We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Blvd. Playa Hermosa 800 Metros al Norte 48-5000, 11000 Costa Rica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
10 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Additional 5% off
Expedia.com
USD 320
View deal
Hotels.com
USD 320
View deal
Trip.com
USD 255
View deal
Booking.comUSD 320
Barcelo.comUSD 320
PricelineUSD 320
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (4464)
360
Panoramas (45)
Videos (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Occidental Papagayo
Updated 06/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 19 hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical landscape with scenic views of Bahia Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Papagayo offers a highly personalized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Archery
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
24-hour security
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Additional 5% off
5946Reviews579Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,717
  • 1,696
  • 806
  • 420
  • 307
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Krysten C wrote a review 10 Oct
Albuquerque, New Mexico1 contribution
+1
Most of the people are fantastic, the front desk girls are a bit rude and not helpful at all, This hotel needs a bit of help with organization The other staff are wonderful, if you want to book an excursion go through JJ. Kayak with Ruben he is the best and make sure you sing to him!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rent a car! We met friends and thank goodness we did because that was the best experience!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Papagayo Occidental, General Manager at Occidental Papagayo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Krysten Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at Occidental Papagayo. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. Our staff's service and kindness is one of our main strenghts and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area at our the réception desk; nevertheless we will not fail to share your comments with our head of department for information and further revision. However we are pleased to read that with the majority of our team members you had positive interactions and felt well looked after at all times, which is our ultimate goal. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards, Raúl Arranz General Manager Occidental Papagayo
Read more
susanhA8771EG wrote a review Sep 2021
Little Falls, New Jersey5 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This adults only resort was simply stunning. Everything was clean and the staff was simply amazing. We were a bit disappointed in the dining options, but given the COVID environment we understand that it left the resort with little choice. The views were spectacular!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Papagayo Occidental, General Manager at Occidental Papagayo
Responded 9 Sep 2021
Dear Susan Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and comments. We thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations and for your kind words about the service you received from our staff, we will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Costa Rica! Kind regards, Raúl Arranz General Manager Occidental Papagayo
Read more
laurie10909 wrote a review 9 Oct
Sunrise, Florida12 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
The resort is absolutely beautiful. The staff is incredible, always willing to go above and beyond to make sure you are happy and enjoying your stay. From the welcome at reception to the bartenders to the wait staff to housekeeping to the shuttle drivers to the activities staff to management everyone is amazing. Shout out to Jerricka for the guided kayak tour to healing beach. We had the entire beach to ourselves. Drinks are free flowing. Pools are clean. Rooms are cleaned up early each day. The food is only so so. There is an Oriental and an Italian restaurant that you can eat at. One per three day stay. Reservations are made the day of at 8am at the front desk. The buffet is very very small. Same thing everyday for breakfast with only 1-2 items rotating. Snack bar has the BEST hamburgers. Dinner is themed each evening but again very very small buffet. I always found something I liked just wished there was more variety. Note you can special order eggs anyway you like, bacon and toast however we didn’t know this until the day before we left. NO evening entertainment other than a violinist or guitar player but no shows, so if you are into that this isn’t for you. All and all a great value for the money. I wouldn’t hesitate to return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Papagayo Occidental, General Manager at Occidental Papagayo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Laurie Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in Occidental Papagayo. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. We thank you for your kind words towards our staff, we are glad to hear that they all contributed to your wellbeing whilst staying among us, from the housekeeping team, doing their utmost to guarantee spotless accommodations and installations at all times, our entertainment team with their enthusiasm and energy, inviting our guests to take part into the lively sports and leisure activities throughout the day , with their kindness and professionalism taking care of our guests and ensuring that they have a nice time and bring back home good memories of their holidays among us. You are right to say that this is an all-inclusive resort offering an “Adults Only” concept in an intimate and friendly atmosphere. . The evening entertainment is held in our Disco area and includes Live Music, Karaoke, Disco, Dancing Lessons, Audience Participation Games and Fun Auctions and Billiards etc We thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. It will be our pleasure to attend you on future visits with us. Kind regards, Raúl Arranz General Manager Occidental Papagayo
Read more
Sonja503 wrote a review 6 Oct
Kaltenkirchen, Germany1 contribution
we stayed one week and we had a great time. The food was always fresh and nice cooked. Our rooms were also super clean and the staff also very nice and friendly. They always try to make the most out of everything. The beach is also clean and very nice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Papagayo Occidental, General Manager at Occidental Papagayo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sonja We thank you for your precious time you give us writing your comments, that mean a lot to us and help us to become better and rich our goal, the satisfaction ours guest. We are pleased you enjoyed your vacation, the food, the room that you stayed, the beach and that our staff contributes so much to your stay. We will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. It was our pleasure to attend you on your stay in Costa Rica and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Raúl Arranz General Manager Occidental Papagayo
Read more
Rick H wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
The GOOD; The staff are, for the most part, truly awesome. We made friends with some of the staff, and most of them were very helpful, friendly and responsive to our needs. One of the front reception girls joined us on a tour. The majority of the staff greeted us by name. The tram drivers knew which room we were staying in. The on-site tour operators were equally excellent. They offer a shuttle to Coco Beach ($15/person roundtrip). The property itself is kept nicely landscaped, clean and beautiful. Because of the nature of the property, be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. Lunch at the building by the pool has a decent variety, and it changes somewhat day to day. The pool and beach areas are kept really nice, and the views are simply breathtaking. There are plenty of animals on site to see, such as racoons, skunks, howler monkeys, coati, silver streaked squirrels and beautiful birds. Ocean kayaking is free and guided. Beach access is easy, be aware the local ladies will offer massages everytime you go to the beach. The spa on property is very nice and they offer specials to guests. There is a gym next to the spa. There is also a tram to take you to different spots on property, or you can rent a golf cart. The BAD; The property is terribly understaffed. During the busiest time of the morning, there are only one or two front desk staff, and the lines and wait times can be long and frustrating. Dining; Again, the lack of adequate staff is a big problem. Due to COVID, you cannot seat or serve yourself at the buffet. There is only one staff member to seat guests, and he doesn't understand task prioritization. He'll routinely ignore the line of customers waiting to be seated (this is limited to breakfast for the most part) while he cleans tables and runs back and forth to the kitchen. There are two staff members to serve food (not nearly enough), and again, the lines get long. Breakfast has a quite limited variety, and it changes very little day to day. We got really tired of the same scrambled eggs, omelets, breakfast burritos, endless rice and beans and french toast. There are no eggs to order, and trying to get condiments and drink refills can be very frustrating. There are supposed to be two reservation-only restaurants available, Asian and Italian. The menu never changes. The food varies from "OK" to good, depending on the dish ordered (skip the sushi and sashimi, they're horrible, and the Kung Pao sauce is made with peanut butter!) About half the days we were there, they didn't have both restaurants open, again because of staffing issues. If you aren't standing at the desk at precisely 8:00 AM to secure a reservation, you'll be out of luck. The buffet dinners can be quite good, or truly horrible. It's a crapshoot. Most of the buffet food is bland and terribly over-cooked. Day to day, you might have an issue getting towels, or soap, or bottled water. You never know what housekeeping will and will not stock any given day. A call to the desk can fix most any issue, but shouldn't be necessary. We had large issues with lack of hot water. Tours are quite expensive. Expect to pay an average of $100-150/person for most tours. Don't expect to be picked up on time from any of the off-site tour operators. They might be 10-45 minutes late. They laugh it off, "Costa Rica time". If you enjoy punctuality, you'll be frustrated. The onsite tour operators are punctual. The UGLY; If you need a sundry item (sunscreen, aspirin, etc.) you're at the mercy of the hotel gift shop. There are no stores close to the hotel. Expect to pay $30 for a bottle of sun block, $21 for a package of Dramamine, basically everything is inflated 400-500% above a reasonable price. It's ludicrous. The staff recommends avoiding purchases in the gift shop. If you get hurt and need medical attention, you are really screwed. According to the security staff, the hotel doesn't like to call for an ambulance because it "makes them look bad." The two instances we saw were a woman who fell and had a compound arm fracture, and a girl probably suffering from alcohol poisoning. Neither got an ambulance or any medical attention. There is no medical staff on site. The hotel will "strongly encourage" you to find your own way of getting to the hospital (meaning they'll ignore your issue until you find a way to take care of it yourself). This is truly scary. In CONCLUSION: We very much enjoyed our time at the Occidental Papagayo resort. Highly emphasize the friendliness of the staff, and their quick response to any non-medical issues. We loved the beauty of the property, and had a very relaxing vacation. Ensure you pack EVERY sundry item you may need, double and triple check times with all off-site tour operators, allow extra time for everything, don't expect punctuality, and above all, DON'T get hurt.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Use the on-site tour operators for a better experience
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Papagayo Occidental, General Manager at Occidental Papagayo
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Rick Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at Occidental Papagayo. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. That is why we would like to say how grateful we are to you for your review, highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future guests and TripAdvisor readers with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience. We thank you very much for pointing out the location of the hotel as we like to remind all future guests to have a look at our official website so they know exactly the topography of the area. The views of the bay and Papagayo Peninsula are well worth it and for the comfort of all our guests, we do offer the service of the shuttle service for anyone who does not wish to walk, or avoid the stairs. It is fantastic that you enjoyed and experienced so much of the resident wildlife we have to offer in our naturally beautiful surroundings. We regret that you felt the quality or variety of our culinary options did not meet your expectations. Apart from our specialty restaurants, we strive to offer a broad selection of international dishes in order to suit all tastes and to provide our guests with an enjoyable dining experience, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. The external transport service and the gift shop are external services of the hotel; However, we are committed to transmitting your comments to the responsible addresses for a review and improvement of their services and prices. We are grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards, Raúl Arranz General Manager Occidental Papagayo
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 172 - USD 270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
occidental grand papagayo hotel gulf of papagayo, occidental grand papagayo gulf of, occidental grand papagayo costa rica, grande papagayo costa rica, grand papagayo liberia
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacasteGulf of Papagayo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
163
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Occidental Papagayo
Which popular attractions are close to Occidental Papagayo?
Nearby attractions include Playa Hermosa (1.2 km), Playas del coco (5.0 km), and Penca Beach (3.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Occidental Papagayo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Occidental Papagayo?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Occidental Papagayo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Occidental Papagayo?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Occidental Papagayo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Mar Azul, Abbocato, and Johann.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Occidental Papagayo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Occidental Papagayo have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Occidental Papagayo offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Occidental Papagayo located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Gulf of Papagayo.
Does Occidental Papagayo offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Occidental Papagayo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.