We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Green Dragon

Overview
Cowgate, Welton HU15 1NB England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
About
Description
Come to The Green Dragon in Welton, a gorgeous country pub and hotel steeped in history. Set in a sensitively refurbished 17th Century coaching inn said to have been a favourite haunt of highwayman Dick Turpin, our More pub combines character and charm with modern facilities. Dine with us and choose from a menu that includes roast chicken, British classics, traditional favourites with a fresh twist, world food, and indulgent desserts. Stay with us and enjoy the relaxed pace of village life, and easy access to the city. Hull is just 3.5 miles away. We have 11 cosy ensuite guest rooms in the converted stable block. A complimentary breakfast is included in the room rate. We look forward to welcoming you! Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
10
Price range
USD 62 - USD 93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Green Dragon Hotel Welton
Location
United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Welton
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Hallmark Hotel Hull
1,587 reviews
5.25 km away
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
1,131 reviews
5.60 km away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
855 reviews
5.63 km away
Premier Inn Hull West Hotel
676 reviews
5.92 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Green Dragon Restaurant
234 reviews
.01 km away
The Half Moon Elloughton
113 reviews
1.52 km away
Village Paint Pot
39 reviews
1.49 km away
i-Bar
98 reviews
1.60 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Beauty969
6 reviews
3.28 km away
Humber Bridge Country Park
107 reviews
6.42 km away
Tea & Bisque-it
65 reviews
7.88 km away
Spa Serenity
25 reviews
7.23 km away
Reviews & more
333Reviews
76Photos
1Q+A
45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 157
  • 95
  • 39
  • 25
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
This pub/restaurant looks lovely from the outside & nice decor inside but our first trip was a very disappointing one.

We were served flat drinks from the dispenser - when we called the waitress back she said ‘someone else has said that’ so not sure why it hadn’t been looked int
Read more
Pleasant and refreshing, comfortable stay in clean and adequate room. Bed was clean & comfortable. Room was cosy. Shower was clean, with hot water and fully functional order. Soft clean towels with cleansing products provided. Tea and coffee facilities in room. Lots of coffee wit
Read more
Response from GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon
Responded 1 week ago
Derek V, thank you for such a lovely review, we are pleased that you found our accommodation to a high standard. Next time you visit please quote #tripadvisorfreedrink and get one on us! Kind Regards Amy
Read more
This was our second visit this year and we weren't disappointed. Lovely, spotlessly clean, modern room and bathroom, comfy bed. We stayed two nights and ate in the restaurant both evenings. Food was really good; breakfast just as good. Friendly, professional staff. Highly
Read more
Response from GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon
Responded 3 weeks ago
Floss_9, thank you for such positive feedback! Your comments will be passed on. Next time you visit please quote #tripadvisorfreedrink and get one on us! Kind Regards Amy
Read more
We booked a table for Sunday lunch over the phone and were advised of the best time to come. We chose the Green Dragon because it allowed dogs.
We were shown to our table then ordered drinks from the bar and returned to choose food. On placing our lunch order we were advised it
Read more
Perfect dining experience yet again this week.

Always like to visit this establishment when I’m in the area because both the service and food are great value for money.

The staff were extremely tentative and polite. My partner is gluten intolerant and they catered to her needs
Read more
Response from GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon
Responded 4 weeks ago
Cas1888, thank you for such lovely feedback, this will be passed back to the team, and I'm sure they will be thrilled to hear what an amazing time you had! Next time you pop in please quote #tripadvisorfreedrink and get one on us! Kind Regards Amy
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementGreen Dragon
Photo provided by managementGreen Dragon
Photo provided by managementGreen Dragon
Photo provided by managementGreen Dragon
Photo provided by managementGreen Dragon
Previous
We visited last night for a girls night catch up, the food was mediocre, i am gluten free & not a lot for me to choose from, however the whole evening was going well, until the live band came on late evening & we couldn’t continue to chat as we couldn’t hear or be heard, not sure whether a local pub/restaurant needs live music, maybe just back ground music???
Gluten free is unfortunate & is not always fully catered for. Next time check to see if there is live music on before you go.
1 vote
Show all answers
"Adequate service and single room. Breakfast satifying"
"We've stayed in two different rooms in the converted house and both were equally as nice. There's also a converted stable block."
"Did not stay. Passed though and had lunch."
"Ground-floor room was excellent for my heavy bags and bad leg, as there is no elevator."
"If you feel your meal is taking longer than expected, ask about it rather than waiting."
Previous
1234569
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing