We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (1681)
Pool & Beach (457)
Room & Suite (222)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good34%
  • Average24%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“black sand”(193 reviews)
“mobility issues”(23 reviews)
“country”(217 reviews)
AMENITIES
Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,860)
There are newer reviews for Allegro Papagayo
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,518 results
Traveller rating
251
501
359
217
190
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
251
501
359
217
190
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack sandmobility issuescountrymonkeyswildlifeexcursionstide
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 1,518 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2015

I stayed here with a friend as part of a Groupon package that we booked, that seemed too good to be true. We stayed in Arenal for 3 nights prior to arriving at the Allegro Papagayo, and it was AMAZING. Just like everyone has mentioned...More

3  Thank QueensKT
Management response:Responded 16 October 2015

Dear Guest On a behalf of the Staff and Management here at Allegro Papagayo we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that overall our resort did not meet your expectations and we apologize for that. We want you to...More

Reviewed 18 September 2015

Have you been longing for the "this is not what I paid for" feeling? Now you can experience it all over again! Just book this hotel and have your wish granted. This place was the second part of a small vacation my gf and I...More

4  Thank LeCharlie
Response from Yuran V, Yuran Vargas Guest Experience Manager at Allegro PapagayoResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your comments, for us it is very important. We are working very hard to overcome our weaknesses. Best Regards

Reviewed 16 September 2015

First of all the view is spectacular from the front of the resort. Then it's all downhill. I literately mean hill. This place is so hilly, that you need to be an athlete. I'm in fairly good shape, but climbing up and down steps all...More

Thank sap1021
Response from Yuran V, Yuran Vargas Guest Experience Manager at Allegro PapagayoResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your comments. For our company it is so important. We hope improve our weaknesses. For you next arrival. Best Regards,

Reviewed 16 September 2015

Since I have little positive things to say on this resort, this review will be short! The facilities look old. Our bedroom smelled bad, the air conditioner leaked a lot of water. The toilet was dirty. The bed was not comfy :( The food is...More

1  Thank Edwin H
Response from Yuran V, Yuran Vargas Guest Experience Manager at Allegro PapagayoResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your comments. Thats right this hotel is for families. Next time go to the Grand that is only for adults and it is quiet. We hope you have a great day. Best regards,

Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

First of all, we waited for an hour an half for our room. Once we got to our room, the keys were not properly configured so we had to ask one of the housekeepers to open the room for us. We called the front desk...More

1  Thank Claudia R
Response from Yuran V, Yuran Vargas Guest Experience Manager at Allegro PapagayoResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your last comment. For us it was a pleasure have you here. We hope so see you any time. Best regards

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Gulf of Papagayo
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Shuttle Bus Service
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Spa
Details
Price range
USD 200 - USD 230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Room types
Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 200 - USD 230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Room types
Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1681)
Pool & Beach (457)
Room & Suite (222)
Dining (40)
Family and Play Areas (16)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (5)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Allegro Papagayo staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"rooms closer down easier to get to pool area, higher up rooms further away from activity noise"
Read review
"there are many choices and you get what you pay for, make sure you do some excursions into the interior of..."
Read review
"Call a few days before the trip and request building 10 or 11"
Read review
"lower the better."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing