We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stonecutters Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stonecutters Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Start your review of Stonecutters Lodge
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had the prefect relaxing Easter weekend stay in one of the Stonecutter bungalows. Facilitates were exactly what we needed, providing us the opportunity to braai ourselves one evening, and also enjoy the fantastic hospitality at the main lodge restaurant. Staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful with tips on what do to in the area. We particularly enjoyed our misty...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L569YGcarolineb
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted some peace and quiet and we found it here. There is the usual trout fishing one can do but there are also the attractions of things like Long Tom's pass, Mac Mac Falls, God's Window within an hour or two's drive. So when we wanted a bit more than just peace and quiet we had lots of other...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephensD7504AG
Johannessburg
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We had a wonderful weekend away celebrating an anniversary at Stonercutter! We stayed in the Stone cottage which was wonderful and had everything we needed. The fire place and the built in braais were a real plus. The three course meal we had for dinner was fantastic and the service was very charming.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewFlatt
Tkoloshe, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Stone Cottage and your stay with us. I am happy you enjoyed your meal too. Many more Happy Anniversaries and hope to see you again. Kind Regards Margi and Lesley

Mpumalanga, South Africa
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We stayed in the Cobbles unit, for an anniversary retreat. The accommodation was spacious and comfortable, and had everything we needed. It was quiet and felt private, although the other units are close by. And the gas braai was so convientient. The ladies who welcomed us and checked us in were very attentive and helpful. The area itself is beautiful...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahmK7037YE
Tkoloshe, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property in such a positive light. We are happy you chose our spot for your anniversary and we wish you many happy returns!

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stopped here for just 1 night on our way to the JHB airport from the Kruger area. I wish we could have stayed longer. Fantastic property, top class service and a breakfast to match the best out there. We stayed in one of the cottages with our 2 friends, a 3 bedroom overlooking their small lake. What an idyllic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveW_MSP
Bremen, Germany
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We enjoyed 2 nights in the Stone Cottage in January. The cottage is well equipped and neatly kept. Unfortunately you can sill see and sometimes hear the cars and trucks from the main road but that does not necessarily diminish the beauty of the Scotland-like location. The Fishing was also a pleasure as the Lodge does not cater too many...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max7_vdH
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post this positive fedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Fishing in January is always challenging, however we are well stocked and would love to see you back here in the cooler months. Regards, Lesley

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The service was suitable The bedroom was comfortable but did have to use my own plug to use their hairdryer. Their spare plug was not correct for the hairdryer. They do not provide bubble bath but have a bath. The amenities are great overall but the braai facility on the front porch is right against the unit and front door....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gheard2017
MargiCB, Manager at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

We have attended to the problem of the hairdryer plug, thanks for bringing this to our attention! The braai on the front porch has a large built-in canopy/chimney so smoke should not be a problem. There are two braai facilities at Stone Cottage, one built in on the front porch and an open-air braai built-in on the rear porch where...

Reviewed 9 January 2017

The Stonecutters Lodge offers neat, clean and comfortable accommodation. Scenic views and very peaceful and tranquil location. Great for birdwatching. Can Fly fish at this establishment.... this is one of the main attractions for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive feedback! Lovely time of year in the gardens and bird-watching is most rewarding. So glad you enjoyed the fishing too, we try to be well-stocked throughout the year. Regards, Lesley

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Clean & neat facility with comfortable amenities.Perfect setting for a get away. Quiet & peaceful surrounding. Friendly hosts. Lots of activity nearby. The only issue was the roads are really bad with potholes in the area but it is so picturesque, it makes it worth it. Thanks.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F150RYjoea
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your most positive feedback. The roads department tell us they are attending to the problem....! Regards, Lesley

Komatipoort, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We booked a quiet, romantic resort to spent chrismas weekend and it was indeed very relaxing and peacefull in the bush with the birds early morning. For us the bathroom was a bit small and we would like a bath aswell.,There were shower only. There were only hotel channels available on the TV and we wanted Kyknet, 144.Also missed Wi-Fi...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank roenelb
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to post this review. I must point out that we are very careful when sending out our accommodation info to state that the bathrooms are shower only and that on the TV we offer a guest-house selection of packages. This info is all on the website and all on-line agents sites as well. We encourage...

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydenburg
21.2 km away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
405 reviews
30.3 km away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
195 reviews
10.5 km away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 30 in Dullstroom
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
31.5 km away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#6 of 30 in Dullstroom
229 reviews
19.1 km away
Aqua Terra Guest House
Aqua Terra Guest House
#1 of 18 in Lydenburg
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stonecutters Lodge (graded 4 stars) is positioned in a beautiful setting between mountains and river between Dullstroom & Lydenburg in the highlands of Mpumalanga. Whether you are planning a holiday or weekend away, organising a meeting or looking for excellent trout fishing, Stonecutters will accommodate you in superlative style. All the accommodation is fully serviced and equipped including selected DSTV channels. The accommodation comprises family houses, Stone Cottage (sleeps 2 adults and 2 children or 3 adults) and the Trout House sleeps 7 with 3 bedrooms en-suite. The Cobbles studios are ideal for 2 guests furnished with king size beds or single beds . Dinners are available at 24 hour notice and breakfasts including continental and a hot menu are free. All the accommodation have kitchens so self-catering holidays are possible. Free Wi-Fi is available in the main lodge building and office areas. Stonecutters offers a base for well-known tourist attractions and is an ideal stopover for the Kruger National Park and other private game lodges. A holiday or weekend is recommended by Trip Advisor guest reviews with an overall 90+ rating so you can expect good service and care. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stonecutters Lodge

Address: R540, Lydenburg 1110, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Lydenburg
Price Range: $161 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonecutters Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecutters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stonecutters Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can't go wrong here but if more than 1 couple seek out one of the cottages”
SteveW_MSP, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Trout house is a stand alone house for bigger groups”
Hannelie2015, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Trout House - excellent self-catering accommodation with the option to dine at the main Lodge.”
Anthony-Aardvark, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We had chalet no. 2 which was fabulous, but it looks like all the chalets are equally lovely.”
402nickyh, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Quiet and peaceful. Beautiful views from Stone Cottage.”
MargaretC976, 18 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5