We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jambiani White Sands Bungalows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 70: English reviews
Start your review of Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice casual place to stay in Jambiani. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. While the room is small it is adequate and the view makes is more that worthwhile. The proximity to the ocean is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carianna2016
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

The rooms are very nice, bit small but enough space for two. Airconditioning would be a big plus with the Zanzibar heat, maybe they Could trade the tv flatscreen for aircon? Everything was clean, but you have to ask for New toiletpaper or to clean the room. Staff is wonderfull, food was good! Only thing is the space on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa t
Reviewed 5 February 2017

I visited Jambiani White Sans Beach Bungalows with my friend during our several month stay in Tanzania. The pictures and the cheap price at Hotels.com convinced me to book it. When we finally arrived to the hotel, there was i nice warm welcome for us by the personnel and the hotel manager. First we got a room with only one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheJaniAvellan
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

I get it, you pay for what you get. That being said, this hotel was about $100 per night, not exactly cheap. They said they had a TV, but it didn't work. They said they had wifi, but it didn't work. There also was no fan in the room. I got really sick and needed a doctor. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RushtonFox
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review

We appreciate that time you have taken to write a review. However, we will respectfully disagree with comments raised as they are probably mistakenly referred to our hotel as follows: 1) The hotel charges as referred is not related to our property, and was mistakenly quoted. 2) The well being and enjoyment of our guests are of utmost importance for...

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Rooms are much smaller than precived to be, can hardly walk around the bed without getting stuck between the wall and bed. The bathroom is no bigger than a broom closet. The restaurant is fairly good but food takes a very long time to arrive over half hour wait at times. The view is beautiful so that can be over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frehzer
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and the kind remarks on the location, the staff and the food. We also have taken notice of constructive remarks for improvements as follows: We have made renovation for some rooms and the renovation especially the front rooms are scheduled to increase the size of the room and other...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 8 January 2017

For a beach vacation on Zanzibar this is almost as good as it gets. The hotel has only a few rooms as duplex bungalows. The 3 beachfront units look directly onto the white beach and the opal blue/green water and it will take you 3 steps into the hammocks or recliners. The rooms and bathrooms are simple, but o.k. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M S
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We had lovely dinner at the restaurant. The portions are big! The octopus salad was very fresh and very tasty. The place is very cozy. Sometimes it can take a while until you get your food. So please be patient :)) And note: they do not serve alcohol there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franziska M
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Not the best but not the worst either. The bed and rooms are nice but during out four nights there we had almost NO water at all in the bathroom. People who work there are nice and the breakfast was good. The owner I pretty cool and I could go there again, IF they could promise water in the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonna N
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This was the first resort I have stayed at in Zanzibar. I hear the North is a lot more commercial and that there are a lot of locals incessantly offering their trades. Jambiani in general is very chilled and although there are some shell sellers, fruit peddlers, and fabric pushers, the place is exquisite in its serenity. The turqouise water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RyanScottCT
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your generous remarks about our place and Jambiani Beach in general. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and the activities. This is what makes our day. “Karibu Tena!” – Welcome again! Best Regards.

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

These bungalows are just ideal... sat right on the beach with stunning views...the sea some times when the tide is low you have to walk quite a way but the walk is on beautiful white sand so it doesn't really matter.. there are lots of bars along the beach here where you can eat and drink.....All the hotel staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronniexx31
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review

We appreciate very much the time you have taken to write a review and we are grateful for your kind words about us. I have passed the message to the staff and they say thank you. Once again, “Ahsante Sana!” Thank you very much! Best Regards.

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.8 km away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 13 in Jambiani
223 reviews
0.6 km away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
542 reviews
5.1 km away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#9 of 13 in Jambiani
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
4.1 km away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
0.6 km away
Blue Reef Sport & Fishing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Jambiani White Sands is located right on the beach in the quiet tropical village of Jambiani on the South- East Coast of Zanzibar Island. About 30 to 40 mins drive from Zanzibar Airport, the Ferry and the Stone Town. Situated on the picturesque white sandy beach washed by clear azure waters, Jambiani White Sands is the place to enjoy the sun, the sea and the tranquility of nature the Spice Island of Zanzibar has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jambiani White Sands Bungalows

Address: Jambiani Beach, Jambiani 254, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Price Range: $79 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jambiani White Sands Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Jambiani White Sands Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jambiani White Sands Bungalows staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Jambiani White Sands Bungalows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The beach facing rooms are $10 extra and incredible views and light”
 of 5 bubbles RyanScottCT, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“From what I could tell there were only three rooms that offered an ocean view, which includes a nice sunrise each morning.”
 of 5 bubbles msl2424, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“They all looked wonderful to me, but the three bungalows on the front are 'to die for'.”
 of 5 bubbles E8515XKstephenc, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“definitely beachside, the ones in the courtyard looked dark”
 of 5 bubbles H9900XMkarenb, 5 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable, even those in the garden but can't beat the balcony facing the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles MariaWB, 26 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5