We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Koo Karoo Guest Lodge

Hotels.comUSD 48*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 50*
USD 48*
USD 49*
USD 50*
USD 48*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
Start your review of Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
 Click to rate
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night and wished we were staying longer, great hospitality, nothing to much trouble, spotless accommodation, and very welcome small pool as it was 35c Plus. Lovely town with great resteraunt. Paul and Isabel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pbabart
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks Paul & Isabel for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that my small pool helped you to 'cool off', and that you loved the setting of Montagu. I hope you may return one day in the future. Please let me know if you do! Kind Regards, Shirley

Letchworth Garden City, U.K.
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Our fourth, perhaps fifth, visit and Koo Karoo has become a second home. Shirley is amazingly helpful and friendly and the cottage is really comfortable. Koo Karoo is in a perfect position to visit all of Montagu and the pool is marvellous on hot days. The bed is comfortable, the cottage cool even in the height of summer and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review Elizabeth and Eileen. I am very happy that you enjoy returning to stay with me, and that the facilities of the cottage are adequate for your stay. I have indeed got your reservation in the diary for January 2018 and I will look forward to welcoming you then. I hope you have many wonderful...

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

It was great to return to the Koo Karoo again. We got a great welcome from Shirley and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves yet again. We had our usual room which we like very much. Shirley and Anne were very helpful in booking restaurants and doing washing etc. Hopefully we will be back again next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AHT-21
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou so much Heather & Andy for your review. It is good that you keep returning to South Africa and in particular Montagu and to me here at Koo Karoo! I know that you enjoy the king room and you that you greatly appreciate Anne's washing and ironing. With my best wishes for a successful year of travels, Shirley

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

This was my second stay at Koo Karoo and I thoroughly enjoyed it again. My room was comfortable, Shirley was so welcoming and the pool was wonderful for cooling off in the afternoon. This is such an interesting and attractive area that there is plenty to do and Shirley is a mine of information about local places of interest and,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Filetmylar58
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks Janet for your review. I am so pleased that everything was acceptable for your stay, it was a real pleasure to host you again and to discuss your travels and new places of interest. I am already looking forward to your return visit in 2018! With my best wishes for many happy and safe travels during the year,...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The rooms was nice and large, had wifi and a small tv. There a nice garden with splash pool.The price was very cheap for one person. There is a communal kitchen with a fridge in the kitchen. The rooms don't have a fridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank faiek
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Faiek Many thanks for your review, however some of your information that you have supplied is incorrect. The room that you booked is the 'economy room' and is a standard bed and breakfast room with ensuite shower, tea and coffee facilities, WiFi and small SABC TV. The queen bed and breakfast room has the same facilities.You rightly saw the...

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Thank you Shirley We enjoyed our stay very much. The chalet were nice and clean and we enjoyed the peace and quiet. The private parking were an added bonus. The swimming pool came to our resque during the warm days. I will recommend this place defenitely

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacques W
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Jacques for your kind and positive review of your stay. I am so pleased that the cottage facilities were acceptable for you and that you enjoyed my small pool. It was a pleasure to host you and your family and I hope you may return one day in the future. With my best wishes for many safe and happy...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

You couldn't want more from Koo Karoo. Close to the main road but calm and peaceful. Spotless rooms were large and comfortable with kettle, fridge and clean towels provided. Plunge pool cooled us off after a hot day on the road. Shirley is a wonderful hostess, who will welcome you, book you a table at the best restaurant in town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian W
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou so much Sian & Henry for your wonderful words. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time here and I am pleased I was able to help by printing and scanning the required document, it was a pleasure to be of assistance! I do hope that you will return to Montagu one day in the future. Enjoy all...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Was met the owner, Shirley. Absolutely neat as a pin. Very spacious unit. Appreciated the 5 Roses tea (My brand of choice). Lovely setting opposite a beautiful church. Well kept garden with a small pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucyg444
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks Lucy for taking the time to post a kind review of your stay here with me at Koo Karoo. I am happy that you enjoyed the facilities supplied and that the standard of everything was acceptable for you. Best Wishes for all your future travels, Shirley

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as a stop gap on our drive from Knysna to Cape Town, and we were so pleased with our choice! The owner Shirley, a fellow Brit, was so friendly and helpful with recommendations of local restaurants and things to do. The room was a very decent size with high ceilings and equipped with teas and coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lili S
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks Lili & Ian for your wonderful review. I am pleased that my suggestions on things to do and restaurants locally were helpful to you and that you had some Montagu sunshine whilst you were here! I wish you many more successful travels and I hope maybe a return visit to Montagu one day in the future. Kind Regards,...

Edam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We've visited Koo Karoo guesthouse on our cycling Holiday and it was a very warm welcome. Shirley and Anne are very kind and helpfull. The rooms are clean, big, bed allright and there was a nice livingroom with television and lots of games. The breakfast was perfect and we did enjoy our stay very much. The house is in The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana662014
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou Diana & Jaap for your positive review. It was a pleasure to help you both with advice on places of interest in the area and on places for coffee stops whilst you were cycling to your next destination. I hope you enjoy many cycling holidays and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Montagu one day in...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.3 km away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
530 reviews
2.5 km away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
86 reviews
0.4 km away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 28 in Montagu
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kogman & Keisie Guest Farm
0.1 km away
Squirrels Corner
Squirrels Corner
#14 of 28 in Montagu
32 reviews
0.4 km away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spacious en-suite B&B rooms with private entrances. Economy double/twin; queen double and king double. Economy room and Queen room offer tea/coffee facilities, heater/fan and SABC TV. King room offers tea/coffee facilities; modern airconditioning unit and overlooks the garden. Early breakfasts catered for if required! Secluded garden, braai area, gated off road parking and small pool. Free WiFi available in all rooms. Visa & Mastercard accepted. Two self catering facilities with well equipped kitchens and lounge areas with DSTV (30 channels)located on the same site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Koo Karoo Guest Lodge

Address: 5 Piet Retief Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Price Range: $58 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koo Karoo Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Koo Karoo Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koo Karoo Guest Hotel Montagu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Koo Karoo Guest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I loved having the room with air con but the self catering cottages are great too.”
Filetmylar58, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose one of the self contained units for a spacious and quiet stay.”
529DerekP, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I loved the quiet of a garden facing room.”
Filetmylar58, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Room no 3 of the guest house of cottage for self catering”
147fionas, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We had a family room which sleeps 4 and it over-looked the beautiful garden.”
904ilseh, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 48* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 49
Expedia.comUSD 48
TripAdvisorUSD 48
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates