We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Burcott Mill Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Burcott Mill Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Burcott Mill Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 187: English reviews
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2015

This delightful old guest house is situated just a few minutes drive from Wells, a charming city being the smallest city in England, don't miss the cathedral as its stunning. The accommodation is comfortable and clean, the hosts Louise & Steve make you feel very welcome. This is one of the very few working mills in England, producing flour which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dudley B
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay and our award winning breakfasts! Yes the Hayloft is our smallest double room - we do have several rooms that offer more space - especially for a stay of several nights - check out the website. Regards Louise More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

Wonderful stay with quality service, 😚superb breakfast. Can't miss this awesome place when you visit Somerset. The super large family room is enormous. My kids and I did enjoyed the relaxing environment. The owners are very friendly and love to share their passion on conversation! This Guesthouse is exactly the same location of #Burcott Mill. The mill tour is held... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - and also your Facebook review and Likes ! Glad you enjoyed your stay this summer - Regards Louise More 

Lifton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Pleased to get a family room with private bathroom at short notice. However, access to the Granary room was round the back, very narrow and up a steep staircase - not the most attractive of entrances and somewhat ''separate" and disappointing when compared to photos of the charming and historical millhouse on the website. The owners were friendly and breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue L
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your visit and the breakfast. Sorry you were disappointed with your room. The Granary is the only room that is not ensuite - which we always disclose clearly on booking, and it is priced accordingly. You are right that the private bathroom itself is in need of some updating - we have... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

Enjoyable and comfortable short stay at Burcott Mill Guesthouse in Wells. Rooms were great with all amenities and breakfast was outstanding. Owners friendly and accommodating. Would highly recommend if you are down in the beautiful city of Wells.

Helpful?
Thank PedroCollins
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Regards Louise More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2015

lovely place, breakfast was nice, this couple really go out of their way, we had freshly baked bread which is baked on site ...lots of parking, kids would love it as it has loads of space, room was a little dark in the bedroom but the living area was fantastic, bathroom was lovely

Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - glad you enjoyed the breakfast and our homemade bread! Regards Louise More 

Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 1 night on the 25th of July 2015 but wish it could have been longer,the proprietors Louise and Steve were very welcoming,thoughtful and considerate,helping with all the things we queried,excellent home cooked breakfast the morning after our stay,a good all round visit in a relaxing location,we shall definitely be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank mickemma
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay in the summer - hope you do come back and see us again! Rgds Louise More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here when we went to Glastonbury Festival. It's wonderful. Beautiful clean rooms, amazingly tasty breakfasts and it's run by the loveliest family. Will definitely stay here again, even if the festival isn't on. The Mill actually works too.

Helpful?
Thank Jo S
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review Jo - glad you enjoyed it so much. Thank you for booking for next Glastonbury Festival - Looking forward to seeing you in June. Rgds Louise More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We stayed in the Ground floor Mill Office which was a large room with a recently refurbished massive en suite wet room. The hosts couldn't have been more welcoming and attentive for our stay and the breakfasts were excellent. Why not full marks then? We moved the couch to get a better view of the TV and it revealed lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank silverfox1942
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and our award winning breakfasts! Apologies for the disappointing standard of cleanliness when you moved the sofa. We have since upped our cleaning schedule in that area. Regards Louise More 

Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights en route to Cornwall. Good location with the city of Wells less than 2 miles away and 3 pubs within walking distance and Cheddar Gorge a short drive away. The suite was spacious having a separate room with sofa and TV, good size bathroom and smallish bedroom with tea coffee and quality biscuits. The food... More 

Helpful?
Thank welease_woger
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments about your stay in The Stable Suite - glad you enjoyed it. Hope Cornwall was fun! Regards Louise More 

Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Had a very comfortable one night stay but the highlight was the full English breakfast. Delicious local sourced egg, bacon, mushrooms and sausage plus excellent home made bread. All cooked to perfection!

Helpful?
1 Thank HGBandESB
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review

So happy you loved our breakfasts. We try very hard to deliver plenty of choice and a high standard - with as much home or local produce as possible. Thanks for noticing! Regards Louise More 

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey
2.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel
2.2 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
899 reviews
2.8 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
100 reviews
4.2 km away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
276 reviews
3.5 km away
Stoberry House
Stoberry House
#3 of 40 in Wells
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Burcott Mill Guesthouse

Address: Mill House Wookey Road, Wookey, Wells BA5 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey
Price Range: $115 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burcott Mill Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Burcott Mill Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Burcott Mill Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the loft room which was comfortable clean and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 676waynec, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The old Mill office bedroom would be suitable for wheelchair access/buggies and in fact this room doubles up to a family room.”
 of 5 bubbles Focus3887ha, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Stable suite excellent but for an older person shower over bath could be difficult. There are other rooms with walk in showers”
 of 5 bubbles GloriaG367, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stable room unsuitable for disabled but others are available .But there are a few steps from carpark to entrance”
 of 5 bubbles anng598, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The shower cubical in 'The Hay Loft' is a little on the 'sung' side and may not suit those with a larger frame!”
 of 5 bubbles Mrhedgie, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay