We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,884 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,407: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice resort in the hills. My wife and I enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a quiet laid back vacation this is the resort for you. Small resort so you see familiar faces at the buffet and pool areas so its easy to get to know others. We enjoyed the buffet sittings and the Oriental a la cart...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Steve K, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your extensive and descriptive review, highlighting important features of the resort...

Appleton
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just returned from a week stay at the hotel. We arrived late on January 11th. Checkin was smooth and were transported to our room. Building 21 has no outside lights so it was difficult to find our way and then get into the room. Once we got in we realized the light on the porch was not working. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Steve J; Thank you for your fabulous review of Occidental Papagayo. We are delighted that you choose us as your holiday destination. We aim to provide each and every guest with a wonderful and memorable experience and I am so pleased that we did it for you We appreciate all your feedback as it is a valuable tool which...

Springer, New Mexico
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The place was gorgeous! The food incredible and staff courteous and helpful. Be sure you get outside the resort and see the countryside. Experience the culture and local atmosphere. Take a tour but don't drive!! My only complaints...a little noisy with neighbors late at night and transport cars taking Fto their rooms. The locals think "alto" is a mere suggestion...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C9247ZFtracyc
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear C9247ZFtracyc; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience in Occidental Papagayo. We are so pleased that you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay, our installations and service. Thank you for mentioning the varying points of culture and atmosphere. I feel very sorry regarding thie noise situation with the neighbors, we will try to control guest...

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We definately had higher expectations on this hotell. The room are crying for attention. Poorly cleaned, broken showers and toilett paper holders! The Wi-fi is very very slow, although they told us they had a super fast one!! Some of the staff are very helpful and some of them just longing to go home. Hmm the food is not very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keviit
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Keviit; On behalf of Occidental Papagayo team we deeply thank you for sharing your experience with us. We beforehand apologize to you for not meeting your expectations in regards to our services overall. We appreciate your comments regarding the rooms, as the hotel is operational year round we operate a schedule of programmed maintenance as soon as rooms become...

Bridgeport, Connecticut
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The people are so friendly. Never a wait for a table or a drink. Very attentive staff. The Fun Club makes everyone feel special. Daiana always with a beautiful smile and humor. The time share room was just completed the day I left, but what a beautiful view. More importantly, the manager and staff would do anything for you. What...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teacherdude7
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear teacherdude7; Greetings from Costa Rica! We are delighted to read that you had a great time and particularly we met and exceeded your expectations during your vacations at Occidental Papagayo Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us. Kind Regards;...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This review is long overdue.. i have always wanted to go to Costa Rica and i am so glad i did. Room was very clean and well kept. Bed was so cozy! Food was good. A la cartes were delicious. The salad in the italian was one leaf however i am not complaining. The buffet could have had more variety...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mila S
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Mila S Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Papagayo; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy to read tah we were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Kind Regards; Mr. Jean Marie P General Manager

Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: - Our room had a fantastic view, and the hotel grounds overall are quite nice. - We enjoyed all the activities, from water aerobics to volleyball to the amusing Musical Quiz. The sunset walk is definitely worth it. You'll be unimpressed by the walk itself, but the destination gives you quite a view! - The restaurants that we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Breadman86
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Breadman86; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your extensive and descriptive review, highlighting important features of the resort and...

Westfield, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was incredibly impressed by the staff at this resort. They would go out of their way to help. The property and buildings were incredibly maintained. My room did not have hot water 1 day. The food was average. But being all inclusive made it nice. Enjoy your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelinTodd
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear TravelinTodd; We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Papagayo we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Kind Regards; Mr. Jean Marie P General Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful property, however if you have stayed at a all inclusive before you will not be very impressed with this one. We were not at all impressed with the food, the buffet was lacking flavor. We were very disappointed in the breakfast buffet - it was lacking variety. The restaurants were delicious, however it was difficult to get reservations. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Magiwan
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Magiwan; Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Occidental Papagayo. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. I am sorry to read that we weren't able to...

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister and brother-in-law are timeshare owners so my husband and I, along with one of her best friends, were able to get a nice room for $200 a night. The resort is nice, dated, but nice. Upon arrival, we had to wait a while to check in because we were early but we were taken to the Owner's Lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ceecee36
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear ceecee36; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your extensive and descriptive review, highlighting important features of the resort and...

2,990 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2751)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (623)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (500)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (234)
Viewed
Dining (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (61)
Viewed
View from Room (167)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
0:35
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1048)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (with Honeymoon Premium Package) (26)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
Royal Club Luxury Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
5.8 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,244 reviews
2.2 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
5,685 reviews
10.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
25.6 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Grand Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical lanscape with scenic views of Bahía Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Grand Papagayo offers a highly persolized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica (Formerly Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: $279 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Papagayo - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Occidental Papagayo - Adults only staff and other travellers.
301 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (301)

Questions? Get answers from Occidental Papagayo - Adults only staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request building 21 or 22 close to beach and pool.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveJ218, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“???Don't expect the wireless to be perfect. Do communicate with the staff and be respectful. Don't drag the furniture across the floor at night!”
 of 5 bubbles C9247ZFtracyc, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get a top floor room, on vacation and you dont want to hear people walk. try to get closer to pool or clubhouse because lots of walking”
 of 5 bubbles teacherdude7, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A view of the pool and resort grounds is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles ceecee36, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Deluxe sea view (unless you prefer garden views)”
  • View from our Deluxe ocean view room at building 14
 of 5 bubbles jakefaktor1, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay