We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,932 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Penang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,742: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2014

We had stayed in Holiday Inn Penang, Batu Ferringhi from Dec 18 to Dec 21, 2014. Upon checkout at 12 pm on Dec 21, 2014, 3 out of 4 of my family members started to vomit and had severe stomach pain. This cause much distress to us as we had to go the hospital in Singapore upon arrival to get... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kannan1965
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Ramesh1965, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Dianne L Case Manager IHGCare More 

Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2014 via mobile

We just checked into the room about 2 hours ago but am still waiting for our towels, be it bath towels, hand towels or foot towels. The ladies at the front desk and guest service are great, polite and friendly. Housekeeping as another story. The vistas on the other hand is beautiful.

Helpful?
Thank JEK Y
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear JEK Y, Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. My sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced with no towels in the room upon arriving and please rest assured that I have personally highlighted this matter to our Executive Housekeeper for further improvement. We appreciate your compliments... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2014

Stayed for 2 days in December 2014. Room's spacious (beach wing). Wide breakfast spread and the service was great too. Lots of restaurants nearby (walking distance) and for local food there are a number of stalls nearby but it is much better to drive to the city instead. Better to stay in the beach wing as the restaurant, pool, beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank H R
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear H R, Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang! Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments about our rooms, breakfast and also the service offered by our dedicated team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your... More 

Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2014

We were given a Suite on 11th Floor, overlooking the Mountain View. Pity, all the bigger rooms were facing that way instead of the Sea View. We were also located at a different block from all facilities (Dining area, pool, massage, beach etc). This was quite an inconvenience especially in the event of bad weather or recreational needs. Room wise,... More 

Helpful?
Thank adventure_freedom
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear adventure_freedom, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang. Thank you for taking some of your time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. Please be informed that we do have a link bridge connecting both side of the Resort for easy access of the facilities available at the Beach Wing. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2014

1) the check in took us very long despite having a reservation and being a priority club member. 2) limited parking. We practically had to park within ridiculously small spaces and there was no valet service! We had to park in another wing while we staying in another building across the road. 3) the breakfast buffet was really unacceptable. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank FauziaAbdul
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear FauziaAbdul, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this resort hotel from Monday to Thursday. A lot of good things about this hoetl but there are areas for improvements as well. Firstly, the room is big and clean. The bed is very comfortable. The the bathtub and shower work well. Hot water is hot. water pump is strong( even at 20th floor) My... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Victory_Liew
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Victory_Liew, Warmest greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang. Thank you for your feedback that you have posted on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that your compliments about our rooms being big and clean as well as our hotel location and our breakfast buffet. I was most concerned to read about your comment in regards to the door lock... More 

Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2014

We've booked a triple bed room and it was spacious and clean. It was peak season and they were running out of towels but they were delivered as promised.lobby was quite big and have enough sofas and seats to accommodate large crowds.staffs are good and friendly.overall it was a nice experience staying there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wongyss
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Wongyss, Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang! Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments about our rooms and also our friendly team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Penang. Sincerely, Jean-matthieu Beroujon... More 

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Purchased cheap air tickets to Penang for a vacation of three days with a friend. We didn't have the patience to search hotel by hotel so we decided to just book a room on whatever beach hotel we see. And this made us to Holiday Inn Resort. We booked on the official site a basic hill-view room with about RM800... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Brian_ip_HK
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Brian_ip_HK, Warmest greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang. Many thanks for the valuable feedback that you have posted on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your compliments about our front desk staff being helpful... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2014

stayed here for two nights with my family...took the room at the beach wing with a sea view and paid nearly rm600 per night...but i found it not worth for the price that i've paid...i have to wait for more than half an hour because the room was not ready...after we get the key & the room were quite disappointing... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank uninvitedguest82
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear uninvitedguest82, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously.... More 

Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2014

We were a group of 10 and stayed at the beach side of the hotel. Better to stay here. We looked over the pool and out to the sea. Staff were great and Wednesday is afternoon tea with the management. Great would stay there again

Helpful?
Thank lozza055
Matt_Beroujon, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review

Dear Iozza055, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you and your friends had a wonderful holiday with us. Thank you for your compliments upon our staff and I am glad that you liked our guest cocktail party. We certainly look forward... More 

1,377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1169)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (153)
Viewed
Room/Suite (218)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (201)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
View from Room (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
2:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (393)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Seaview King Room (Beach Wing) (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
2.0 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
3,009 reviews
1.4 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,556 reviews
0.7 km away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,299 reviews
2.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $71 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Resort Penang staff and other travellers.
44 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (44)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Resort Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask aout dehumidifiers.”
 of 5 bubbles Americanwomanineurop, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose the building that is near the poor as it is more convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles camyc2013, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on Level 31 and has a nice view from the balcony overlooking the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Farina2202, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This hotel has a triple room with 3 individual single beds. New tower is across the road away from the main beach, activities and Cafe.”
 of 5 bubbles mchong67, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms have balcony's and great view”
 of 5 bubbles mack8882016, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay