Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs

222 Chemin Garrigon Route des Lavandes, 84220 Roussillon, Gordes France
Traveller (166)
Chambre superieure
Room & Suite (51)
Détente au Jacuzzi
Pool & Beach (31)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 5 hotels in Roussillon
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
La Cle Des Champs & spa in Roussillon, a beautiful story in the Luberon. Between Gordes and St Saturnin les Apt on the D2, take the small path that leads you to the hotel. In the shade of pine trees, nestled in the scrub that is an authentic Provencal Mas or the relaxing atmosphere appeals to you upon your arrival. You are at home here. Enjoy your newly decorated room with a private terrace facing the village of Roussillon. Laze beside the heated pool, enjoy the free steam room and Jacuzzi or take the time to stroll in the garden surrounded by lavender fields. In the morning, quietly, enjoy a sumptuous breakfast and dinner treat yourself in our market cuisine.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Hiking
Table tennis
Taxi service
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Steam room
Adults only
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

222 Chemin Garrigon Route des Lavandes, 84220 Roussillon, Gordes France
Name/address in local language
421Reviews6Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 324
  • 76
  • 14
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chris H wrote a review Sept 2021
Yorba Linda, California1,875 contribution465 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this lovely owner-operated BnB because it was just outside the pretty town of Roussillon. It was very easy to find with our GPS. Earlier in the day we gave ourselves quite the fright when our NAV system took us to the similarly named campground for “tipis, caravans and lean-to’s”!

We were asked for our Health Pass on arrival but my husband’s CDC card worked as well. (We both applied online Sept 1. I received mine on the 23rd and his not until the 27!) We were shown to our room, 6, which was on the ground floor with a small patio with table and chairs. We were even able to order aperitifs and enjoy them on the patio one afternoon!

The bedroom had plenty of closet and shelf space, an in room safe, a tea kettle with instant coffee and tea bags, a small refrigerator and a large comfortable bed. Nightstands on each side of the bed are always a nice touch!

The bathroom was good size with a shower, toilet and a large bowl-type sink. There was shower gel and some other toiletries. Towels were fluffy and comfortable.

Our room was next to the pool so it was kinda loud at breakfast and when people sat by the pool during the day. It closes at 7 so the nights were very quiet. There was a jacuzzi and sauna that due to covid restrictions, required reservations. The hotel is mindful of restrictions and masks are required in public places. They can be removed at your table.

The grounds were beautiful with lots of little sitting areas to enjoy the view of the Ochre mountains. The pool had plenty of spaced lounge chairs but in the late afternoon, it was a bit chilly for us to enjoy.

We were so appreciative of the help in securing reservations at two really great restaurants, Restaurant David and le Piquebaure (see separate reviews). There was a slight miscommunication in an email we received confirming our reservation for dinner on the night of our arrival. We discovered dinner at the property is only on certain nights and not on our Sunday arrival.

We made a terrible mistake in not taking the door code with us when we went to dinner the first night. We returned at 9:45 PM forgetting one needs the code to get in. After ringing the reception bell three times and with visions of sleeping in our car overnight, we dialed the phone number and told her of our situation. We apologized profusely but I’m sure this was not the first time this has happened. It will certainly be the last for us!

The breakfast is usually a buffet but due to Covid, a big selection of pastries and coffee is served right at your table. Other options of fruits, meats, yogurt and cheeses are available, too. When we asked about the availability of eggs, we were offered hard boiled or fried. Always good to have some protein in the morning.

The owners operate this lovely hotel to perfection. It’s location just a short easy 3 km drive to the city center of Roussillon made it ideal for the feeling of a true Provençal retreat!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If daytime noise is an issue, a room other than 6 is recommended. We were gone during the days so...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacqueline wrote a review June 2021
London, United Kingdom34 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very grateful to book the last room for this hotel and if you are given the chance to book, you should!

The views of the countryside are so amazing while beautifully and naturally landscaped.

The beds are extremely comfortable ( firm but soft)

The linens, beach towels and bath towels are all of a high quality and extremely comfortable

The showers are lovely and the bathrooms although compact are spacious.

The room ammenities are all well thought out and the hosts have gone to a great trouble to make sure you have everything you need for a wonderful stay.

The ambiance at dinner and breakfast is lovely and serene.

There are not enough good things I can say about the quality of cooking for both dinner and breakfast but dinner especially.

You are not given a menu but the Chefs choice which was varried and lovely each night

The wine list is incredible and their recommendations were well received

The pool and jacuzzi are pristine and a welcome addition to a hot summer day!

There is plenty of safe and secluded parking and the overall environment is so relaxing.

It was a wonderful stay and I wish you all a great trip there!

To the hosts: Thank you for your lovely welcome, kindness and amazing service. We wish you all the best!!

** to say this hotel is extremely covid compliant and the staff do everything to make you feel safe and welcome
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All of the rooms look lovely but even the 'standard' room was incredible
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SandM wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here last August for several days. It was idyllic. From our room we could fall asleep to the sound of the cicadas and in the morning see the hot air balloons over the Roussillon ochre cliffs. Breakfast was included in our rate and was plentiful and delicious. We ate a really nice dinner there one night poolside. The pool was welcome given that the temperatures were in the mid 30s. Many beautiful villages are within easy reach. For dinner we recommend Bistro La Terrasse in the tiny peaceful village of Joucas (be sure to book in advance). Merci bien Armelle et Rene pour votre accueil.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armelle B, Propriétaire at Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs
Responded 4 July 2020
Dear Feuillederable, Many thanks for your nice review ! We are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the location in the middle of the Luberon and the homemade dinners by the pool. We hope to welcome you back soon in the calm of our hotel. Best regards, Armelle
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mykola S wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have called and informed that 4 adults with two kids require two rooms; The reception girl confirmed children’s age and said that she has two rooms available, one for 150eur & second for 160eur. The decision was taken immediately, confirming arrival as soon as possible. After arrival to the hotel, the same girl on the receipt job said that she can’t give us both rooms, as we were with kids??? I’ve asked for few times what is the reason and why was it confirmed by phone, so finally we had to drive back to Marseille at night time. I do not recommend this hotel, as You may remain sleeping in the car or in the street. Can not be trusted!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not use this hotel, if you travel Keith kids.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armelle Brehonnet, Propriétaire at Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs
Responded 24 Apr 2023
Why lie !?!? You booked 2 rooms for 2 adults and 2 children and you arrived at 6 people. We are not a campsite !!! in France there are rules in hotels. It's up to you to organize your travel in order to avoid being embarrassed at 20. 00 on a Saturday evening in the Luberon. Your children had nothing to do with it. They were welcome. Have a nice day. Armelle
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan15OnTheGo wrote a review June 2022
Singapore, Singapore11 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First time in Provence; arrive by train from Lyon and drove to the Luberon to stay at La Clean des Champs. Never driven here and really didn't know how long it would take to get to the hotel. Anyway, arrived maybe 45mins to an hr earlier than the check-in time. Didn't really expect the curt welcome we got; instead of a bonjour with a welcoming smile, we got a frown and was told we were early. Bad start to a three night stay. Ok, so we asked whether we could have our sandwiches in the lobby or poolside whilst we waited for the room; got a flat 'No' you cannot eat in the common areas. Luckily room was made available and we ate our sandwiches in our patio area. Other peeves: bath wash (in a locked bottle!) in shower was way down and we had to ask for top up; water provided in room not replaced; had to ask. Hand soap in bathroom was miniscule. Each time we asked for anything, there is a sense that it was begrudgingly done. Mind you, this is a lovely property with beautiful views to Rousillon. If only the owner was a bit more warm and welcoming, would have been very nice. In hospitality, the little things matter. We ultimately didn't feel very welcomed. And forget about getting a nice send off on departure.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armelle Brehonnet, Propriétaire at Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs
Responded 3 July 2022
Dear Madam We thank you for your feedback and are delighted to know that you enjoyed our property and we thank you for noting the cleanliness of the establishment which encourages our team. We didn’t mean to upset you. Perhaps this is just a difference of use between your country and France The picnics in the common areas of the hotels and especially around the swimming pools are generally not possible. That why we offer you an alternative and the possibility to eat on the terrace of your room. Which you were able to do since we gave you your room quickly. The welcome products, free of charge, are at your disposal upon arrival as well as the mineral water offered upon arrival. We reiterate the soap of course it was a simple oversight quickly corrected and we apologize for it. A drinks service is provided throughout the day to provide you with water and various drinks. Looking forward to seeing you again Armelle The manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JBIRD wrote a review Sept 2023
Melbourne, Australia28 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A wonderful experience .
The owners, Armelle and Rene are lovely, very helpful with suggetions for visiting the area.
The Hotel is a delight, starting the day with a delicious breakfast, and the evening dinner is perfect .
Beautiful surroundings , pool and gardens.
We really enjoyed our week.
Thank you Armelle and Rene.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2Justquackers wrote a review Nov 2021
Novato, California17 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Le Clé des Champs was a wonderful place to stay close to Roussillon and central to all the hill towns of the Luberon. The B&B was perfect in every way and our hosts were amazing! They were so helpful, kind and accommodating. Thank you for your warm hospitality! Breakfasts were plentiful and made to order! Dinners served poolside at Le Cle were delicious and 5 star for sure! It was our home away from home for a week and we hated to leave! This is truly a special B&B!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret F wrote a review Nov 2017
Broomfield, Colorado32 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here after reading trip advisor reviews. It was really great!! We stayed in room 3 which and the patio had a beautiful view. The room was small, but clean and nice. We enjoyed visiting with Armelle and Rene talking about the surroundings areas and even some political points of view. We stayed one night and proceeded to our next destination. After one more night of traveling we decided to return to Hotel la cle des Champs for one more night. This time we arranged to have dinner on site. It was the most Amazing meal, presentation and service that we had on our 18 day vacation. The second night we stayed in room 8. Similar room with more decorative shower and a window in the shower with the great view. It also had a patio, but bushes block the view more than in room 3. If you have an opportunity to stay here you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
flygirl_05 wrote a review July 2013
Rancho Mirage, California18 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely lovely small hotel in charming grounds. My room had a lovely wee private patio that looked over the hotel's lavender field to the red hills of Roussillon. My room was cleanly and simply decorated with a high vaulted ceiling. Lovely new and large bathroom. I was unable to eat dinner there the night I was there but came back to dine beside the pool, later in the week. Really good dinner under the stars! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It is superb value, lovely quiet and charming rooms, great pool and grounds and a good restaurant! It is a fantastic location from which to explore the Luberon. Breakfast was a bit expensive at 15 Euro but it was very good. I took an extra cup of coffee back to my room to enjoy on my patio. Paradise!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tessie1 wrote a review Sept 2019
Warlingham, United Kingdom723 contributions611 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I literally fell in love with this place and was enchanted by almost everything about it.
The setting is quite charming, facing the red hills of Roussillon with spectacular views from almost every angle.
Our hosts, Arnelle and Rene, were quite marvellous, warm, welcoming, efficient and accommodating and we felt at home immediately.
We had a small suite which was very tastefully decorated in shades of soft green - the muted colours blending perfectly with the exterior landscape. Everything worked efficiently-a super shower, really great air-conditioning,etc.
The exterior was a joy, from the lovely heated pool over-looking the glorious view, to the wonderful privacy afforded by the skilful arrangement of garden furniture dotted about the grounds. If one seeks utter peace and tranquility, this hotel is a perfect example of calm.
Breakfasts were excellent with a great continental selection of fresh fruits, meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, jams, etc. We dined once here and genuinely wished we had been able to sample more of Arnelle’s cooking which is really excellent.
Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, who work really hard to ensure that guests are happy. It’s very rare to find a hotel where everything is perfect - but it is. I simply have to return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Armelle B, Propriétaire at Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs
Responded 19 Nov 2019
Dear Tessie1, Thank you so much for your kind words ! We are extremely happy to read your review and to know that you fully enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you in Provence again ! Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aozh asked a question July 2019
San Francisco, CA148 contributions51 helpful votes
What size of bed do double rooms have? Queen or king size?
Answer from Brigitte H S
Paris, France187 contributions166 helpful votes
Our room had two single beds pushed together, which is pretty common in Europe
Ian R asked a question June 2018
New York City, New York2 contributions2 helpful votes
Do you have elevator? Which rooms to ask for?
Answer from bangkokcassidy
bangkok209 contributions152 helpful votes
No elevator. Hotel is generally on one level, but there are steps down to (some of) the rooms. We had room five and there were a few steps that had to be taken to get down to the room. Two other rooms were also located on this lower level. There is another room on a second floor which has an outdoor staircase approached by having to walk round the swimming pool area. No elevators.
Climber310221 asked a question Apr 2017
2 contributions
How far from the town center of Gordes?
Answer from Armelle B
4 contributions1 helpful vote
6 kms from Gordes & 3 kms from Roussillon. Regards Armelle
aErnest M asked a question Apr 2015
63 contributions18 helpful votes
is the restaurant open on Sunday nights in late June?
Answer from caramelfin
Nantes, France96 contributions53 helpful votes
Hello, Thank you for the interest you have shown in our hotel.. The restaurant is open every evening except on Sunday evening even in season. At your disposal Armelle
Answer from Armelle B
Paris, France
Bonjour, Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous portez à notre établissement. L'hôtel est construit à flan de colline, C'est une copie conforme d'un vieux mas provençal, nos chambres sont toutes en "faux" rez de chaussé, c'est à dire qu'il y a de 3 à 6 marches pour rejoindre les chambres, le restaurant ou la piscine. Nous n'avons pas d'ascenseur. J'espère avoir répondu à votre question. Bien cordialement Armelle 04.90.05.63.22
Mykola S wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not use this hotel, if you travel Keith kids."
Read full review
Chris H wrote a tip Sept 2021
Yorba Linda, California1,875 contribution465 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If daytime noise is an issue, a room other than 6 is recommended. We were gone during the days so it was not a problem for us"
Read full review
Jacqueline wrote a tip June 2021
London, United Kingdom34 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All of the rooms look lovely but even the 'standard' room was incredible"
Read full review
KimBocaRaton_Florida wrote a tip Sept 2019
Boca Raton, Florida128 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I'm not entirely sure, but I think all the rooms probably have views over the valley."
Read full review
Louise Wollin wrote a tip June 2019
Seminole, Florida18 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room (# 6) had a beautiful view of Roussillon and small covered patio."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Roussillon area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$293 - AU$469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le mas de garrigon gordes
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurVaucluseLuberonGordesRoussillon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL & SPA LA CLE DES CHAMPS (AU$293): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Roussillon, France) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs?
Nearby attractions include Mines de Bruoux (5.3 km), Art Gallery Contemporary Tapiézo (2.7 km), and Ecomusee de l’ocre (3.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Outsider, Restauran Du Jas De Joucas, and Le Carillon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caves du Palais Saint Firmin (7.0 km).
All Roussillon HotelsRoussillon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RoussillonHotels near Hotel & Spa la Cle des Champs
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars