We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 20 September 2016

It was bliss to come back to The Loft after a long wet day rowing on Karapiro. The Loft had everything you could possibly need and more including a fantastic continental breakfast (i'll definitely be attempting to make that muesli and the lemon curd was to die for!), diverse selection of movies, wonderful collection of bathroom products and a comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nzberny
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review of your stay in The Loft. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed the muesli and have hopefully made some for yourselves! If you need the recipe again it is available as a print-out on the Sundry page of our website. I hope we see you again - warmest regards, Robyn.

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Hosts warm and welcoming. Fabulous location. Room and en suite spotlessly clean. comfortable bed and linen. Loved all the little personal touches that made our stay lovely. Very nice continental breakfast provided in room. We have travelled a lot overseas and in NZ and this is up there on all accounts..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review of your stay in THE STALL and of course for choosing Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation. Warmest wishes, Robyn

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed one night in 'The Stall' on our way back to Auckland for a flight home. Perfect overnight stay. The room was exactly as described (plus lots of unexpected extras - treats, breakfast items, lavender bath products, even the kettle had been filled by our thoughtful host!). Room spotless, bed very comfy, lovely bathroom that was much larger than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kingyoz
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review of The Stall. We are so glad the room met expectations and that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope you will return in the near future (perhaps treat yourselves to a night or two in one of the luxury stables)! Warmest regards to you both - Robyn, Andy and Eden.

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

This was a lovely little retreat in the small town of Cambridge. We were a little taken back by the information we read on booking.com as it stated all units had tvs etc, yet ours, the Stall did not. This however wasn't all that bad, as it did provide a get away from it all, and did encourage us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James T
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We advertise clearly on all sites that The Stall is a basic guest-room, does not have a television, & that the room is intended for those guests simply needing a bed & shower for the night. Most of our guests have welcomed not having a television as it means they...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Beautiful setting and very friendly host. Unfortunately we weren't staying long or able to spend much time at the accommodation so the Stall room was great for us. It's a very comfortable room with everything you need for a comfortable stay including quality toiletries, tea and coffee making supplies, OJ & treats. Plenty of glasses and a fridge allow for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norajlewis
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review

We truly appreciate this lovely review & are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in The Stall. We hope you will come back this way again - many thanks again - Robyn & Andy.

Texas
Reviewed 6 June 2016

After reading wonderful reviews of Huntington Stables, we booked the North Stable room for three nights in early June. We were traveling to the area for a wedding and some sightseeing, so we wanted a location that was centrally located. Our host, Robyn, was ready to greet us when we arrived. We were shown to our room, spacious spotlessly clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lastingshu
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The North Stable is a beautiful room & is definitely my favourite! See you again - Robyn

Cannes, France
Reviewed 13 May 2016

We spent two weeks in New Zealand and it was all wonderful, but Hunting Stables Retreat was my FAVORITE place we stayed! The owner met us as we pulled onto the property. She had opened all the doors and windows of our suite to the fresh air and had French jazz playing on the sound system to greet us. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AprilD469
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review

Oh my gosh - thank you so much for this wonderful review of your stay here. Hopefully you can come back this way again & stay a little longer. Warmest wishes to you both - Robyn, Andy & Eden

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The grounds and rooms are absolutely beautiful and the owners could not be more accommodating. They drove us into town, made homemade snacks, let us hang with their dog, etc. If you are traveling in the area, I highly recommend staying here - we'd go back in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkfowler7
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review & for choosing Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation as part of your honeymoon holiday. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay & that Wally (the collie) added to the experience! All the best to you both - Robyn & Wally

Bawtry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2016

We only stayed the one night at Huntington Stables Retreat in March. We stayed in Loft which was very well appointed everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Robyn was an excellent host, booking dinner and then offering to take us if we wanted to have a drink. Breakfast was continental in your room but plenty of choice. Little thoughtful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim G
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in The Loft. Many thanks to both of you - Robyn & Andy

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We had a fantastic five day stay at Huntington Stables during March 2016, staying in the North Stable. The location is delightful. The quality and high standard of the accommodation is superb. Robyn, Andy and Eden are the most wonderful hosts who totally spoiled us and made our stay very special. The garden and pool area make for a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManWithSuitcase900
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review

Many thanks to both of you for this wonderful review of your stay here. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the North Stable & your time here in the Waikato. It was truly wonderul meeting you both & hope that you will head back this way soon. Reburbishment to the pool & surrounds starts in...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (113)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
4.5 km away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
7.2 km away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#2 of 30 in Cambridge
123 reviews
4.7 km away
Sarnia Park Boutique Lodge
Sarnia Park Boutique Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambridge
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Grosvenor House B&B
Grosvenor House B&B
#1 of 30 in Cambridge
47 reviews
21.5 km away
Argent Motor Lodge
Argent Motor Lodge
#1 of 64 in Hamilton
665 reviews
27.0 km away
Okoroire Hot Springs Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer four options for accommodation here at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, Cambridge, consisting of the North Stable, South Stable, Loft, & Stall. Both Stables are self-contained luxury lodges, that comprise of a fully equipped kitchen, spacious lounge & dining area, beautiful bedroom, & a luxurious bathroom - all kept warm & toasty with brand new heat pumps French doors off the bedroom & the lounge open out onto a large private deck - the perfect spot for a glass of wine while taking in the stunning views of the surrounding hills. The pool complex is directly out the front Stable door & includes a large tiled swimming pool & a bubbling hot Jacuzzi. A few feet away is the wonderful sauna room. The Stables are tastefully furnished with many individual touches to make your stay a memorable one. The Loft is a compact studio, not as 'luxurious' as the Stables but still very warm & comfortable. It consists of a Queen bed, bathroom, living area, dining area, kitchenette, & balcony to enjoy the views. The Stall is a guest room attached to the main house & is ideal for those simply needing a bed & shower for the evening. Huntington Stables provides the perfect setting for a romantic or special occasion: honeymoon, anniversary, birthday celebration, or purely to relax & re-energise. The quiet setting also makes it the ideal retreat for writers & other artists! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation

Address: 106 Maungakawa Road | RD 4, Cambridge 3496, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Price Range: $137 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The North and South Stables are divine!”
 of 5 bubbles 37brookem, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This is a quiet and peaceful location with lovely views over farmland.”
 of 5 bubbles leoneb693, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I highly recommend staying in the "North Stable" room”
 of 5 bubbles 7shazza, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Stall is the smallest of the rooms but the price reflects this and it is more than enough room for an overnight stay for two.”
 of 5 bubbles Kingyoz, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We loved the North Stable room with gorgeous claw foot tub and comfy bed.”
 of 5 bubbles lastingshu, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5