We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Earthstead Villas

Hotels.comUSD 101*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Earthstead Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Start your review of Earthstead Villas
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fantastic stay in our own little mud brick house with all the modern conveniences. Beautifully designed villas with attention to detail, from the unusual flooring to the ultra modern bathroom. Perfect for a getaway from the hustle but only a 5 minute drive to the town of Cambridge. Only around 25 min drive to Hobbiton, for those interested in where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeisaD36
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

I loved this place! We only stayed for one night in the French Studio and wish we could have stayed longer. It was so cute and well decorated and clean. Also the bathrooms had heated floors which was amazing! Our hosts were so friendly and nice!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeaneal G
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this review

Hello, I'm over the moon that you had a good stay and enjoyed the lovely French Studio. We love to create spaces which work for guests, and are beautiful and welcoming. Thanks so much for your review, I appreciate that you took the time.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We booked this accommodation through a sale website "last minute". All of the photo shown on this site lead us to believe that we would be staying in the Earth villa which would have been prefect for our big group of 3 adults, 2 children and 1 infant as there would have been space for all of us as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Savana R
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was unfortunate you booked Read House in error online, when you wanted to book the Earth House. We tried our best to help when you called once you arrived and realised your mistake. Unfortunately we were unable to offer you the Earth House as there were other guests in...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stayed one night at READ house, which is small and beautiful. Very comfortable and peaceful. Outside and inside is Yin and Yang. We stayed another two nights at Earth House. So spacious and well decorated. The house has strong Earth "energy" with "eco" touch. Free WIFI is a plus. Alistair and Susie were friendly and welcoming. The sustainable concept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kassoon
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Alistair enjoyed the lovely chats he had with you both about life in Thailand. Hope your children enjoy their time in NZ, kindest regards, Alistair and Suzie

Reviewed 22 February 2017

We selected these accommodations based upon price, location, and appearance of clean rooms online. We were absolutely delighted to drive up to a small farm surrounding by orange and lemon trees with livestock and chickens on site. The homes are compact but comfortable and with very endearing designs. It was not crowded when we were there, so the owner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lopeti_Fekasoni
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this review

thank you for your lovely review. So nice you noticed our fruit trees. We have been planting native and edible trees for the past 10 years and are beginning to harvest some amazing fruit. Meeting you was a pleasure, wishing you all the very best, Suzie Osmond

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We were very impressed with the accommodation at Earthstead. Suzie was very friendly and welcoming. The accommodation was well-appointed with high quality fittings and extremely comfortable beds. We chose the optional breakfasts and were delighted - absolutely delicious (see the picture) and delivered to the deck.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan B
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We loved meeting you and wish you all the very best. We are passionate about serving our guests delicious and nutritious food for breakfast, and to get this feed back has really made our day. Thank you!

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Buyer beware - it is advertised as B 'n B and on TripAdvisor it states Free Breakfast yet on arrival we were advised it was an additional cost. Lovely setting and touches with 'milk from their cow' and fresh flowers decorations however not great value for a couple for one night when compared to other luxury accommodation we've enjoyed around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margot M
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry we disappointed you regarding breakfast. We were unaware of the incorrect information on the Trip Advisor listing until you pointed it out to us, so thank you for your sharp eyes. We hope you will take us up on our offer to serve you our delicious breakfast...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We stayed for 3 days at the wonderful Earthstead Villas. Alistair and Suzie were so lovely and welcoming. The delicious breakfasts had my children licking off their plates, they were so good. We also had lovely eggs from the farm's chickens and milk from the cows too. The accommodation at Cob Cottage was cosy but spacious. The beds were extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaz M
EarthsteadVillas, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. So glad the Cob Cottage was to your liking, we certainly enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family. Wishing you all the very best, Suzie Osmond

Bruichladdich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We stayed here for one night. The room was the art studio and it really had the wow factor. Beautifully decorated and furnished. Fabulous shower with heated flooring. Set in an idealic surroundings amongst stunning countryside. The owners are very welcoming and breakfast bought to you in bed(!) fabulous bircher muesli and a home made sour bread. You do need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
EarthsteadVillas, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We love hosting and go the extra mile to ensure a comfortable stay for our guests, so getting your feed back has made our day. Thank you! Suzie and Alistair

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We recently stayed at the Earth House on a trip around the North Island and out of all the places we stayed this was, without a doubt, the best property. The attention to detail was outstanding. The kitchen was well equipped, the beds were ultra comfortable as was the lounge and outdoor area. We wished we could have stayed longer,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 50wainbody
EarthsteadVillas, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we appreciate that you took the time. So glad you enjoyed the Earth House. Our aim is to please our guests, and reviews like yours make our work worthwhile. Kindest regards, Suzie Osmond

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.2 km away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
7.2 km away
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
3.9 km away
Grosvenor House B&B
Grosvenor House B&B
#1 of 29 in Cambridge
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Blairgowrie House
Blairgowrie House
#3 of 29 in Cambridge
87 reviews
4.4 km away
Sarnia Park Boutique Lodge
Sarnia Park Boutique Lodge
#4 of 13 in Cambridge
48 reviews
3.1 km away
Cambridge Mews
Cambridge Mews
#2 of 8 in Cambridge
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are looking for luxury accommodation that is close to Hobbiton and Waitomo Caves, we have a little piece of paradise waiting for you. Our accommodations are at two sites, both very close to the lovely town of Cambridge. The Earth House, Cob Cottage, French Studio, Read House and our Glamping on-site campervan, are situated on 3ha (7 acres) of prime organic farmland, 4 km from Cambridge and are surrounded by native trees, fruit trees and vegetable gardens. You can even request to view Alistair milking our serene jersey house cows and taste milk directly from the cow. We serve this raw milk in each of the accommodations situated at Earthstead. A delicious breakfast of organic goodness can be ordered for an extra cost at time of booking when you stay on the Earthstead site. For those guests who want to be a little closer to the restaurants and boutique shopping in Cambridge (20,000 people), our Cambridge River House is situated just 3 min walk from the main street. Breakfast is not available to guests who stay at Cambridge River House. All these accommodation options are centrally located for day visits to : Hobbiton, Waitomo Caves, Hamilton Gardens, Sanctuary Mountain, Rotorua, Lake Taupo, Coromandel, Auckland, Raglan, Tauranga, Ski Fields Ruapehu & much more! They each have access to private gardens, free wifi and free parking. The accommodations are serviced daily, except Read House and Cambridge River House, which are serviced weekly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Earthstead Villas

Address: 3635 Cambridge Road | Monavale, RD3, Cambridge 3495, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Price Range: $107 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Earthstead Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Earthstead Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Earthstead Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read House is surrounded by open paddock so there was a lot of mosquitoes, I recommed packing insect repellent or keeping the door closed.”
SavanaR_12, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were not there during a busy season, so the room rates may likely vary.”
Lopeti_Fekasoni, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You can't make a bad choice, all rooms a great. Pricing is mid range but you get luxury.”
TheGryffon, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Depends on your needs but Cobb Cottage is a true cottage with full kitchen and all the facilities you could wish for.”
100DavidB, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“Cobb Cottage is the largest, but Earth Cottage has laundry attached”
vidhyarprakash, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 101* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 104
Expedia.comUSD 101
TravelocityUSD 101
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates