We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

TripAdvisorUSD 207*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 263*
USD 207*
Great Deal
USD 233*
USD 233*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,304: English reviews
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We booked a night at the Feversham Arms on the Suite Deal package and had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay. Having seen previous reviews on TripAdvisor I was slightly concerned that it might not be as good as promised, but I needn't have worried as the hotel itself was lovely and my only criticism would be the attire of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larryfran
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear larryfran, Many thanks for your kind review of the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Kind Regards,

Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Very disappointed. Booked for a birthday visit on their Friday Fizz package after a previous great stay we had a few years ago. Key difference this time was that last time we were in the Spa room, which is a lot more modern than what we were given this time. Room we had was in old building and on top...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lee-in-Newcastle
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lee-in-Newcastle, Thank-you for posting your comments on your recent stay. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your most recent stay. If you do feel able to return to the hotel in the future please make reference to this review when booking. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Overall we had an excellent and very relaxing stay at the Faversham arms to celebrate my 50th birthday. First of all the positives; the spa was excellent we booked a package which included spa treatments. I had a hot stone massage which was excellent and highly recommended. We were lucky with the weather in March and managed to use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paul M, Thank-you for your kind review of the Feversham Arms Hotel. I'm really pleased you were able to enjoy the spa and restaurant experience. Please accept my apologies that the standard of your room was not as you expected. We do have some rooms earmarked for renovation in the next year. I do hope you feel able to...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a night in this lovely hotel and spa. We booked on the 'Fizz Friday' deal and we're both extremely pleased with our stay. Our room was overlooking the pool, with a separate living area, sizeable bathroom and lovely big bedroom. The only downside was the sofa in the living room (which was also a sofa bed) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeanneP29
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Leanne, Thank-you for your thorough review of the hotel. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Feversham Arms Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards,

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Don't get me wrong...this is a great hotel. In a village setting in rural Yorkshire, this significantly expanded proposition offers charm and sophistication. The standout feature is the spa with outdoor pool. I'd question how well appointed it is however...as a quiet April day still had us queuing for sauna, steam room and jacuzzi facilities. You find yourself depressingly driven...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twistinmymelons
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear twistinmymelons, Thank-you for taking the time to review your stay at the Feversham Arms. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to make use of the spa and outdoor pool. I do apologise that you had to wait for some of the facilities as we do endeavour to monitor this and ask guests to be considerate...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed at the Feversham Arms for one night for a special occasion. What a disappointment! Our room was small and very hot. We had to remove the duvet as there was no air-conditioning and we could not open the window. It was overlooking the road so was very noisy during the afternoon so not a good place to relax....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary O
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mary, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. The majority of our standard and executive rooms are at the front of the hotel and as such are street side facing. Unfortunately we can not control the noise from the street but do apologise that the room was hot. If you...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We visited as couples, over priced, staff rude and think they are better than paying guest. This is understandable as the manager is also ignorant. We complained at our visit and later in a letter and the response was disgusting. Spend your money elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheTravellingTrio3
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear TravellingTrio3, Thank-you for posting your thoughts on your stay. As this has been discussed internally I can not add anything and hope that you have a more enjoyable stay at the next hotel you visit. Kind Regards,

Durham
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This was a special and unusual treat for us - we normally stay in more modest accommodation. Sadly, we were disappointed with this hotel, mostly from a vfm aspect. Other than an outdoor heated pool and a Michelin (= very expensive) restaurant, I’m not sure what it offers that you can’t get at half the price. Our room was ‘standard’...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ItalianLakesRus
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear ItalianLakesRus, Thank-you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in certain areas. It sounds like you stayed at a busy time and I do apologise if this impacted on your stay. However, I am glad that you were able to dine in the restaurant and that you...

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Wonderful spa day and overnight stay Relaxing, spotless rooms, comfortable beds, staff very helpful Cannot fault it hope to return Excellent spa facilities good value packages with great products used Maybe two courses for lunch would be better as portions not huge! Overall very satisfied Set in a wonderful location within easy walking distance of town plenty shops and cafes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, I am so pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and were able to enjoy the spa treatments and facilities. We're so lucky with our location in Helmsley - there's definitely a lot of tempting delis, shops and tourist attractions. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards,

Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Great hotel with very good facilities and dining. Room excellent with great service. Centrally located in Hemlsey and car parking which ˆs good given how busy the town is . Staff all very friendly and ready to help

 Report
Helpful?
Thank das90a
Feversham A, Guest Relations Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Dear das90a, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Kind Regards

579 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 14 (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 19 (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Spa Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,508 reviews
0.2 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
667 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
32.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: $198 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
cleveland
2 months ago
Yorkshire
Teeside
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe pool view room is a must.”
WillGreen88, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid 3 and 5 (and some others) - traffic noise.”
ItalianLakesRus, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the front not worth the price”
karenalana, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pool view rooms are great some with balconies.”
Whiteball, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“south side rooms are peaceful”
colleen246879, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 207* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 233
Expedia.comUSD 233
CancelonUSD 263
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates