We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The beds were comfortable. However this is two motels that are separated by a four-lane highway......so you fall asleep to the loud sound of passing traffic. In the bathroom, there was a very old soiled facecloth rolled up in the little basket by the sink. The tub and grout around the tub looked like there had been a crime scene,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PoohGirl67
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear PoohGirl67, I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay. We are currently working diligently to renovate our property. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the near future. Kind regards, Thierry

West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Two visits........ so, double the bad service, double the bad experiences. After giving this business a second chance, we certainly won't ever darken their doorways again. As in our first year, we phoned, made our reservation MONTHS AHEAD, and again when we arrived, we were again told that we would not be staying in the Hearthstone Inn; we were given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobdawe2000
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear bobdawe, I would like to apologize for the confusion. The Hearthstone Inn actually consists of five individual buildings, one of which is the MacPuffin. Although we do have guestrooms in the building attached to registration, the majority of our guestrooms are located in other buildings on the property much like a resort setting. When a guest makes a reservation...

Finland
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This roadside motel was a pleasant surprise. Obviously reasonable pricing. But we got a clean and comfortable room which had basically nothing wrong with it. Bathroom was also clean, shower had good pressure and towels were white and clean. Wifi worked fine and even the noise from the busy road did not disturb. Our room was on the second row...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaatinen
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear Jaatinen, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback. We hope you have an opportunity to stay at another Hearthstone Inn in the near future. Kind regards, Thierry Surette

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel rooms weren't as 'modern' as some but were very clean. The employees were outstanding to all of our group (approximately 15) and the restaurant has delicious food at a very reasonable price. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Our stay was enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbie K
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Thierry Surette

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

The rooms were well kept and clean. If anything extra was needed the went out of their way to insure our stay was great. A group of us were doing back shifts and the made adjustments so that we were not disturbed thru the day. The meals were always hot the ladies attending to us always made us feel comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear Work Related, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Thierry Surette

Reviewed 28 September 2016

There is a little highway noise, but if you can manage to block it out, you will get a decent night's sleep. Don't bother using the exercise facilities--there are only 3 pieces of equipment--including a manual vintage stair stepper which broke while i was using it and the treadmill and bike power doesn't work and everything is rusty--really! no weights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear Laura B, Thank you for choosing the Hearthstone Inn, I do apologize that our fitness center did not meet your needs. For future reference, our pool lights operate on a sensor to conserve electricity and as soon as you enter the door the lights will come on for you. We do hope you have an opportunity to try our...

Reviewed 28 September 2016

It did what we needed to do. The room and bathroom were clean. The bed was comfy and cozy. We didn't need the A/C so i'm not sure if it worked. Nice view, as we had a room overlooking the causeway. The restaurant was convenient and the food was good. Small things: the coffee maker in the room was dusty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perry G
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear Perry G, I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure your next stay is even better. We are currently in the process of replacing all of our TV's with flat screens - only a few left to go. We have also replaced the fridge in your room with a new one after reading your review. Thank...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We booked two rooms and were pleasantly surprised with their cleanliness, arrangements, size, and condition. The price is reasonable considering it was peak season traveling, and a bare bones motel. We would not hesitate to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elle W
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear texaswood, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Thierry

Sydney Mines, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Staff were friendly. Room was just ok, nothing fancy. Needs a good cleaning. Headboards were dusty and the bathroom needed to be cleaned. Comfy bed though. Definitely needs work and some updates, breakfast included would be nice too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wmorrison443
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear wmorrison443, thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually improve the service we are offering to our guests. Kind regards, Thierry

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2016

I checked in to room 313 last night. first think I noticed was the outside light fixture was hanging by the electrical wiring. Walked in to a really stained dirty carpet, the toilet was full of iron stains, I found the bed and the pillows hard (others may not) making it difficult to get a good nights sleep. The windows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deek057
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review

Dear Deek057, I am sorry to hear you experienced multiple issues during your recent visit. We are currently working to replace all of our carpeting with laminate flooring and working diligently to battle the hard water staining that occurs at certain times of the year. We have also started the process to replace all of the AC units with heat...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
2.7 km away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
151 reviews
105.9 km away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
70.3 km away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
81.2 km away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
149 reviews
3.6 km away
Cove Motel
Cove Motel
#1 of 3 in Port Hastings
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Known as the jewel of Canada, Cape Breton Island is one of the world's most visited spots. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury, located at the entrance to the island, is the perfect place to start your adventure in this scenic Atlantic Canada masterpiece. Our newly-renovated hotel features 26 smoke-free guest rooms and a friendly staff dedicated to providing you a warm Maritime welcome. With tastefully decorated queen and king bed rooms featuring all the comforts of home, the Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury is the answer to your travelling needs. Enjoy the Convenience of Free Wi-Fi & Our On-Site Restaurant Whether you are taking the family on vacation or visiting on business, we offer a worry-free stay and a restful night's sleep. You will enjoy free Wi-Fi access, free in-room coffee, sleep-enhancing mattresses, complimentary morning newspaper and a range of other sought-after amenities. Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury boasts the added convenience of an on-site restaurant and lounge. If you are in town for a conference at the Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre or planning to check out some of the award-winning golf courses on the island, come home to the Hearthstone Inn. We will cater to your every need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury

Address: 388 Highway 4, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 1M5, Canada (Formerly known as the Port Hawkesbury Motel)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Price Range: $115 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“it would be quieter to have a room in the motel where the restaurant is but ask for one in the back.”
  • this was a
  • tub
  • bath tub
 of 5 bubbles PoohGirl67, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second row building on the hill further away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles Jaatinen, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“get a room all the way in the back. the rooms in front block the traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles laurabP4842AG, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the "back", as the view is of the causeway. Those in the front look out to the highway, and were probably noisey.”
 of 5 bubbles 882perryg, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraF388, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay