We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (5)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent93%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“helen john”(19 reviews)
“b b”(24 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Suites
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
196
11
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
196
11
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelen johnb bdelicious homemade breakfastexcellent hostsour honeymoonglass of winebeautiful propertyeach morningoutdoor spafour nightslovely touchcontinental breakfastthoroughly enjoyed our stayhome away from homea wonderful stayan easy walkstayed longer
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading the very good reviews we had big expectations, especially about the breakfast. Unfortunately, is was a real disappointment, as all the food served to us was loaded with sugar (caramel slice cakes, jam, yogurt, cereal, even the fruit was in some kind of...More

Thank Aklu
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale RetreatResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for your review however it was so strange that we really wondered if you had stayed at Rippinvale at all ! We certainly.don"t understand your comment.about a.lack of privacy due to no curtain in the bedroom...of course there are curtains in the bedroom..blackout curtains...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you Helen and John for your fantastic hospitality. We very much enjoyed meeting you both and your warmth and kindness absolutely made our stay. We felt so warmly welcomed and spoilt from start to finish. The bed is so very comfortable, a selection of...More

Thank Ang-Batt
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

We came to Hanmer Springs for a short getaway to relax, refresh and unwind. Rippinvale Retreat deliver all that and much more. The studio was comfortable and cozy, the bed was amazing, the breakfast fresh and superb and the garden and spa simply melted the...More

Thank Paul S
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale RetreatResponded 25 February 2018

Thankyou so much for your lovely review. One of the fantastic things about this sort of business is that you meet such great people, You were an absolute pleasure to host ! Warm regards Helen and John

Reviewed 19 February 2018

A couple of weeks ago my boyfriend and I had the honour of staying at this accommodation! Helen and her husband are friendly and provided all the luxuries we could have possibly wanted for our first night in NZ! Would definitely stay here again! The...More

Thank 414lol
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale RetreatResponded 25 February 2018

We are so happy that you chose this special little corner of NZ to start your holiday. That we were able to meet your expectations means a lot to us. Enjoy the rest of your journey ! Warm regards Helen and John

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night here. Helen was lovely and accommodating. The bed was super comfortable and the place left us feeling refreshed. Nice touch with canapes and wine before dinner. Breakfast was delicious and filling

Thank Liv M
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale RetreatResponded 25 February 2018

Thankyou for tacking the time to review Rippinvale..we love hearing that you have left happy and recharged. We hope we are able to host you again ! Warm regards Helen and John

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
See all 21 hotels in Hanmer SpringsSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room Service
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room Service
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Hot Tub
Spa
Tennis Court
Details
Price range
USD 203 - USD 256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
USD 203 - USD 256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (5)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Rippinvale Retreat staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Let the owners know, if you do not like sweet food for breakfast"
Read review
"Ground floor B&B suite in a beautiful garden setting. Conveniently located to DT Hammer Springs."
Read review
"If you are visiting Hanmer Springs you must stay"
Read review
"There are only two suites and both are private."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing