We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Element Melbourne Richmond

avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (107)
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Hotel direct offer!Earn points toward free nights.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Richmond
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Immerse yourself in pure wellness and explore Melbourne from Element Melbourne Richmond! Shop the trendy boutiques and showrooms along Bridge Road, then recharge with great food, coffee, or cocktails at Mint Lane Restaurant and Bar. Our state-of-the-art fitness centre and healthy food options help you to stay energized during your stay. Bright and open multi-purpose public spaces are inspiring settings for work, play, socializing, and unwinding.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Secured parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Tennis court offsite
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.
74Reviews2Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 12
  • 5
  • 1
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kenneth M wrote a review Feb 2024
Warren, Pennsylvania16 contributions
Very nice staff. Room was ready when we arrived from airport at 9am. Great food at restaurant. Bed was very comfortable. All in all a great stay parking can be a bitch if you don’t reserve a spot but other than that it’s great. Use the parking garage or you will be walking
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Teri T wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions3 helpful votes
The most homely, comfortable and friendly place to stay, especially after arriving on a long flight from the USA, and relaxation as well as recreation are important. Why pursue a crowded city street, traffic and busy elevators? Okay, once in a while it is okay, but for great, wholesome food, delicious coffees and healthy breakfast, in addition to the ease of tram stops and connections to the City and eastern suburbs and other, this is the place. The city is only 15 minutes away, where Flinders Street, Museums and Federation Square are popular with locals and tourists like. In mixed order, but starting with some management who always take care of our stay, thank you General Manager Karan, Modesto (2nd in command and ever so friendly), Alastair, Emma, Jayrick, Dilip, Chef Leonard and Chef Paulson, all sous chefs, Chelsea, Archie, Kathy, Marie, Fern, Shubinder, Ken, Jessalyn, Jack, Marie, Yaz, and oh so many more, thank you! By the way, the rooms are modern, comfortable, comfortable mattresses, linen, fluffy pillows, modern sinks, and shiny walk-in showers, etc. I will be back and I really recommend this place as a place to decompress but also to be close to the action anywhere in Melbourne. I will miss you all after almost a 3 week stay. This has been my 7th Stay in 2 years!! Back to Los Angeles now. From Dr. Teri. :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: You may not need to hire a car full time if you stay here as it is such a beautiful location see...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
shentim0110 wrote a review Jan 2024
Bali, Indonesia76 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
Great hotel near the City of Melbourne . Quiet yet close to Church St and charming Richmond suburb. Modern in design, with good room size, very clean and great food . Love the homey feeling and wellness concept this hotel has. Attentive Service is one of their strengths. Very helpful Team particularly Alastair, Jack and others in the front office. Their breakfast range is simple but healthy and tasty. I love the chai masala they offered , also options of ala carte and grab & go . We had our dinner in the restaurant and the food was fantastic, the barramundi curry was delicious. The pool table, the library corner and the chess just a neat idea, not to forget bicycles that available for rent.Tram # 70 is right across the hotel , and runs regularly makes a good option to go places. Thanks Element.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karan Singh, General Manager at Element Melbourne Richmond
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Hi Harry T, Thank you for leaving us this amazing review and for sharing your experience. Thank you for highlighting the hotel's location, the services offered, the product and small touches we have that go a long way. But most importantly, thank you for highlighting the Attentive Service and mentioning Alastair, Jay and the Front Office Team. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to your return. Stay well, Karan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ilavayou wrote a review Nov 2023
Manila, Philippines288 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
It was our first hotel stop and it definitely was a good choice! Not only they made our stay remarkable it definitely gave us a good first impression overall. Staffs are friendly and accommodating. Alaister, the Front Office Manager gave us a lot of recommendations where to go and he also arranged for a birthday surprise for my son and he was elated as soon as we came in to the room. Thank you so much Alaister for making my son’s 14th birthday truly memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It is quite a ride in the Tram / Skybus from The airport. But it is good to see that side of the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karan Singh, General Manager at Element Melbourne Richmond
Responded 8 Nov 2023
Hi Ilavayou, Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience and more importantly, highlighting our Team member Alastair, who is fantastic at what he does and is a great leader. We are glad that your son enjoyed the birthday celebrations organized by Alastair and the Team and that overall, it was all memorable stay for both of you. We will look forward to your return. Stay well, Karan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hillary M wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia54 contributions8 helpful votes
We won an AFL grand final package and the accommodation was at the Element - I liked the look of the Terrace Room so upgraded. It was great - huge balcony overlooking the park and river. Service was attentive, bed super comfortable, shower hot, wifi worked - and right opposite the 70 tram stop so a quick, easy trip to the MCG both ways.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karan Singh, General Manager at Element Melbourne Richmond
Responded 3 Oct 2023
Hi 768hillarym, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your AFL Grand Final stay with us and look forward to your return for future events at the Melbourne Parks or the city. Stay well, Karan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JayHi96 wrote a review Sept 2023
Balmain, Australia712 contributions297 helpful votes
I stayed at Element, as it is close to family was a reasonable option in the Marriott Bonvoy program. The property is new and bright and I found the staff to be friendly and efficient. The room was a good size, with a comfy bed and fairly large modern TV. The bathroom was a good size and bright, with standard amenities. The location is a little out of the way (on the border of Hawthorn, but a pleasant walk / ride along the river into the city. The breakfast was a basic, but fresh and the coffee quality was good. I will definitely be back if I have activities in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karan Singh, General Manager at Element Melbourne Richmond
Responded 1 Oct 2023
Hi JayHi96, Thank you so much for your 5-star review and for sharing your experience in greater detail. We appreciate all your comments, glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your loyalty towards Marriott Bonvoy. We appreciate you remaining committed to return to us for your next visit as will look forward to welcoming you back. Stay well, Karan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Qltyoverqty wrote a review July 2023
Sydney, Australia12 contributions39 helpful votes
The rudest and most disorganised Marriott chain I have ever stayed with. Right from checkin, it was a fight. The most arrogant and self absorbed staff member I’ve met in my life, making checkin a useless and complete waste of time. Zero of our requests prior to stay where accommodated and when requested we were lied to our faces and fake excuses made. Room tv didn’t work, apparently this normal. Parking a block away on public streets and comments about the price of our stay are not acceptable. Coffee from cafe was up there as the worst coffee in my life, considering we are in Melbourne, that’s pretty much a cardinal sin. Ongoing terrible interaction with staff member, and complaint made at checkout was pushed aside. Don’t even start me on EV charging. This hotel is a black mark on the Marriott brand.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Expect nothing, cause that’s what you’ll get.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karan Singh, General Manager at Element Melbourne Richmond
Responded 30 July 2023
Hi Kel c, At an outset, please accept my sincerely apologies for your experience as highlighted in your feedback. May I request you to get in touch with me directly on karan.singh@elementhotels.com to discuss this further - your feedback and input will help us to identify the source of these issues and to address them appropriately. Thank you and look forward to connecting further on this. Stay well, Karan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Teri T wrote a review July 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Why is this our 5th Stay to the Element Hotel? Because it feels like a homely, safe, clean, friendly, and warm haven. From reception, to restaurant, to room cleaning and of course, to management, we have never had a disappointing moment. No place is perfect, but this is surely close to perfect, for our needs. We are from modern, bustling California, and this hotel, is situated just right! Close to the CBD, but also to the suburbs, transport is very accessible as are the stores. A wonderful quiet retreat, great for morning walks along the parks around here, followed by a hearty breakfast and tasty cappuccino for me! The trams are right outside the hotel and beautiful Melbourne is accessible in a few minutes. Thank you to the GM, Mr. Karan, Modesto, Dilip, Emma, Jay, Praveen, Alistair, Aida, Leonard, Bella, Novita, Tania, Virginia, and so many more (sorry to forget all names). We will be back again! Thank you for noting our favorite rooms and always having these available to us. We are blessed to have found a home away from home. Dr. Tan and Chrys. :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karan Singh, General Manager at Element Melbourne Richmond
Responded 4 July 2023
Dear Dr. Tan and Chrys, Thank you once again for everything.................the list to extend our gratitude to you is long: - For your lovely review highlighting the hotel facilities, location and most importantly recognizing our Team. - For looking after our team and leaving the lovely flowers and the handwritten note for us - Your loyalty towards Element Melbourne Richmond during your visits to Melbourne. - Your loyalty to Marriott International and being our Elite Bonvoy Member. It is always good to have you back and the Team and I enjoy taking care of both of you. We thank you again and look forward to your return soon. Kind regards, Karan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kathy R wrote a review May 2023
Gold Coast, Australia2 contributions
Comfortable beds Clean and modern Very friendly staff Great location with tram at doorstep Need more staff on reception It seemed check in and check out times had guests waiting for some time Could feel the frustration
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karan Singh, General Manager at Element Melbourne Richmond
Responded 7 May 2023
Hi kathyrS2013ZM, Thank you so much for your recent stay, for sharing your experience and especially highlighting our friendly Team. We also appreciate your constructive feedback on the check in check out times. We will look forward to your return when travel brings you back to Melbourne. Stay well, Karan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
samantha miller wrote a review Mar 2023
5 contributions
Poor experience. The food in the restaurant could have been better. i actually had a hair in my glass, and the waitress told me it was probably mine! The first night I was kept awake till 4 in the morning your hotel policy is to leave guests outside if they don't have ID to check in is absolutely ridiculous! They sat outside from 1 to 3.45 in the morning, talking and quite angry while waiting for their ID! I got moved finally at 3.45, and the receptionist burst into tears, saying how stressed she was. When I came down to complain the next day, the manger was nice and discounted my food, but that evening the same waitress (a Chinese girl didn't get her name) shouted at me the second glass of wine is not free! how embarrassing, Just a really bad experience from start to finish.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karan Singh, General Manager at Element Melbourne Richmond
Responded 19 Mar 2023
Hi samanthajayne888888, Thank you for sharing your experience and providing us with your valuable feedback. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations. We appreciate all the feedback you have shared including the issue with the ID for the safety and security of our guests and the incident in the restaurant. While we are not in a position to reverse what has already happened, we sincerely wish to rectify the situation for your future stay. Please reach out to us directly once you have booked with us again. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon here at Element Hotel Richmond. Stay well, Karan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Richmond area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$169 - AU$199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGreater MelbourneYarraRichmond
NUMBER OF ROOMS
168
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ELEMENT MELBOURNE RICHMOND (AU$167): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Element Melbourne Richmond
Which popular attractions are close to Element Melbourne Richmond?
Nearby attractions include Melbourne Tram Museum (0.3 km), Fairview Park (0.8 km), and The Bridge Hotel (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Element Melbourne Richmond?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Element Melbourne Richmond?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Element Melbourne Richmond?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Element Melbourne Richmond?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Element Melbourne Richmond?
Conveniently located restaurants include Serotonin Eatery, Bridge Hotel, and Friends of Mine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Element Melbourne Richmond?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Element Melbourne Richmond?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Element Melbourne Richmond?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Element Melbourne Richmond offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Element Melbourne Richmond?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (5.3 km), St. Patrick's Cathedral (4.3 km), and Parliament House of Victoria (4.5 km).