We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bleak House

LateRooms.comUSD 139*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 172*
USD 139*
Great Deal
USD 172*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Bleak House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bleak House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Extremely expensive for this kind of accommodation. Poor breakfast and very weird surrealistic stuff. Bad water pressure, no wifi.At the same time room was big, the view was nice. But it definitely should cost less!!!

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank AnastasiaLyna
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Good afternoon In response to your review, here at Bleak House we strive for all our guests to have an enjoyable experience. At breakfast we offer a continental buffet plus an extensive hot food menu which we are praised for. Our establishment has wifi but our location in Broadstairs is notorious for intermittent connection & as for the water pressure...

Sandy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Bleak House used to be known as Fort House and overlooks Viking Bay and the North Foreland. It was built around 1801 and extended in 1901 to make it twice its size. Charles Dickens is said to have spent his summer holidays at Fort House in the 1850s and 1860s and it was here that he was said to have...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Sandygranny
Bleak H, Front Office Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

In response to your review, we have a fantastic smugglers museum here at Bleak House which has been researched extensively. In the museum there is a lot to see & it all depends how interested you are in history, if so people spend hours enjoying the experience. We are the home of Charles Dickens where he wrote the famous novels...

Reviewed 28 November 2016

We had phoned up prior to visit to check we could look at Dicken's study. However, when we arrived we were told it wasn't open! The lady was very kind though and allowed us to see the room anyway (only because we arrived at a convenient time though) It was interesting as was the smugglers cellars

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel J
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

We strive here at Bleak House for all our visitors to have a memorable & enjoyable experience. That week in question we were closed for half days while essential maintenance work had to be undertaken in which we had no control over & could not forecast. We only apologies for this inconvenience.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

A stunningly beautiful historic building i have had the pleasure of staying in several of the rooms/suites over the years and found them all spotlessly clean and very comfortable with all facilities needed for my stay,the staff are very friendly, helpful and pleasant and informative of all the local delights and must sees, the food-breakfast and afternoon tea was simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jan t
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Bleak House.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

It's not often you get an opportunity to stay somewhere quite so stuffed with literary history. We splashed out and had the Dickens suite, which is essentially a large room, separate victorian style bathroom with amazing bath, and access to Dickens' writing room. You are sleeping in Queen Victoria's bed. Unpretentious staff and a beautiful hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth N
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Bleak House.

Reviewed 23 October 2016

We booked Bleak House for my 101 nanna's funeral wake having not seen it, but Nicola was brilliant on the phone, and helped us out with all the arrangements. The room was very well laid out and we had full use of the bar area and outside grounds. The sandwiches and cakes were plentiful and very fresh. The scones were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PR A
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We had a two night stay here on a b&b basis. When we arrived, despite following the signs for reception the front door was locked, the bell didn't work and there was not a soul insight. After a little investigation we were let in and shown up to our room. The room was spotlessly clean and nice and warm but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally A
Reviewed 11 October 2016

What a great place to stay. We don't often stay in B&B - usually we stay in hotels when we go away, but this was an exception. We arrived late, and were made very welcome by the young lady that looked after us. Our room - the David Copperfield Suite - was large and beautiful and had a wonderful view...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hamishcb
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive comments, we're very glad to hear you had such a nice stay at Bleak House and do hope you come back again to stay with us. Until then take care. Many Thanks Bleak House Team

Wilmington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stopped here for tea having previously visited the house... To say we were surprised that 1 pot of tea for 4 people cost £8.00 is an understatement!! The was just one young lady working serving cpafternoon teas to several tables, we just wanted a cup of tea,mew waited patiently until she was free... Never again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue B
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thanks for taking the time to review Bleak House. It was me that served you that day and I remember exactly what happened. That day I took the time to explain to you that there had been a family emergency and that was the reason for being at the establishment on my own. I also explained to you...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Parking a little retricted but we found and were fine. It as others have said is a little wierd that you walk through the entrance and cafe area to get in - the main entrance is lovely and grand and perhaps could be used more to impress visitors . Your rooms can be reached by the public - so make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tkdreje
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to review Bleak House. Were pleased you had a pleasurable experience and hope to see you again soon. All of your comments have been logged and taken in to consideration. Kind Regards

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.2 km away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
570 reviews
0.9 km away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
135 reviews
3.2 km away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
662 reviews
3.4 km away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.8 km away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 26 in Broadstairs
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set above the English Channel overlooking Broadstairs and Viking Bay, Bleak House was the summer home of arguably Britain's greatest author, Charles Dickens, from where he wrote "David Copperfield". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bleak House

Address: Bleak House Fort Road | Kent, Broadstairs CT10 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Price Range: $220 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bleak House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bleak House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleak House Broadstairs, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bleak House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bleak House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best room with best view is the David Copperfield suite”
DavidChesham, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay unfortunately”
SammiB846, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Little Dorrit room comfortable and quiet with sea view”
Flyingmullion, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Copperfield room which is quite rightly described as the best but I'm sure all the other rooms would be excellent”
T6666KMpaulf, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are different but unique and fit in with the over all theme of this historic hotel.”
734jant, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
USD 139* /night
View Deal
Priceline
TripAdvisorUSD 172
Booking.comUSD 172
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates