We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Marine Hotel

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Free Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
63Somewhat walkable
Grade: 63 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
7Attractionswithin 0.5 km
31Reviews
14Photos
0Q+A
5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 11
  • 6
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here for one night, had booked a single, but when I got there it was a twin, with a sea view. Hotel has obviously been refurbed recently, and was in very good order. Room was large, and well appointed. Shower could have been stronger, but still very usable. Staff
Read more
The fundamentals of this place are fine. It's clean, reasonably priced and a good location. I expect certain things of a room, mainly a place to relax and sleep. I achieved very little here. I anticipated a while relaxing before heading out. My single room was small with a
Read more
Response from MarineHotel1, Manager at The Marine Hotel
Responded 30 Oct. 2018
We are very sorry to hear about your uncomfortable experience. I am aware of the room which you are discussing and wish that you had voiced your concerns to reception and we would have done our best to accommodate you in another room (if available) or compensate your stay in some way. Unfortunately, another guest two days previous had damaged (dirtied) the mattress and we had no option but to dispose of it. As a result we had to order another mattress, however, due to our remote location, it took 10 days for the new mattress to arrive and in the mid term we had no option but to use the mattress which you slept (or didn't, as we have now learnt) on. We did expect it would not be of as much comfort, however the alternative was to cancel guests reservations, and knowing that the area was very busy with little alternatives for guests we decided not to do so. Again, I apologise that you experienced this discomfort. The mattress has been replaced since with a new one and should you decide to visit again, please accept our offer of a free nights stay, where we hope you have a better experience. Kind regards, Jacqueline
Read more
I stayed here for one night and while the room was ok the breakfast was terrible, it comprised of one rasher of bacon, one Tattie scone, one fried egg, half slice of Black pudding, half slice of haggis a couple of fried baby tomatoes and some mushrooms not exactly what I would
Read more
Response from MarineHotel1, Manager at The Marine Hotel
Responded 21 Oct. 2018
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your breakfast. Our breakfast menu states everything that is offered at breakfast (smoked salmon & eggs, bacon, sausage, haggis, black pudding, beans, eggs, mushrooms tattie scone, tomatoes, toast, choice of yoghurts and fresh fruit. Because we receive a lot back and from previous customer feedback we only put one half of black pudding and one half of haggis, however there is no limit to what anyone can have and we would have more than happily gave you more had you let us know you wanted more. Many guests ask more double of things and we always oblige. If you stay again in the future, please accept 10% off and we will be sure to supply double of all breakfast items for you ;)
Read more
We had an upstairs room with Sea views, the room was well furnished and it was a good size, heating was already on and waiting for us with a warm welcome. The reception staff was excellent with great advice on what to see in the area and on where to eat and even phoned to make a
Read more
Response from MarineHotel1, Manager at The Marine Hotel
Responded 21 Oct. 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. Please accept a 10% discount off any future stays. Just let us know at time of reservation your previous stays dates and we will add the 10% discount. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
From the moment we stepped through the door we knew we had picked the right hotel. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the Breakfast was amazing and filled us up for the day ahead. Angela the manager was very knowledgable about the area and so helpful and friendly, infact all
Read more
Response from MarineHotel1, Manager at The Marine Hotel
Responded 21 Oct. 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. Please accept a 10% discount off any future stays. Just let us know at time of reservation your previous stays dates and we will add the 10% discount. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementThe Marine Hotel
Double
Photo provided by managementThe Marine Hotel
Twin
Photo provided by managementThe Marine Hotel
Double
Photo provided by managementThe Marine Hotel
Family Room
"Sea view equals trains!"
"The View from the room"
"if you don't like a lot of stairs, let them know when you book"
"Have the breakfast!"
"We liked the ones overlooking the train station, but might not be to everyone's taste"
PRICE RANGE
USD 88 - USD 184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marine hotel mallaig
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandLochaberMallaig
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing