We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Red Lion Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Red Lion Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Huddersfiield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

New owners Greg and Krystle deserve some praise for their hard work since moving in. All the rooms have been refurbed and now they offer food, the food is worth a visit in itself. Very reasonable and extremely nice. Really friendly pub and always a welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
Krystle W, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Hey there Annie, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We pride ourselves on offering a relaxed and friendly ambience in a clean and welcoming venue. It's so great to see everyone enjoying our food, our Red's Little Italy on Wednesday's and Burger Nights on Thursdays are really starting to get a following. Thanks again for taking the time...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly owners made us feel very welcome during our brief stay. The room was clean, comfortable and cosy with conveniently located plug points and tea/coffee provided. Also has a lovely view of the surrounding area. The Red Lion Inn has recent new owners who have clearly made vast improvements in a short space of time, I recommend you ignore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zack H
Krystle W, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Zack, for taking the time to post this review. We love the Red Lion's central village location as well, out of every window is a beautiful scene of Holme Valley country side, the classic stone cottages of the area or the massive Mills with the Church spire reaching up over it all. We have definitely given a bit...

Castelsardo, Italy
Reviewed 21 October 2016

A traditional pub and B&B combination; great location. New owners mean rooms are now spotless (anyone who stayed before will know why I emphasise that) and breakfast a proper "yorkshire" serving. Give them your support!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter-in-Sardinia
Management response:

Hello Peter-in-Sardinia, thank you for taking the time to review our new Inn and with such wonderful feedback. We have indeed been working hard to make our rooms as clean and comfortable as they are today and it is with pure delight that we see them being enjoyed. We hope the rest of your trip was lovely and that long...

All around the world!
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I stayed here for one night for the folk festival and booked very last minute so was just glad to find a space. The bed sheets were clean and there was tea and coffee which were positives. Everything else was pretty awful! The bin hadn't even been emptied from the previous guest, the kettle hadn't been emptied either. The shower...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NorweignWood
Red_Lion_Inn_hd9, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

At last , a review to respond to after I have closed the business :). I too have stayed in cheaper places however they were not in or near Holmfirth and that is where you wanted to be. Cheapest B&B within 5 miles of Holmfirth! Probably why I had to close the business. Read other reviews, read responses... you want...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2016

First to all the people who have complained you get what you pay for in life and this is what you get at the red lion no frills. breakfast is available if you book it the land lord is welcoming and so are the locals like he says in is responses prices would have to rise to make improvements at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aghh_13
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

This place does not pretend to be grand. It is a traditional pub that has rooms and caters for people without silver spoons in their mouths or other ideas of grandeur! The rooms are functional and clean. If you order breakfast when you book you wont be disappointed its a hearty plate full. Approximately 2.5miles outside the centre of Holmfirth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PlanetHopper1
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016

this b&b is awful do not go!!!! on arrival we were told there was no breakfast as he didn't have anything in the room was basic bed was lumpy en suite was a pokey there were no towels had to ask for some the bin hadn't been emptied . there was a strong smell of mould in the air do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Red_Lion_Inn_hd9, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

hank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and your comments regarding the bin and towels have been taken on board although I did personally apologise and explain the lack of towels during your stay with us, if I had not thought you would be better in the...

Holbrook
Reviewed 4 April 2016

I would recommend staying at this place only if you were homeless. The young lass serving behind the bar showed me up to my room, after having asked me to pay beforehand, but gave me the keys outside the room - no doubt out of embarassment. It's a complete dump. I paid £42.50 for a room sharing a bathroom -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BEDACC_John
Red_Lion_Inn_hd9, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to leave your opinion. I am somewhat baffled by the content of your review as you seem to have no specific complaint regarding the accommodation. You have mentioned that you had to 'pay on arrival', the exact wording of the email you received from booking.com, this is also where you found the price you quoted,...

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

I would rather sleep in my van. I paid extra for an en suite room, the description said private bathroom with shower/tub combination, what I got was a cupboard containing a shower, toilet and a tiny corner basin just large enough to wash your hands. Parking is on the road, a main road with fast traffic and on a bend....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
Red_Lion_Inn_hd9, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Much as guest comments are always appreciated we would prefer them to reflect reality and not the opinion of somebody that was in their room for ten minutes. On your departure our online advertising was checked and it was confirmed that we do not have a food offering in the evening and parking is roadside. The pub itself is within...

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Booked for one night after a gig in holmefirth, room was ensuite, shower cubicle was grotty, the room dingy and old fashioned but not in a good way. The whole place was grim. To top it all, there was a lock in with loud singing to a guitar which kept us up till 2 am which is when we decided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peterpanandwendy2015
Red_Lion_Inn_hd9, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed that you felt the need to leave. Our rooms are in need of refurbishment but this would unfortunately lead to a hike in prices and we have found the general opinion is that they suffice for our guests. Our advertisement clearly says that we have live music...

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
3.0 km away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
674 reviews
7.4 km away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
466 reviews
1.0 km away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#7 of 12 in Holmfirth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
104 reviews
3.5 km away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
3.1 km away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#9 of 12 in Holmfirth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Red Lion Inn at Jackson Bridge, Holmfirth is a traditional real ale Inn with a typically warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome, The Red Lion Inn is situated at the heart of the 'Summer Wine Country' in Jackson Bridge, near Holmfirth, in the rolling countryside of the West Yorkshire Pennines.A wide selection of award-winning real cask ales, beers, wines and spirits are available from the bar whatever your tipple.The Red Lion Inn also offers high-quality bed & breakfast facilities which offer the perfect base from which to explore local areas of interest and attractions within West Yorkshire, 'The Last of the Summer Wine Country' and the Peak District. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Sheffield Road, Holmfirth HD9 7HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Price Range: $68 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Red Lion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Holmfirth, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Red Lion Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are no good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles P1844NZchristinem, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles BEDACC_John, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles Peterpanandwendy2015, 18 Dec 2015 | Read review
“find another hotel and pay bit more for it.”
 of 5 bubbles sputnikfred, 7 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go early - and have a couple drinks in the bar”
 of 5 bubbles V1600ZXmarkp, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay