We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Suites
5 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
196
11
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
196
11
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helen john wonderful hosts glass of wine yogurt breakfast was delicious spa pool lovely touch a wonderful stay canapes accommodation hanmer nz wee unit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

After reading the very good reviews we had big expectations, especially about the breakfast. Unfortunately, is was a real disappointment, as all the food served to us was loaded with sugar (caramel slice cakes, jam, yogurt, cereal, even the fruit was in some kind of...More

Date of stay: March 2018
2  Thank Aklu
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale RetreatResponded 17 April 2018

Thankyou for your review however it was so strange that we really wondered if you had stayed at Rippinvale at all ! We certainly.don"t understand your comment.about a.lack of privacy due to no curtain in the bedroom...of course there are curtains in the bedroom..blackout curtains...More

Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Thank you Helen and John for your fantastic hospitality. We very much enjoyed meeting you both and your warmth and kindness absolutely made our stay. We felt so warmly welcomed and spoilt from start to finish. The bed is so very comfortable, a selection of...More

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Ang-Batt
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

We came to Hanmer Springs for a short getaway to relax, refresh and unwind. Rippinvale Retreat deliver all that and much more. The studio was comfortable and cozy, the bed was amazing, the breakfast fresh and superb and the garden and spa simply melted the...More

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank P2182EUpauls
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale RetreatResponded 25 February 2018

Thankyou so much for your lovely review. One of the fantastic things about this sort of business is that you meet such great people, You were an absolute pleasure to host ! Warm regards Helen and John

Reviewed 19 February 2018

A couple of weeks ago my boyfriend and I had the honour of staying at this accommodation! Helen and her husband are friendly and provided all the luxuries we could have possibly wanted for our first night in NZ! Would definitely stay here again! The...More

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank 414lol
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale RetreatResponded 25 February 2018

We are so happy that you chose this special little corner of NZ to start your holiday. That we were able to meet your expectations means a lot to us. Enjoy the rest of your journey ! Warm regards Helen and John

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night here. Helen was lovely and accommodating. The bed was super comfortable and the place left us feeling refreshed. Nice touch with canapes and wine before dinner. Breakfast was delicious and filling

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank LivM254
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale RetreatResponded 25 February 2018

Thankyou for tacking the time to review Rippinvale..we love hearing that you have left happy and recharged. We hope we are able to host you again ! Warm regards Helen and John

View more reviews
About
Description
A very special New Zealand experience, offering fine boutique accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere. Our suites are private and semi contained set in a private courtyard. Tariff includes pre dinner wine and More canapes,fabulous gourmet breakfast of the finest locally grown ans seasonal produce and full evening turn down with Port and chocolates.Use of all facillities. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room Service
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Tennis Court
Pool
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Number of rooms
2
Price range
USD 211 - USD 262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Number of rooms
2
Price range
USD 211 - USD 262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Photos
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 nearby hotels
Alpine Springs Motel
98 reviews
.52 km away
Chalets Motel
452 reviews
1.01 km away
Aspen Lodge Motel
161 reviews
1.05 km away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
151 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 39 nearby restaurants
MK Restaurant
287 reviews
1.23 km away
No.31 Restaurant & Bar
962 reviews
1.20 km away
Coriander's
488 reviews
1.25 km away
Mr Yunan
117 reviews
1.26 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 38 nearby attractions
Hanmer Springs Animal Park
103 reviews
.52 km away
A Maze N Golf
101 reviews
1.32 km away
Hurunui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
41 reviews
1.16 km away
Mountain View Massage & Wellness Retreat
220 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Rippinvale Retreat staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Let the owners know, if you do not like sweet food for breakfast"
Aklu
14 Apr. 2018
Read review
"Ground floor B&B suite in a beautiful garden setting. Conveniently located to DT Hammer Springs."
gordonbY6456PB
17 Dec. 2017
Read review
"If you are visiting Hanmer Springs you must stay"
daniellec135
27 Nov. 2017
Read review
"There are only two suites and both are private."
LindaL831
2 Dec. 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing