superb”
ozhelen63, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5