We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakwood Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Oakwood Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 374: English reviews
Whitby, Ontario
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Received a call tonight advising that price for my upcoming reservation (booked in October) has gone up. Not impressed they "claim" they had a computer glitch and my rate would be going up $20/night. Very poor customer service. If you had a computer glitch then that's YOUR issue and YOUR cost of running a business. Will NOT recommend this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank micsar
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was a great place to stay at. Had a beautiful golf course, indoor pool, dry sauna, mini indoor hot tub and a larger outdoor hot tub. Our room had an indoor Jacuzzi tub. Nice and spacious with a microwave, mini bar fridge, sink and sitting area with the bed in a separate section. The breakfast was alright but the meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lbubbles2011
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked Cottage 80 for two nights, left after one. It was dingy, had waterstained ceilings and far too many spiders in the bathroom. We booked online for 5 people and understood buffet breakfast was included (and for the price it should be). They only gave us tickets for 2 adult breakfasts and when we asked about it they apologized that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback is quite timely as we are currently looking at options for renovations in Cottage 80 and hope to have these started in the near future.

Fonthill, Canada
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

I recently visited this resort, overall everything was good. I enjoyed the rustic theme of the resort. The rooms were clean and furnished appropriately. The food was great and the front desk staff was very nice and helpful! The only downgrades were the hot tub was dirty, the waitress for the breakfast in the morning was no where to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mackinleymauro
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Blenheim, Canada
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We rented 3 rooms for a wedding, for 2 nights. When we arrived, our room had no hydro, and smelled extremely musty. Thank goodness I always take room spray to hotels. Our patio door was unlocked and one of the beds looked slept in. Eventually we got hydro to the room, and realized the bathroom had not been cleaned very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenkens6646
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, we always try our best to accommodate all guests on the Resort whether they are with a wedding, corporate group or simply visting on their own as a family regardless of how much they are ultimately paying we strive to treat all our guests the same.

stratford, ontario
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We love this inn as we had our wedding reception here but our last stay this past weekend was disappointing. We requested a room in the Pine Lodge (with the pool) because we have little kids but upon entering the room, we felt the beds looked slept in. The sheets were a wrinkled mess and barely on (too small for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jesssmart
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, we are currently undergoing a full review of all areas of the Resort as we are planning improvements to many areas. Work has already begun in the pooland your feedback is important as it will help us identify other areas to focus on.

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We were shown a room in the main building at booking with fireplace, think comfy beds. We booked two rooms. One for us and one for our kids. Needless to say, we didn't get the room with the big comfy beds, our.kids thought they were amazing to sleep on. Our actual room was not close. We stayed I'm the Pine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we will be sure to share your feedback with our senior and department managers so we can identify areas where we can improve.

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Spent a weekend at the Oakwood resort & it was well worth the travel from Toronto. We stayed in a room at the Oak Lodge which had a nice, private balcony overlooking the golf course. The room was a decent size with a king size bed (very comfortable), corner fireplace & sofa. Even though there was a wedding on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilynn B
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed in the Pine Lodge building...rooms were a good size as well as bathrooms...indoor swimming pool and hot tubs just across so great for the kids to continue their water experience from the beach...we always have lunch on the main street followed by ice cream and a walk back to our private beach which is great....then we walk up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George K
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate the feedback regarding your food and beverage experiences as that is an area where we are really focusing to bring improvements to, next year we will be sure to wow you!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 October 2016

My husband and mother-in-law and I stayed mid week in September. Upon arrival check in was fast with the receptionist .. customer service was good. At that point we decided to upgrade our room to the Pine Lodge... where the pool , gym, spa and hot tub were so we can have easy access to them. The room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vijai B
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing our winter projects and some updates to Pine Lodge are certrainly on that list. We do hope we have a chance to host you again in the future so we can show you the improvements.

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
12.0 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
60 reviews
0.0 km away
Carriage Ridge Resort
Carriage Ridge Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
340 reviews
1.5 km away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#6 of 8 in Grand Bend
16 reviews
16.9 km away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
13 reviews
40.1 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Price Range: $131 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oakwood Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Littlefork, Minnesota
over a year ago
Littlefork, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Oakwood Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else :)”
 of 5 bubbles X7192LGaudreym, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in Pine Lodge are dated and beds are old. Request the Oak Lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles jesssmart, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I personally like the cabins/cottages but usually they are booked far ahead.”
 of 5 bubbles georgekM2626SU, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay at pine lodge if you're going to use hotel amenities. That way you don't have to walk far to get back to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles vijaib, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“request a balcony room facing the golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles 736sethn, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay