We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oakwood Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oakwood Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 385: English reviews
Start your review of Oakwood Resort
 Click to rate
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is our 4th year holding an annual Hindu spiritual retreat at the Oakwood, and every year the expectations of 120+ people are exceeded. The staff accommodate every single need we have from very specific food/beverage needs to AV/Sound needs. They allow us to be independent and are very flexible with last minute changes/requests. We look forward to continuing our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SheelaG1
London, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I went to this resort to celebrate her birthday. When we got to the room it was freezing cold. I have just read a previous review with the same comment in which the manager replied that staff would turn up the heat before guests arrived. Either the direction was never given or the staff were allowed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank william635
London, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After receiving an email from the Oakwood Inn inviting us to participate in a fun-filled family day weekend we decided to book a getaway for our family. The promotion advertised numerous activities appealing to families such as snow golf, hot chocolate bar, ice skating, etc. Upon arriving we were disappointed from the onset with the reception/front desk staff's lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debbie C
OakwoodResort, General Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments about your visit to our Resort. We consider your feedback to be very valuable and want you to know that your concerns have been brought to the attention of our management team so that they may be addressed for future events. For the clarification of your safety concern, I would...

Bayfield, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were invited by management to give them a second chance for us to partake of a Valentine's Dinner.As we entered the Oakwood Dining we were warmly greeted by the hostess and seated at a table for two decorated with candles and roses and overlooking the view of a beautiful sunset over Lake Huron.Our vivacious server Stephanie took our orders...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bill S
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are so happy we were able to connect and have you in for our Valentine's Dinner on February 18th, and that it was such a great experience per you! We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Madoc, Canada
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We stayed at Oakwood for a hockey tournament in January of 2017. Our team has stayed here many, many times over the years. This time we were separated as a team, we were not near each other at all, all in different buildings, this makes for very poor team building. Two families were given breakfast coupons but the rest of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heather19672017
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review, we always try our best to keep teams together however when we are very busy and you are one of the last teams to book it can make this more difficult. It was unfortunate with the breakfast vouchers, however one person on your team originally had an upgrade book which...

Brantford, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Great resort, we went for New Years! Beautiful grounds, went for a walk on the beach, children were Tobaganing, skating, adults were relaxed. Great New Years brunch, not just for golfing in summer, had a real rustic feel❤Staff were excellent. Thanks for a great mini Getaway😃

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for yor review, we're glad you enjoyed your mini-getaway with us and we hope to ave a chance to host you again soon.

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Stayed for one night NYE 2016 - First time staying here - The hotel is pretty large, with a few separate wings - not attached to the main entrance. We stayed in the wing that had the pool and sauna - Kids loved the pool!! The rooms are a bit dated but very clean - I believe they are upgrading...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob S
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay.

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My wife and I spent NYE at the Oakwood resort in a Jacuzzi room. We had no hot water for a shower after being in the hot tub. The outside hot tub wasn't open and the main doors didn't lock on our building. For the price we paid for the room it wasn't a good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernie V
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, I will forward your concerns to our Maintenance Manager so they can review and ensure these issues are addressed.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Very nice location and because it was Christmas, they went out of their way to ensure they could accommodate us. All we needed was beds to sleep in (heavenly) however they did call me twice to ask our needs and to let me know what would and would not be open. Great spot, beautiful location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberta R
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreicate the great feedback.

Toronto
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We had a great stay over the long weekend. We haven't been back to Grand Bend in a long time and really enjoyed our stay. The private beach was great and a short walk. Oakwood is a quick drive to the main street, so we ended up driving into town for breakfast in the mornings. We would go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TorontoRam
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreicate you choosing Oakwood for your stay in Grand Bend and look forward to having you back again!

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
12.0 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
61 reviews
16.9 km away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
13 reviews
40.1 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Brentwood on the Beach
28.1 km away
Bayfield River Cottage Colony
22.2 km away
The Gregory Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Price Range: $104 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oakwood Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Littlefork, Minnesota
over a year ago
Littlefork, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Oakwood Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else :)”
 of 5 bubbles X7192LGaudreym, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in Pine Lodge are dated and beds are old. Request the Oak Lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles jesssmart, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I personally like the cabins/cottages but usually they are booked far ahead.”
 of 5 bubbles georgekM2626SU, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay at pine lodge if you're going to use hotel amenities. That way you don't have to walk far to get back to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles vijaib, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“request a balcony room facing the golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles 736sethn, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5